We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mushroom Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mushroom Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 51: English reviews
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a really exeptional experience since on the very first day we saw a leopard very close devouring the rest of the Impala she had killed before and hidden among leaves. I could actually see her teeth and hear the bones cracking, never been so close to a leopard before. And the next day we saw a male leopard,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmcg576
Norfolk England
Reviewed 1 week ago

I think the best way to prove how brilliant Mushroom Lodge is , is to return year after year , which is exactly what I have done for the last 9 years . It's a long journey from England but worth it !!! Location is fantastic , inside South Luangwa NP , staff are brilliant , guides are the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkEnglandSafari
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

I visited the National park with 2 other friends. The lodge is one of the best places to stay. Unlike other lodges this one is right in the national park. We arrived in the afternoon and we're treated with soul and Indian lunch. One of the best meals since our arrival in the country. We then went for a safari....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ankita G
Mazabuka
Reviewed 3 July 2016

We spent 4 nights at Mushroom Lodge and the linked chalets with large shared living space were perfect for our family. This included a large inside living room and an outside veranda separate from the main facility. The beds and bedding were exquisite and the bathrooms large and practical. Food was lovely and the staff were very flexible with eating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen B
Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Friendly staff! On our first day we were given a welcome drink along with a moist face towel to cool ourselves a bit, we thought the moist face towels were given on the first day, but it was given to us after every game drive. The lodge has a great view as it is built on the banks of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JacobJNed
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 10 November 2015

Stayed here with large group in October. Came from habitat trip to Malawi. Staff was great, loved the animals walking around and the safari was the best! Liked the rooms and the meals. Pretty great experience! Can't wait to go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
Cupcake979, Public Relations Manager at Mushroom Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Susan for your review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 10 November 2015

I have travelled to this lodge once a year for the past 9 years. This lodge offer excellent value for money with friendly staff and very large chalets. This is not a fenced lodge and it is really great to see the elephants coming into the lodge and walking between the chalets. Be carefull though as they are still wild...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ben g
Cupcake979, Owner at Mushroom Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Ben.. We are very thankful for this review. See you soon.

Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewed 28 October 2015

My wife, daughter and I spent two nights at the Mushroom Lodge just over a week ago. We looked forward to the abundant wildlife viewing in South Luangwa National Park and to staying at a lodge in the bush inside the park. The park itself did not disappoint, but the dismal accommodations and contemptuous attitude on the part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank LMills1
Cupcake979, Public Relations Manager at Mushroom Lodge, responded to this review

Mr. Mills, we are very sorry you did not experience a great time at Mushroom Lodge, which is contrary to all our reviews. We do hope you come back to South Luangwa and still promote the National Park and its wildlife. Regards.

Norfolk England
Reviewed 23 October 2015

Once again I had a wonderful stay here , with the added excitement of a former and the present president staying here at the same time as me !! Louise you were as usual the perfect host , and the abundant wildlife did not fail to impress as always . Brian was an excellent guide and everyone at the lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkEnglandSafari
Cupcake979, Owner at Mushroom Lodge, responded to this review

Julie once again it is always our pleasure having you.. Thank you so much for the review and so looking forward to seeing you next year!!!

Eudora, Kansas
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Our large group enjoyed a three day safari. The lodging was exceptional - clean rooms with all amenities, secure at night, excellent food and breaks while out on safari. The guide we had, Ephraim, was very knowledgeable and provided great insight into the eco-system of the park. We saw lions, leopards, elephants, giraffes, hippos, hyenas, buffalo, baboons and a number...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deb B
Cupcake979, Owner at Mushroom Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Deb B for our review and it is much appreciated that you had a great stay with us. As always, we appreciate all types of feed back and we will be so happy to see you again at Mushroom Lodge soon.

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (49)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
3.4 km away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#23 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
183 reviews
10.3 km away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#15 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
65 reviews
6.3 km away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#13 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
#1 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
478 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#16 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
82 reviews
0.0 km away
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
#22 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Mushroom Lodge

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mushroom Presidential House, a unique site on the Mfuwe Lagoon inside the South Luangwa Park, was originally built in the early seventies to accommodate the Head of State and his VIP guests. Following the collapse of the UNIP government in 1991, Mushroom House was left abandoned until Matula Investments won the concession to re-develop the Mushroom Presidential house, and Mushroom Lodge as a commercial tourism development. The property has been developed in such a way as to retain the heritage value of its historical past whilst adding value in terms of an appropriate range of amenities and facilities conducive for a full service modern safari lodge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mushroom Lodge

Address: South Luangwa National Park | P.O. Box 25, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: €343 - €1,440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mushroom Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mushroom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mushroom Lodge Zambia/South Luangwa National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mushroom Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mushroom Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms the same , excellent , large chalet with the wildlife literally on your doorstep”
 of 5 bubbles NorfolkEnglandSafari, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For families, the connecting chalets are ideal”
 of 5 bubbles GretchenB593, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are spacious and comfortable .”
 of 5 bubbles NorfolkEnglandSafari, 23 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Free wifi is available in the main lodge reception area.”
 of 5 bubbles debb554, 22 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Rooms can get quite hot, especially if there is no power to run the fans”
 of 5 bubbles 476paulam, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay