We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Solitaire Lodge

Expedia.comUS$134*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$141*
US$134*
US$141*
US$136*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Solitaire Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 76: English reviews
Start your review of Solitaire Lodge
 Click to rate
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Great find for our family. Was worried that we were not closer to the Sossusvlei Park but so glad that we opted to stay at this great hotel. The beds were great, the room and bath clean, the pool and pool area also... great. Food tasty and service friendly. Internet ...considering the remote location was satisfactory by the reception office....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janetdL7358DZ
Powell River, Canada
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 3 boys, ages 12, 9 and 9. We really wanted to stay closer to the Sossusvlai gates, but everything was booked. This was a blessing in disguise, as it turns out. We had the family room (room 10), which was huge, clean, quiet with a good bathroom and shower. The pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JerryandNatalie
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 22 October 2016

The place is right on the main gravel road, with a restaurant, a gas station and a supermarket on site, which makes it quite hectic, people coming and going all the time. If you are looking for a quite place - that is not for you. We ordered 2 rooms for a family, but when we arrived the lodge claimed...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 733ramz
Swakopmund, Namibia
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Rooms were good but suggest a hairdryer for women, mirror bigger perhaps. Bathroom not good. Water pressure excellent but PLEASE remove shower curtain!!!! Rather glass door. Water taps loose very small window with poor air circulation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 207johanb
Carey P, Guest Relations Manager at Solitaire Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Johan, Thanks for the comments and suggestions. Sorry about the shower curtains; if there was room for a shower door, we'd install one! You'll be happy to know that we're closing in January and February for renovations and plan to tackle the lodge bathroom interiors and configurations. I hope you enjoyed the brand new 2 x double mattresses per...

Barrydale, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016

No hot showers as advertised - mens side had no hot water. The staff tried to fix it to no avail. management brushed it off and refused to negotiate a refund. The campground it self was adequate, although run down/ Over priced at R300 per night for 2 people camping.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BMWLizard
Carey P, Guest Relations Manager at Solitaire Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Lizard, We're so sorry about your recent experience. After numerous attempts to fix the hot water geysers we've concluded that they must be completely replaced. As camping is simply not profitable enough to invest in new ablutions we've decided to close the campground. We've offered refunds to everyone who has been inconvenienced by our on-again-off-again hot water problem,...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 17 September 2016

It's a very artificial place in the middle of nowhere: quite expansive and the breakfast and dinner, which is included in the booking, is not really good. Of course, you cannot really complain considering that everything has to be brought to the lodge from far away. I suggest that you stop at the desert bakery and petrol station nearby and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soren84
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Very interesting, lovely pool area and nice stopover. Room good, food good. Would stay again if in that area. Some unique old cars positioned around lodge which make for some great photos. Little dusty as there is plenty of sand.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronsS5033BO
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Our safari group had an enjoyable stay here at this pleasant oasis. It’s an attractive property surrounded by old abandoned cars and farm equipment surrounded by desert, which provide unique photo opportunities. The group really enjoyed the quality buffet meals here, so it is worth dropping in for a meal even if you don’t intend to stay overnight. The pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dannymfoster
Girona, Spain
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Simple hotel but where everything works perfectly. Good atmosphere, good food, tranquility and exceptional landscapes. They solved a problem with our car perfectly. You can make interesting excuersiones with cheetahs

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria Clara T
Cape Town
Reviewed 14 July 2016

A rather disappointing stay - no hot water in rather sad ablutions but otherwise average camp sites with decent braai areas. Free wifi in the bar area and nice friendly staff. Stunning desert sunsets.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank africanbeauty
Carey P, Manager at Solitaire Lodge, responded to this review

We're so sorry there was no hot water during your stay. We are busy upgrading the entire Solitaire facility, which is quite old and exists in a very harsh environment. Because camping is not profitable, we lose money in fact on camping due to electricity, water, and sewage costs, we are planning on eventually shutting down our campsites. It's just...

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
40.8 km away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
303 reviews
6.3 km away
Solitaire Desert Farm
Solitaire Desert Farm
#1 of 4 in Solitaire
326 reviews
23.2 km away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#6 of 12 in Sossusvlei
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#5 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
501 reviews
28.3 km away
Agama River Camp
Agama River Camp
#2 of 4 in Solitaire
199 reviews
63.9 km away
Capricorn Rest Camp
Capricorn Rest Camp
#12 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Solitaire, Namibia is a historic settlement near the Namib-Naukluft National Park. Midway between Sossusvlei and Swakopmund, it is a popular stop for travellers to shop at the original Tsondab General Dealer, eat lunch at Cafe van der Lee, visit McGregor's Bakery for fresh apple pie and espresso, and refuel at the petrol station. Solitaire has a well-maintained private airstrip: FYSO. Please visit our web site for more details. Solitaire Lodge features 25 spacious, modern, air-conditioned rooms wrapped around a courtyard pool and desert garden. Free WIFI is available for guests. The Solitaire Activity Centre offers Scenic Sundowner Drives, Night Drives, Fat Tire Bike Rentals, guided and self-guided hiking, all on the 45,000 acre Solitaire Land Trust (SLT). The SLT protects native habitat for numerous wildlife species, and is restoring former farmland degraded by drought and over-grazing. The SLT reaches from the base of the Great African Escarpment to the Namib, widely considered to be the oldest desert on the planet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Solitaire Lodge

Address: Solitaire C19 & C14 Junction, Namib-Naukluft Park 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range: €118 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solitaire Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solitaire Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solitaire Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Solitaire Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Solitaire Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring strong tentpens, the ground is pretty solid : )”
HenkV988, 9 Jan 2015 | Read review
“I cannot enter anything good here. I'll rather pass.”
307andree, 30 Oct 2013 | Read review
“All roo s face the swimming pool no special rooms,,,,”
JanineB883, 21 Jan 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
Expedia.com
US$134* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$141
Orbitz.comUS$136
TripAdvisorUS$134
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates