We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Housemartin Guest Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Housemartin Guest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived unannounced at the Housemartin on two motorbikes covered in a days worth of South African dirt and were immediately given a warm welcome. There is room to safely park the bikes off the road, an honesty bar by the pool /braai area and the rooms are clean and welcoming. We were treated to an excellent Braai and a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank iaina853
Lebbeke, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Extremely warm welcome by Theresa and Jan. Calm spot and a nice garden to have a beautiful breakfast near the swimming-pool. A place to unwind in and extra idea to make the trip to Prince Albert! Erik and Carole, Belgium

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank erikd420
Hilton, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed one night - we should have stayed longer to enjoy the excellent hospitality of the recent new owners of Housemartin. An extremely comfortable and what looks like recently refurbished room made for a good nights sleep on comfy mattresses. The unit had a quaint veranda to enjoy sipping a sun-downer. The friendly, energetic and attentive (but not... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GavinBu
TheresaHouseM, Owner at Housemartin Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gavin Thank you so much for your kind review. We loved having you as guests and really hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Jan & Theresa PS - Dining room done, Pool area completed (check out our website for photo) - your next visit awaits More 

Knysna, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I run a cycling touring company and have used Housemartin on numerous occasions over the last 3 years. It remains my favorite guest hose and i use many across the country. My clients many of whom are repeat always ask if we will be staying there. The new owners have brought about some really great changes and i am going... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank forkcorktoursl
TheresaHouseM, Owner at Housemartin Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tim Thank you so much for your kind review. It's good to hear that the changes we have made are received positively. We are delighted that you will continue using our venue and look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards Jan and Theresa More 

Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst the establishment is pretty and well maintained, I was very disappointed to be presented a dinner menu comprising one dish and a pudding. I do not eat meat & there was no other option on the menu. Given that I think that I should have at least been offered an omelette, but @ R125 per head had to eat... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 754lvinl
TheresaHouseM, Owner at Housemartin Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dinner is only provided on request. At time of booking, we always ask our guests if there are any dietary restrictions. Your group confirmed that there are no dietary restrictions with the result that a traditional meal of bobotie, yellow rice, salad, home made ice cream and malva pudding was provided. More 

Pietermaritzburg KZN
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hadn't been to the De Rust property previously, but knew that Christina Martin would have provided something special. She certainly had, and the new owners were a pleasure to meet. We plan to visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 175keitho
TheresaHouseM, Owner at Housemartin Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. Looking forward to your next visit More 

Beacon Bay
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect ending to a business trip. Conveniently located. Very friendly reception. The hosts were both really doing their utmost to make my stay as relaxing as possible - even though I was there only for one night. Cool clean room set in a tranquil garden. Could no ask for anything better.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VaniaVT
TheresaHouseM, Owner at Housemartin Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Vania Thank you so much for your kind review. We loved hosting you and hope next time your stay will be longer. Kind regards Theresa More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This guest lodge is clean and comfortable. The owners are great and attentive and there is ample safe parking. De Rust is a truly beautiful little Karoo dorpie. The restaurant adjoining the property serves really good food.

Helpful?
Thank Ylandre
TheresaHouseM, Owner at Housemartin Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed the meal at the restaurant. Come back again soon Kind regards Theresa More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Artful decorated room. Very good coffee. Wonderful hosts. We stayed for 4 days in de quiet and friendly village De Rust near the Meirings Poort and the Swartberge. We loved the room and the patio, the relation with both our hosts and the friendly staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel v
TheresaHouseM, Owner at Housemartin Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Daniel Thank you so much for your kind review. Jan and I hope to see you again soon. All the best Theresa & Jan More 

Windhoek Central
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Although situated on the main road we had a quet night's rest. Fortunately we were referred to the anti-mosquito apparatus and thus slept undisturbed. A short walk on the main road indicated that De Rust is also plagued by poor people. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rianda M
TheresaHouseM, Manager at Housemartin Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Theresa Venter More 

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Rust
32.0 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
414 reviews
32.9 km away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
258 reviews
0.2 km away
Olivier's Rust
Olivier's Rust
#1 of 8 in De Rust
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 km away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
465 reviews
40.1 km away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
776 reviews
13.0 km away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Housemartin Guest Lodge

Address: 16 Schoeman Street, De Rust 6651, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > De Rust
Price Range: €48 - €58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Housemartin Guest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Housemartin Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Housemartin Guest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay