We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gavin's Irish Country Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Gavin\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Gavin's Irish Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 72: English reviews
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2015

My family has had four reunions here booking 15 to 20 rooms each time. Last week we had a reunion but my brother and his wife were unable to attend due to a serious medical problem. Gavin's refused to refund to them the "non-refundable" deposit ($200). I think this was pretty small of them, considering the thousands of dollars of... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank BobinOP
Bsiena, Owner at Gavin's Irish Country Inn, responded to this review

We do apologize for our deposit refund policy. We have offered to roll over this deposit towards next years stay. If this was misunderstood, please do not hesitate to email me personally at Bernadette@gavins.com. We do appreciate families like yours who keep returning year after year and never take that for granted. As far as the water, we were having... More 

Pine Bush, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Just came home from a weekend at gavins, I was very impressed with everything and everyone. The meals were more than I hoped for, the activities for the kids were great, and everyone was very happy with their rooms. Our entire family can't wait until next year for our new traditional Curran family reunion

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen T
albany ny
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2015

This was our fourth visit to this wonderful Inn and we are anxious to return for more visits this year.Meals are excellent especially breakfast with buffect of juices,irish soda bread and scones plus we ordered omlets from the menua.Jimmy Walsh ia a great entertainer and Kitty Kelly on saturday had a great band.It was Mothers Day weekend so the Mothers... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank maryfemia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2015 via mobile

This is what the Catskills was back in the day...the staff, food and rooms were all great .....couldn't have asked for a better stay! Entertainment at the pub featured classic Irish music which along with my Guiness made for a wonderful time!

Helpful?
4 Thank Neverdie2142
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2015

We traveled to Gavin's over last summer for a brief summer vacation, , with my son and his girlfriend and my dgt. Got a good rate on groupon with meals and 4 water park passes included. We had a great time! The food was wonderful and our deal included breakfast and dinner . It is an older resort and the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa D
Ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2014

No need to hop on a plane to Dublin....If your looking for a resort with a flavor of Ireland, look no further than Galvin's. From the traditional Irish breakfast to the Irish Musical Entertainment at night... You can save yourself the time and expense of the plane by taking the scenic drive to East Durham. The staff under the managing... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Eileen M
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Let me first say that I really liked this Inn in the beginning. Our first night (Friday), was wonderful; room was clean, a little outdated but comfortable, with microwave and refrigerator. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful. In addition to the buffet (scones, Irish breads, bagels, fruit salad, cereal and strawberry compote) they offer made to order eggs and pancakes.... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Aleksandra L
Bsiena, Owner at Gavin's Irish Country Inn, responded to this review

We do apologize about your experience at Gavin's Irish Country Inn. We are an Irish Inn offering live Irish music on Friday & Saturday evenings. Irish music and a pub atmosphere is apart of our Inn and we are geared towards a family atmosphere too. Overall, most of our guests sleep well. We do apologize. If you come our way... More 

Sterling, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2014

We booked our room last minute online and upon our arrival the desk clerk realized we were traveling on motorcycles and relocated our room to allow us to park our bikes right at the bottom of the stairs leading to our room. We arrived hungry and asked if the pub served food, it didn't but she let me know the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmotofvr
Jupiter, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2014

the rooms were very nice as well as clean ,the food was very good, service was excellent. the staff arranged for golf for sixteen men which was also well run (with box lunches) Mary the manager was very pleasent as well as the waitress staff.

Helpful?
3 Thank John M
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
340 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

For the 11th straight year we have brought our family to Gavins and for the 11th straight year had a wonderful time.....We are all ages and it is the perfect place for every age! We do come during Kids Rule Week because we still have some young ones who love it....they go to every event, checking them off the schedule... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank christmas152

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwallville
12.9 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
273 reviews
12.6 km away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
124 reviews
6.4 km away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 4 in Greenville
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant
12.8 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 9 in Windham
480 reviews
3.2 km away
The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gavin's Irish Country Inn is a unqiue experience as we are an all inclusive Irish Inn with accommodations + meals + activies + entertainment all included in their nightly rates (with the occasion room only rates as well). The 3rd generation Innkeepers passed down from their family, the Gavin's, Brian and Bernadette are your hosts along with their outstanding staff who will do thier very best to accommodate all your vacation desires. Gavin's Irish Country Inn looks forward to greating you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gavin's Irish Country Inn

Address: 118 Golden Hill Rd, Cornwallville, Durham, NY 12418-1309
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham > Cornwallville
Price Range: €271 - €272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gavin's Irish Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Gavin's Irish Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gavin`s Irish Country Hotel East Durham
Country Inn East Durham
East Durham Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gavin's Irish Country Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
New Jersey
boston
4 months ago
Long Island, New York
Shirley, New York
Middletown, New Jersey
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Gavin's Irish Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most cabins are 2 floors.”
 of 5 bubbles Jbtbpb, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go. Dirty needs to be completely redone, torn down and start over.”
 of 5 bubbles 62pats, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“pool facing rooms on first floor!”
 of 5 bubbles christmas152, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“like the main house”
 of 5 bubbles maryfemia, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We had a room in the building across from the Pub that was very convenient, yet surprisingly private and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Baran53, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay