We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Karoo Art Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Karoo Art Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Karoo Art Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 299: English reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Stayed at the hotel for just one night whilst travelling thorough the Klein Karoo. Wonderful reception. The hotel is so quaint, very clean, neat and tidy. Rooms are really nice and the food was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback, much appreciated ! Regards Theo Owner

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Lovely, quirky hotel. We were in the garden suite - superb suite and lovely private garden to enjoy an evening drink, outdoor shower (two) and garden pond. Entrance from private garden onto hotel patio area and pool. Room itself was large with seating area and large bathroom. There was a small private buddah garden in the room itself was lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FAR2002
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, much appreciated! We have a wealth of local knowledge and tips on what to do in the area- some of which you will never read in any guide.. We are very happy to share our specialist knowledge of our area with our guests and let them in on the local secrets- where to go for...

Reviewed 12 January 2017

What should have been a very pleasant one night stop over turned into a terribly disappointing stay. The hotel room although very basic was adequate besides no air conditioning and a missing TV. The restaurant was great. Lovely menu and the food and presentation was of a very high standard. However after turning in after a nightcap in the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ryan B
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliment on our food- we shall convey it to the chef. You picked one of our more basic rooms and our website makes it clear that such cheaper rooms have no TV . All our rooms are equipped with old-style ceiling fans, which work remarkably effectively - they are also very quiet, and can be set...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I can start with that phrase.. Arrived on our Harley.. Road trip you see.. Color and art shouts out a welcome..rustic romantic hotel. Owner there for break and he personally greets us.. Sitting under the trees tapping away on laptop. Flags on the balcony welcoming all nationalities. Splendid views and a French twist to this gorgeous place..art hanging all over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank castsonya
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback- it was a pleasure having you as our guests! Regards Theo Owner

Hout Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

I was blown away by this quirky place and just loved the time we spent here. The service is excellent, the staff well trained, informative and friendly. The attention to detail is noticeable everywhere and I loved the filter coffee in the room. The grounds are clean and we'll looked after and the garden area is lovely. I will be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annaliese L
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review- much appreciated! Next time please stay a day or two longer- we are a good home-base from which to do short day trips to explore the Klein Karoo! Regards Theo Owner

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

I convinced my darling Irina to ride with the Harley Davidson to Barrydale. We booked into the hotel and was immediately impressed by the friendly staff and surroundings. Our room was more than adequate. I liked the iron cast bed. It slept very comfortable. To our surprise our friends Rob and Sonya also booked in. We started with some drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank etienne6524
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your good feedback - good to have had you in the house! We apologise that breakfast was not satisfactory - the good news is that our brand new menus - including a brand new breakfast menu- will be up and running by middle January . Please come and try them. Regards Theo Owner

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

A great place for a short stay with all amenities and a gourmet restaurant. Ask for a premium room which has aircon otherwise be prepared to have only a roof fan on a hot summer night. The hotel has a games room and swimming pool which is ideal for a summer visit. Weekends there is entertainment in the bar.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HouseC1015
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your good feedback , which is appreciated. Sadly we do not offer air-conditioned rooms- all rooms are equipped with very effective ( and silent! - you can use them whilst sleeping) old-style character ceiling fans in all the rooms. Fortunately, Barrydale has its own outside "air conditioner" - every afternoon there is a light cool breeze blowing, cooling...

Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Everything about htis hotel was cool, starting with the rambling property filled with different nooks and crannies, and with genuine art everywhere, completed the friendliest staff you could wish for, an excellent restaurant and very nice, individual rooms. Our room had a wide balcony looking over the main street toward the mountains - the perfect place to have gin and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martti_K
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your great review- many thanks ! It warms our hearts to get feedback like this! we will make sure our staff read this! Regards Theo Owner

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 25 November 2016

The service was absolutely fantastic, the staff could not do enough for us. All our guests loved the whole atmosphere, the quirkiness that is essentially the Karoo Art Hotel. The rooms are all different and as we had booked out the hotel we had the advantage of being able to see all the rooms - they are all wonderfully different....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank quitecontrary2016
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

You were a happy and fun group and our management and staff loved having you in our hotel as our guests! We appreciate your great review,many thanks! Regards Theo Owner

Stanford, South Africa
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We spent a weekend at the Karoo Art Hotel what a disappointment we found the accommodation clean but totally lacking in class and warmth. The price of food and wine are in our opinion way over the top and the quality is average at best. The only saving grace were the friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWen310
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear this! If a great room is important to you,please pay a few more Rands and do not reserve the cheapest room type like you did? However we strongly disagree with what you say even of the room you occupied- it is unique,and like all our rooms ,display original pieces of art . Is it perhaps not a...

187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrydale
27.8 km away
Schoone Oordt Country House
29.0 km away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
63 reviews
0.4 km away
The Karoo Moon Motel
The Karoo Moon Motel
#3 of 6 in Barrydale
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Tradouw Guesthouse
Tradouw Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Barrydale
172 reviews
0.5 km away
Sandy's Place
Sandy's Place
#1 of 7 in Barrydale
50 reviews
0.4 km away
Sorgvry - House of Guests
Sorgvry - House of Guests
#2 of 6 in Barrydale
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This is the best country hotel in the whole of the Klein Karoo! An ideal stop-over between Cape Town and the Garden Route, a must-stay for any visitor! Best food and most comprehensive wine list in the whole of the Klein Karoo! ( Wine list has just been awarded a Diners Club Wine List Diamond Award - the highest award possible) ! Restaurant has just won the Klein Karoo Gourmand Award ! Loads of historic character. Most friendly staff. Rooms with balconies and views available. Character bar and great restaurant. Huge swimming pool for hot summer days. Many open fireplaces for the winter nights! Karoo hospitality. The hotel is an art gallery with many paintings by local artists on display and for sale .Some rooms with cable TV available. Staff are keen to share local things to do and to see with guests.We even have a private 40 seater private cinema for use by our guests! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Karoo Art Hotel

Address: 30 Van Riebeeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa (Formerly Barrydale Karoo Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Price Range: €69 - €92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karoo Art Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Karoo Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Karoo Art Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 , fun and spacious.”
honeypotcrail, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room number 7 is great for couples, has a balcony with a view of the mountains”
, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Garden suite was superb. Did not see any other rooms so cannot comment on this.”
FAR2002, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay in one of the Groot Karoo rooms for the ultimate Karoo Art Hotel experience...''”
quitecontrary2016, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We would struggle doing this .”
ChrisWen310, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5