We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gache Gache Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kariba
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Gache Gache Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There is both worlds of speed and slowing down. Speed boat from Marineland harbour took us to this place of slowing down. Relax on the shores of Lake Kariba in this serene setting. Beautiful sunsets views. Water bucks and antelopes on land.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed over for two nights as part of a fishing trip. Accomodation great, beds comfortable and had a really good sleep. Lots of good clean water. Meals well served that formed an important part of keeping us going. Staff pleasant and more than ready to help. Saw the usual crocs and hippos. Plenty fish eagles and landed a good number...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Gache end of March 2016. Was a MAGICAL trip to Kariba. I had never stayed at Gache before but have visited Kariba countless times. This was my English boyfriends first visit to Zimbabwe and Ray and Pat really gave us THE most memorable holiday. The accommodation was clean and comfortable the food was delicious and always freshly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 31 March 2016

A definite go to place where your business is truly appreciated. Loved the peace and quiet. Pat and Ray are such a great combination, they make your stay worthwhile. Felt like home away from home. Will certainly go back. P.S Everything worked!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tecla2016
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Hi my husband went up beginning of January with fishing clients, the rooms are still dirty, the pontoon that only had one engine instead of two still the same, but in worse condition. Water filter not working properly so water smelt like hippo poo. Food great but left a day early what a shame.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
GacheGacheLodge, Owner at Gache Gache Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Lorraine M I am sorry your husband and his guests were not happy. Sadly they have yet to write to me with any sort of complaint. And they are yet to pay the balance of what is due to us for the accommodation. Once I have the email I can respond accordingly. The lake had dropped 10m in last...

Kuwait
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

We had the greatest time ever. Everyone working there was amazing. Ray the owner is a great guy. We had a lot of fun on the safari. We also went finishing. Everything was perfect We defiantly want to go back again! Thank you gache gache for such an amazing time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikita K
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Don't normally write reviews but have never stayed anywhere where we are still missing a place so much five weeks after getting home, so feel compelled to do so this time. Yes, as mentioned in other reviews it may be in need of some attention here and there but this more than made up for by the complete dedication and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim E
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We had such a fun time at Gache Gache where 4 of us camped for 3 nights after a driving trip to Mana. The staff there are great, so friendly and helpful - nothing we wanted to do was too much trouble - especially Len who was a super lovely guy who really went out of his way to sort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claire P
GacheGacheLodge, Owner at Gache Gache Lodge, responded to this review

Great that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back next time again! Pat Townsend, Owner.

South Africa
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We spent one night here on our way to Hwange. David is a nice guy but dont think he has to do too much around the place. The chalets are awful, filthy and there were none made up even to create a good impression. We would rather be in our van. They did not know what food they had so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLau
GacheGacheLodge, Owner at Gache Gache Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the lodge. Sorry you found it in a bad state, we really don't know why it would be like that but as you say perhaps when the cat is away the mice are at play. The staff will be seriously reprimanded and this will be brought to their attention. As you can see 99%...

West Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2015

We visited Gache Gache as part of a group of 5 and I believe I speak for us all in saying that the place did not have anything to recommend it. Management is sorely deficient - in fact absent. The place is untidy and deteriorated, and the individual lodges are in sore need of maintenance. In our lodge the electrics...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dave3000427
GacheGacheLodge, Owner at Gache Gache Lodge, responded to this review

We visited Gache Gache as part of a group of 5 and I believe I speak for us all in saying that the place did not have anything to recommend it. Management is sorely deficient - in fact absent. The place is untidy and deteriorated, and the individual lodges are in sore need of maintenance. In our lodge the electrics...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kariba
33.3 km away
Lake Safari Lodge
Lake Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Siavonga
57 reviews
33.8 km away
Lake Kariba Inns
Lake Kariba Inns
#1 of 2 in Siavonga
75 reviews
29.1 km away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.0 km away
Changa Safari Camp
Changa Safari Camp
#2 of 4 in Lake Kariba
100 reviews
0.0 km away
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa
32.4 km away
Eagles Rest
Eagles Rest
#1 of 5 in Siavonga
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Gache Gache Lodge

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gache Gache Lodge is situated across Lake Kariba only 30minutes by speedboat. You can also drive around in a 4x4 vehicle or you can charter a flight in to our own airstrip. We can arrange transfers. We have 10 rustic chalets, one with air-con. All with own verandah overlooking the lake. We offer game drives and our area now has great game-viewing and excellent fishing (Tiger & Bream) as we have our very own Environment Protection Unit on hand to combat any poaching in the Gache Gache Wilderness Area (GGWA. Gache Gache Lodge has a splash pool to keep you cool in those extremely hot months! Our evening game drives by boat/booze cruises allow you to take amazing pictures of stunning sunsets and birdlife too. September through April are the best fishing months! We look forward to hosting YOU soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gache Gache Lodge

Address: Across Lake Kariba | Easern Basin, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Gache Gache Lodge Zimbabwe/Kariba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gache Gache Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
Cape Town, South Africa
over a year ago
Cape Town, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Gache Gache Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms away from the main lodge are nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles tecla2016, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All have fab views of hippos & crocs on the lake”
 of 5 bubbles kime110, 29 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Don't bother going until you can be reassured that everything has been taken care of - wait for several consecutive positive reviews first.”
 of 5 bubbles Dave3000427, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“If you are travelling with children or scared of hippos request a room near the main lodge & pool. Number 7 & 8 are not for you !!!. Take a torch as the power is off from 10pm to 6am although each room has a solar lantern.”
 of 5 bubbles C0lemanM, 16 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Go for the room with the aircon, though they are planning to install more”
 of 5 bubbles izzyDarEsSalaam, 18 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5