We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Archipelago Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Archipelago Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Archipelago Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 140: English reviews
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Just returned back from a family holiday to Zimbabwe and first time visit to Archipelago Resort in Mozambique. I don't have enough words to express how beautiful and breath taking the resort is as well as views. The accommodation is spacious and very clean, well presented but to top it off over looks the breath taking Indian ocean. The onsite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlamccusker
ArchipelagoHarare, Manager at Archipelago Resort, responded to this review

We are more than delighted you loved your stay at Archipelago Resort. We look forward to hosting you again and again!

Harare Province, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Scenic, lovely and wonderful place. I liked especially the very clean uncrowded beach, which gave us the privacy we needed. Also shower by the beach to wash off the salt. There is free wifi should one need to make contact with outside world. Drove all the way from harare.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tsuelove
ArchipelagoHarare, Public Relations Manager at Archipelago Resort, responded to this review

We, too, love the uncrowded beach and the real 'get away from it all resort'. We look forward to your return!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2016

I stayed at the resort in november 2015. I must say it's been one the most beautiful spots on earth, I've ever been. Stunning beach and ocean view. Good spacious bamboo cottages. Good, fresh, autentic food. Pricilla is a lovely manager. Don't miss to book a tour with Andrew from the onsite diving center. He will show you the beauty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NiHe2016
ArchipelagoHarare, Owner at Archipelago Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We agree with you, 'it is certainly one of the most beautiful spots on earth!' We look forward to your return visit to Archipelago Resort

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 19 January 2016

I have been traveling to Archipelago Resort many times and stayed over many times. I simply can not stay quiet anymore. It is a true 7 * star resort. It starts with reception - the big smiles - the manager (always ready to help 24/7) and then oh my goodness: The restaurant and Priscilla Satar setting up beautiful evenings with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrancoisRauch
ArchipelagoHarare, Owner at Archipelago Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your most pleasing report on our Archipelago Resort. We are delighted to know you have enjoyed each visit to the resort. We look forward to you returning again and again.

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2016

We visited Archipelago Resort for the day and we greeted by a unfriendly general manager. We spent over 2500 mets, on food and drinks for the morning. The food is actually good value for money and the beach area is stunning. On our way out of the resort, we were told not to come back until after the 27th, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy N
ArchipelagoHarare, Owner at Archipelago Resort, responded to this review

Archipelago Resort is a very popular resort and during the festive season and we were inundated with visitors from other resorts wanting to experience our facilities. Our clients staying at the resort were not happy with the extra load of visitors. In December 2016 we will be posting a large notice on the main gate advising we cannot accept day...

Vilanculos
Reviewed 11 January 2016

A big thank you to Archipelago for all their hard work over a very busy Christmas and New Year. Well done to Shaun, Sharne and the Absolutely Amazing Pricilla on a job well done over a very busy Christmas period. Thank you for looking after our Christmas day trippers so well - a big thank you to the waiters and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mozambliquemandy
ArchipelagoHarare, Owner at Archipelago Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Yes the Festive Season was an extremely busy period for Archipelago Resort however we are thrilled our clients still managed to enjoy all that we have to offer. We wish you and your family all the very best for 2016.

Reviewed 11 January 2016

We had such a relaxing holiday at Archipelago Resort over New Years 2015/16 and I would recommend this property to anyone. The casa's are an ideal size to feel comfortable yet not overcrowded, the pleasure of having the restaurant a few footsteps away makes the holiday that much more enjoyable if you don't want to do your own cooking and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
ArchipelagoHarare, Owner at Archipelago Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your New Year holiday at Archipelago Resort and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort

Lusaka
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We spent two weeks as couples with some teenagers over Christmas and New Year. Being a big group with other families three self catering Casas (chalets) were booked. The casas are well maintained, well serviced and have all the requirements for being self catering. Front sea facing casas are cooler than the rear garden facing ones and are well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zambia18
ArchipelagoHarare, Owner at Archipelago Resort, responded to this review

We are delighted you and your friends enjoyed your Christmas and New Year holiday at Archipelago Resort

Kumla
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Beautiful setting on the seaside. There was good accomodation and fabolus meals. Can highly recommed the fishplatter. The staff was extremely helpful and service minded. Boats can be charterd to visit the islands for diving and snorkeling.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hakan_wistrand
ArchipelagoHarare, Manager at Archipelago Resort, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday at Archipelago Resort. We totally agree with you, "Archipelago Resort is a Pearl in the Indian Ocean!".

Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

Having stayed in and traveled around the Vilanculos area, I can safely say that this resort is definitely one of the best resorts in the area, and I would have rated it as a 5 star experience, if it wasn't for the manager, Shaun. Let me begin by saying that I, along with my family, went to the resort as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kitch N
ArchipelagoHarare, Owner at Archipelago Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Archipelago Resort, we totally agree with you, Archipelago Resort is truly paradise! Unfortunately during the festive season our very popular resort comes under huge pressure. Archipelago is always fully booked at that time of year plus we experience huge interest from visitors staying at other resorts who wish to experience our hospitality (we then...

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
4.6 km away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
19.6 km away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 8 in Vilanculos
59 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#2 of 8 in Vilanculos
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 8 in Vilanculos
77 reviews
35.9 km away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
400 reviews
12.7 km away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The resort is self catering and consists of eighteen chalets. There is a central area with a restaurant, bar and swimming pool. The chalets sleep six people each and have a fully equipped kitchen. For the more active, we boast an extensive knowledge of the area, with our Dive Instructor/fishing expert having operated in these waters for nearly 10 years. Our portfolio includes unexplored dive sites, fantastic surf, fly and big game fishing. A fully equipped SCUBA dive center, boats and fishing equipment for hire, wind surfers, para sailing, banana boating, island trips and transfers, dhou trips, and much, much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Archipelago Resort

Address: Chibuene, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Price Range: €77 - €221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Archipelago Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Archipelago Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Archipelago Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Secunda
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Archipelago Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chalets 4 to 7 have probably the best sea views”
 of 5 bubbles Carlharare, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for beach front if you want 180 degree views but they're all close”
 of 5 bubbles E2092TEjohnh, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If possible opt for a Sea View ... It is fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles Arlene_Dave, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Sea view casas”
 of 5 bubbles harrisons180, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lodges with the Ocean view are the ones to go for, no extra cost either!!!”
 of 5 bubbles rtaylo, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay