We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kromrivier Cederberg Park

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clanwilliam
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kromrivier Cederberg Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 22: English reviews
Start your review of Kromrivier Cederberg Park
 Click to rate
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

We were touring the area from our base at Mount Ceder and simply could not believe that someone had had the vision to create such a stunning restaurant in such a relatively remote spot! We received excellent advice about the magnificent Cape Nature managed site at Truitjieskraal and enjoyed a delicious chicken schnitzel and cheese and meat platter. We enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esther H
Rinda_Nieuwoudt, Manager at Kromrivier Cederberg Park, responded to this review

Thank you for this amazing review. And we are glad you enjoyed the food. Hopefully we'll see you again Have a blessed year and safe travels Regards

Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Spectacular scenery even after the recent wild fires. The new restaurant is an amazing structure that sits comfortably in the rugged landscape. It also boasts a wi-fi hotspot should contact with the outside world be necessary. The staff, as always, were friendly and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flutesdragon
Rinda_Nieuwoudt, other at Kromrivier Cederberg Park, responded to this review

Thank you for the review - really appreciate it. Regards Samanta Koegelenberg

Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 20 January 2017

If you are interested to visit that place because you have read about their brewery: don’t expect too much. Yes, they have a brewery but you don’t get to see it. They just sell the different beer bottles in the shop. That was quite a disappointment. The rest of the camping is okay. Looks like a family-friendly place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dino W
Rinda_Nieuwoudt, other at Kromrivier Cederberg Park, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for the review. I am sure somebody explained that it is a very small building with just the the machinery. We are definitely in the process of expanding the brewery. I can assure you that it would be more worth the while to visit. Everything in good time. For now we just sell our beers in...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Centrally located in the Cederberg Mountains, about two and a half hours drive from Cape Town, they have some self-catering chalets as well as camping sites. They recently have got a WiFi hotspot, and have attractions nearby such as Stadsaal Caves, Maltese Cross and Disa Pool. Chalets have electricity with utensils and bedding. Farm milk, baked bread and their locally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danie_VDM
Rinda_Nieuwoudt, Employee at Kromrivier Cederberg Park, responded to this review

Thank you Danie for the review.

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

My family and I spent the past wend chalet ting in kroomrivier. I must say the scenery, accommodation and hospitality we received was absolutely amazing. We had a fantastic time away and feel so refreshed and revitalized. I would recommend anyone and everyone to definitely come here for a lovely break away. The chalet we stayed in was so comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shirley S
Rinda_Nieuwoudt, Manager at Kromrivier Cederberg Park, responded to this review

Thank you for this incredible review - appreciate it. Hope to see you soon. Regards Samanta Koegelenberg

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We have been going to Kromrivier for many years. It is surrounded by mountains and is reached by travelling down a pass. There are 9 chalets and many new camping spots, each with its own toilet and shower (solar-powered). We usually stay at Tafelberg chalet (the biggest chalet). All chalets have fireplaces for winter and braai (barbecue) areas outside. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beatrix P
Rinda_Nieuwoudt, Manager at Kromrivier Cederberg Park, responded to this review

Thank you for this review - appreciate it. Hope to see you and your family again. Regards Samanta Koegelenberg

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We were a group booked to go horse riding. The ride was beautiful, however the guide terrible. We received no introduction on arrival, and were simply told to get on the horses and follow. No one was asked of the comfort or experience. On the ride, no guiding was given, and at one point the guide even commented on how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
Rinda_Nieuwoudt, Manager at Kromrivier Cederberg Park, responded to this review

Good afternoon Kelly Hope you are well! Thank you for your review. We do apologize - we will address the issue with the guide in order to improve future experiences! However, you were not "simply told to get on the horses and follow". If I remember correctly, I helped one inexperienced rider on the horse and explained how to control...

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

A gem in the heart of the Cederberg. Great hospitality, informal setup and authentic experience. The staff and family are very friendly and the accommodation, while not glamorous, is exactly what one wants when spending a week in the mountains. All the necessities are provided and the conservation schemes are inspiring. Will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Landi E
Rinda_Nieuwoudt, Manager at Kromrivier Cederberg Park, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Appreciate it. Hope to see you soon. Regards Samanta Koegelenberg

Livingstone, Zambia
Reviewed 30 April 2016

We stopped here for a bite to eat and to taste the beers which we had heard so much about. We were not disappointed by the beer and the young lady that was brewing a batch of it while we were there was lovely and more than happy to show us around and explain the process to us which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winter28
Johannesburg
Reviewed 30 March 2016

When you are in the Cederberg area you have to visit Kromrivier. A windy road takes you to this oasis where you can commune with nature, stay over or simply come for a locally brewed craft beer. This is well worth a stop on your travels in the area and the park is quaint and seems forgotten in time as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterV1

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clanwilliam
31.6 km away
Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
54.2 km away
Clanwilliam Hotel
Clanwilliam Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clanwilliam
205 reviews
56.2 km away
de Pakhuys
de Pakhuys
#2 of 22 in Clanwilliam
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.7 km away
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
54.5 km away
Saint du Barrys
Saint du Barrys
#1 of 10 in Clanwilliam
182 reviews
31.8 km away
Hebron
Hebron
#1 of 7 in Citrusdal
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kromrivier, bordering the Cederberg Wilderness Area, with its chalets and camping sites, is intended primarily for those seeking rest and quiet. This resort with its rich variety of flora has much to offer the nature lover. It forms a convenient base for scenic drives and hikes to the many natural features of the Cederberg Conservancy. The campsite border the banks of the Kromrivier. There are unpolluted streams and a dam for swimming. There are 5 mountain bike trails, horse riding and a child-friendly farmyard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kromrivier Cederberg Park

Address: Cederberg | P.O. Box 284, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Clanwilliam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kromrivier Cederberg Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check what chalets are available. There are three with lake views and some newer ones being built.”
Danie_VDM, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“This is not a hotel. There are chalets of varying size. The largest can accommodate 6 people.”
961beatrixp, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Camp sites with lots of shade is better”
yolandec566, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“chalets refurbd. glampsites private ablutions. campground shared abluts: K block shade; T avoids wind albeit less shady. R gets dusty.”
BillTucker, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“First weekend we stayed at Fiskraal. This by the bridge were people drive past and can look, the grass is the best and under shade of the trees with a well positioned braai place all can enjoy. 2nd weekend we stayed at Bokmakirie which looks right over the swimming spot from the porch, but there's no trees in front which can get a little warm. As a teenager, I often stayed at Tarentaal which has great lawn under trees and is one road back from the river..........so less frogs will come say hello.”
Stanley466, 24 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5