We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wendt University Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wendt University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Dennis, Massachusetts
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

Beyond basic. Two days in a row our bed was not changed or made nor the bathroom cleaned. Very noisy hotel. Very thin walls you can hear your neighbors talk on the phone. So not worth the price. We called about our beds not being made and their answer was well no one's here now to help

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Babs0707
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry your room did not receive complete service. Our housekeeping staff is small but thorough. A normal room serviced as a "stay-over" is dusted and vacuumed, the beds made with a fold-down, and the bathroom refreshed with new toiletries and towels. Our front desk staff received your call about incomplete service, when you reported that your beds were...

Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with the Hockey team I coach, and while it wasn't unpleasant, it certainly wasn't a great experience. Very basic, very clean, spacious rooms and very nice appearance wise. However, it's very noisy because it was full the 2 nights we stayed, including 2 other Hockey teams, the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything around you....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for praising our cleanliness, spacious rooms, and very nice appearance. As you identified yourself as a hockey coach, we were able to look up your reservation and double-check your concerns. Your room was actually a corner room, so your only neighbors were a room with four of your team members in it. We double-checked the operation of your...

Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

Close to two colleges and a good price. Clean and free wifi. Hot water all the time and good pressure. Simple breakfast in morning and pleasant staff. Can be noisy as college teams stay here. Fourth stay here and will stay again. Rooms are clean and comfortable. TV is older large model and our last stay it burned out. Mtc...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scott t
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your friendly, gracious and extremely positive review. Thank you for praising our location and our rates. Thank you also for praising our clean and comfortable rooms and water pressure. Finally, thank you for recognizing our pleasant staff and prompt service. Thank you for being our guest. It is our extreme pleasure to serve you, and we look...

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 15 August 2015

This hotel was the worst experience in my 48 years. We came to Hamilton because our son had an interview at Colgate, so he needed his rest. At 11 PM we called the front desk when it sounded like a heard of elephants were ta dancing above us. I got quiet for a short time and then it started again....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for acknowledging prompt and courteous service, including a discount, from the manager on call and the daytime staff. We are sorry for the unfortunate acceleration of events with our overnight weekend staff. Management did discuss the evening's events with that staff member, and outline several different plans of action, should similar events take place. We are committed to...

NJ
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I was torn between a Poor and Average rating, and was feeling generous this morning. The Wendt Inn was the only available lodging for an event we attended at Colgate. The front desk staff was unfriendly and not helpful, almost bordering on downright rude. The rooms were just average and the breakfast was skimpy and unimpressive for the high rates...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim1117
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you perceived our front desk clerk as unfriendly, or that they were unable to help you in a satisfactory manner. If you feel you have been treated unfairly, you may contact management directly at 800-218-5449, or send an email to Meetings@dreamscape.com. We are sorry you could hear voices outside your room. You may always ask a staff...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 June 2015

The Wendt is an OK two story hotel with no elevator and a minimal continental breakfast. Other hotel in town was full and there are really no alternatives in the area. Friendly staff, super fast check and free wifi were the highlights.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank traveler222000
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Thank you for praising our friendly staff, swift service, and complimentary internet . We are one of two hotels within the town itself; however, our sister property, the White Eagle Conference Center, sits invitingly on the banks of Lake Moraine, and features individual cottages on rolling green lawn. White Eagle Lodge offers visitors fishing...

milford, ny
Reviewed 5 June 2015

If you don't mind a "basic" place to stay in Hamilton, you might give this a try. It is a two-floor motel without an elevator. There is no coffee in the rooms, nor a hair dryer. Amenities are scarce. I was able to have the friendly desk clerk make coffee for me in the afternoon because it was not routinely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank curveball14
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your courteous review. Thank you for praising our friendly staff and clean and comfortable rooms. We are sorry you felt our amenities were lacking. There is a hair dryer in every room. Most rooms have a built-in microwave and refrigerator. If there is not a microwave or refrigerator in your room, you may request them. A staff...

Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for Colgate Graduation. We had to book over a year in advance and had to stay 3 nights or we couldn't book the property at all, which I found absolutely ridiculous. Way way way overpriced. We stayed in the new section which is modern and clean. But sleeping was nearly impossible with those terrible beds. I would've been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank exerciseballer12
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unhappy with our advance booking, rates, and graduation three-night policy. We book a high-volume event like college graduation a year in advance. Many of our guests regularly stay with us during their students' four-year college career, and are excited and happy to book an event that celebrates their students successful completion. Our three-night stay for...

Burlington, VT
Reviewed 19 April 2015

We stayed there for an overnight looking at colleges. There are 2 hotels in town. The other was booked and we got the last room here. The staff was friendly, the room was okay and the breakfast was something to avoid. The continental breakfast consisted of weak coffee, still partially frozen plain white supermarket bagels and some donut/muffin choices. No...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MomX3Vermont
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast. We offer Paul DeLima coffee, which is manufactured and sold only in Syracuse, New York. It is generally acknowledged to be one of the areas finest coffees. We serve Block & Barrel bagels, a premier delicatessen-style kosher bagel. We do apologize if your bagel was only partly thawed. We...

Albany, New York
Reviewed 13 March 2015

We have stayed at this "hotel" a few times and it is somewhat less than average for the price but not quite terrible. Because the weather was so bad we knew we would arrive an hour or so before 3 PM check in time so I called from the car to see if we could have early check in. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maxmandy
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you felt we did not go out of our way to accommodate you. We advise all our guests upon booking of our check-in and check-out times. A set check-in time allows our smaller housekeeping staff to complete room preparations. We feel that our front desk clerk acted appropriately and hospitably to immediately offer you another room...

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
33.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
30.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
0.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Patricia's Guest House
Patricia's Guest House
#2 of 6 in Hamilton
117 reviews
26.9 km away
Lincklaen House
Lincklaen House
#4 of 7 in Cazenovia
103 reviews
32.3 km away
Super 8 Norwich
Super 8 Norwich
#1 of 2 in Norwich
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Wendt University Inn

Address: 175 Utica St, NY, Hamilton, NY 13346-2001
Region: United States > New York > Hamilton
Price Range: €64 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 94
Also Known As:
Wendt University Hotel Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wendt University Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Newburyport, Massachusetts, Usa
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Wendt University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No elevators, request the first floor if that is something you need”
paulaC266QC, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay on 2nd floor so you don't hear the folks above you.”
carlas120, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No elevator so if you do not do stairs ask for first floor.”
262debbier, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“book early since there aren't that many hotels around”
dandiane2, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There is no elevator to the 2nd floor.”
LibraryLady, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5