We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sanctuary Baines' Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sanctuary Baines\\
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Baines' Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 99: English reviews
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

We spent a couple of days at Baines Camp and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff was fantastic. Our guides were top notch and the Delta is a world of its own. Especially great if you are into birding but we also saw just about everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review after your stay at Sanctuary Baines' Camp - it is very much appreciated! We would be delighted to welcome you back to any of our properties, but in the meantime you can follow us on Facebook (Sanctuary Retreats), Twitter (@sanctuaryret) or Instagram (@sanctuaryretreats) to keep up...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Baines Camp What a beautiful days we had over here. The camp was not full booked, so private.....lovely! A lovely Camp, beautiful room, clean, the good staff and of course the excellent guide Fred. The managers are very kind, and it was very nice to listen to there stories. The Elephant experience with Doug and Sandi, and of course Jabu,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BernaDienaar
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review

Dear Berna, Thank you for this lovely review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. We hope you do come back one day, but until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 13 January 2016

We stayed at Sanctuary Baines Camp for two nights in December and loved its location, charm, and enthusiastic staff. Highlights of our stay included hippos wandering close to the deck of our room (safely below the strong building stilts and raised walkways, but close enough for us to watch closely), delicious food and drinks for breakfast, tea, lunch, sundowners, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paige W
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review

Dear Paige, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at Sanctuary Baines' Camp and thank you for all you lovely comments. We hope to see you again soon at one of our properties, but until then you can keep up to date with the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2015

We had read a particularly upsetting report on TA about this camp and an abundance of (insect) wildlife in the room, lack of service, basic food etc ... and so were very hesitant to go. We did go however and are happy to report that none of the above were in our experience here. The staff choir greeted us, (and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David A
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for all the lovely comments. We really appreciate your feedback. Our team loved hosting you and would be delighted to welcome you back one day. Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 15 December 2015

It is probably one of the most private camps in the Delta and in mid-October we were just able to do all the activities offered: Our exceptional guide Fred took us out in a boat, on a walking safari, where we passed a sleeping elephant, on a mkoro and - well - in the car. Yes, and the nights under...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NirakMunich
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are thrilled you had a wonderful time at Baines' Camp. Our team loved hosting you and hope to welcome you back one day soon. Would be great if you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet)...

Kasane, Botswana
Reviewed 12 December 2015

We stayed for 4 nights in early December at Baines with Deon & Crystal hosting us. What an enchanting experience! From the welcoming choir, our guide, Fred, the star bath's, food - just amazing and the best - sleeping outside under the stars on your porch! The one morning we had a African Fish Eagle dropping by, making herself comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johantaniab
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, much appreciated! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your wonderful comments. We hope to welcome you back one day soon. Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’....

Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2015

OMG you must try their "sleeping under the stars" experience here. Quite simply your bed is moved out onto your private deck and you sleep in the open air. I have never seen stars so bright!!!! Great camp and great attention the detail.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NESSLINLEY
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for all the lovely comments. We're pleased you had a great stay. Our team loved hosting you and are eager to welcome you back one day soon. Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search...

Reviewed 15 November 2015

We got engaged at Baines Camp at Sunset on the deck on the lodge overlooking the Okavango delta. Thanks to Crystal and the staff there for setting up an amazing evening. The service was exceptional. The game viewing was out of this world. It felt like an authentic safari experience in a truly untouched area of the world. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ran L
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for all the lovely comments. Congratulations on the engagement. Our team loved hosting you and you're very welcome to visit us again! Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2015

this was our last stop and we expected the camp to of of the same standard as the sister camps in Chobe and Chief's island. Disappointed - needs a lot of maintenance , initially given a twin bedded lodge though confirmation was for double , Manager non apologetic said his wife allocated the rooms and he could not do anything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chayan d
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all feedback from our guests as it helps us improve the service offered at our properties. Of course, we are disappointed to hear that you did not receive the level of service that you would normally expect from Sanctuary Retreats. I understand our Botswana Operations Director (Charl Badenhorst) has been in...

London
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

We had 3 nights of our honeymoon booked here but were so unlucky with the game viewing, we asked to be transferred to Chiefs camp. Staff were lovely and transferred us with no issues (+ price difference) but the game viewing was the worst I've ever done all over Africa sadly (in May 15). Bath outside was great fun and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NatCLondon
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all feedback from our guests as it helps us improve the service offered at our properties. Of course, we are disappointed to hear that you did not receive the level of service that you would normally expect from Sanctuary Retreats. We will be working closely with our team to use your...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
2:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okavango Delta
0.0 km away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
44 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
202 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#26 of 70 in Okavango Delta
160 reviews
0.0 km away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#18 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
79 reviews
0.0 km away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#13 of 70 in Okavango Delta
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sanctuary Baines’ Camp is our smallest and most intimate camp, built on raised platforms high above the Boro River in a huge private concession bordering the Moremi Game Reserve. An eco-friendly property built using only commercially grown wood, with over 150,000 recycled aluminium cans incorporated within the walls to provide insulation. The camp is raised above the permanent water of the Boro River while wooden walkways connect the main areas and luxury rooms. The swimming pool and the wide wooden deck that surrounds the main dining and sitting room is the ideal place to relax while observing the varied wildlife present here. See prowling lions looking for prey at the edge of the lagoon that the camp overlooks, or watch one of the many elephants who live in the area. The five suites at Sanctuary Baines’ are opulent and luxurious, with ensuite facilities and four-poster beds. Traditional safari ceiling fans create a cooling breeze at even the hottest times of the year. Should you wish, your bed can be wheeled out onto the private wooden deck for a night under the stars, overlooking the shimmering waters of the Boro River where hippo can often be spotted. Or take an indulgent soak under the stars on your own private viewing deck in our opulent star bath. At Baines’ Camp, the sky’s the limit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanctuary Baines' Camp

Address: Boro River, Botswana, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Price Range: €1,504 - €4,004 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Baines' Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctuary Baines' Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Baines` Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Sanctuary Baines' Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanctuary Baines' Camp staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sanctuary Baines' Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Every cabin is a great room”
kerryc50, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Thomas the resident elephant apparently likes rooms 2 and 5 best :)”
delphine_rt, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are no bad rooms!”
PeteN01, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms our extended family had seemed equally great.”
PaigeW178, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1 thru 3 are closest to the main building ......”
  • Room
davidnewsonis, 27 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5