We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Baobab Beach Backpackers

Expedia.comUS$40*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Baobab Beach Backpackers
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Start your review of Baobab Beach Backpackers
 Click to rate
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is so nice.... we spent 5 days here in a confortable hut. The hotel is on the beach, has grills and a kitchen.... but, if you dont feel like cooking you can just buy your food on the bar... its really fresh tasty food! The only little thing is that we did had a rat in the room.......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MatiOlken
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We liked Baobab a lot. Nice staff, nice room and the food was okay. In the evening there is a cozy courtyard where you can have a beer. It is a 10 minute walk from the center and right on the beach. At low tide you can really walk very far into the sea.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReisDNA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Boabab was a nice place for our crew to set up camp. The facilities were good and the general areas to chill and hang out were in good condition. The food at boabab was good however was on the more expensive side of things.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wazbot3000
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Nice place, good price but bad attendance. Racist managers, we hated to see how they treat the staff. They don't follow the rules and the dorms are mixed instead of separated. Women and Men sleep together.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Prisla V
United States
Reviewed 11 April 2017

From what I experienced, there didn't seem to be one "main area" to stay in Vilanculos. Places were spread along the beach and if you wanted to walk, it could take a while. Saying that, I was very happy to be staying at Baobab Beach Backpackers. All that was available at the time was a dorm, which was not ideal,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordyn A
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Unfortunately all the good things I could say about the place are overshadowed because they have thieves working on their staff, and they manage and protect them. As advice to all, be very careful what they leave in your rooms. As much as you do not want them to clean your room, every day they enter without your consent. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nanuuracing
marinaf1970, Manager at Baobab Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Nadia, as I have already wrote you by e-mail I am sorry but we do not have any proof that our staff have stolen in your room because you realized that you have been stolen while in South Africa. You must be very careful Nadia to use words that can offend or difame people that does not have any...

Bassano Romano, Italy
Reviewed 21 February 2017

I liked very much my stay in Vilanculos at the Baobab Beach. Probably one of the best accommodation in Vilanculos in terms of quality/price ratio. I booked an en suite Beach Front Chalet and it was very nice, cozy and comfy for a fair price. The chalet was right in front of the beach, elevated above it, and every morning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarmoTrip
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Went to baobab in the last week of January 2017, and it was an amazing experience. The staff is friendly, and Marina always helpful. Despite I was with my family on a rustic room, the front beach was the best thing to see in the mornings. My little girls just enjoyed a lot, the location is nice and secure, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivan_Antonio7
marinaf1970, General Manager at Baobab Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much Ivan. Hope to see you again next time with your lovely family. Marina and staff.

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Best thing is the locación but I had a very bad experience. Someone enter in our bungalow and stole money. I don't know if the thief belong to the stuff, because they enter in your room to make the bed, without asking before if you want or not, or was someone that comes from outside. Also the windows have not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gonzalo A
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Baobab. I read the reviews beforehand and even with high expectations, I loved this place. Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly, check in was a breeze. We stayed in a traditional hut, used communal bathrooms and the kitchen. Everyday at 5pm Marina gives a talk explaining all the activities to do in Vilanculos...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drikus G G

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilanculos hotels
3.2 km away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
3.7 km away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 8 in Vilanculos
88 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 8 in Vilanculos
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#5 of 8 in Vilanculos
63 reviews
4.2 km away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 8 in Vilanculos
195 reviews
11.6 km away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Baobab Beach is situated directly on the beach and just a kilometer from the colorful central market in Vilanculos, Mozambique. Baobab Beach looks out over the azure seas and shifting sands of the Bazaruto Archipelago. Baobab Beach facilities include accommodation, restaurant, bar, communal kitchen, communal ablutions and transport to buses. Accommodation consists of beachfront chalets (shower en-suite), ethnic huts, dormitories, camping and overlander sites.Baobab Beach activities in the area include a diving, snorkelling, island hops, dhow trips, horse riding, fishing and villiage tours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Backpackers

Address: rua do Palacio, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Price Range: €22 - €41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baobab Beach Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Baobab Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Baobab Beach Backpackers staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Baobab Beach Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I strongly suggest you to book a Beach Front Chalet. It's elevated location above the underlying beach is simply wonderful. Stunning view!”
MarmoTrip, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the rooms with beach front view”
Ivan_Antonio7, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get an ocean view cottage!”
  • Family Ocean view cottage
pinco_67, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“for info: Wifi is available only next to the reception.”
lucias619, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose the beach front cottages, amazing position!”
DorinaC_12, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$40* /night
View Deal
Jumia TravelUS$50
TravelocityUS$41
Hotels.comUS$41
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates