We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Adequate place to stay but beds not spotless. Charlie while playing at the computer could not look up to greet us as we arrived. Seemed annoyed to stop his piano playing when we were trying to check out. On the otherhand, breakfast was great and staff in kitchen were most helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lovestogarden
sangeronimo, Owner at Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo, responded to this review

I apologize to this guest.. It's true I can become so absorbed that I have difficulty redirecting my attention! --Charlie As for the beds, most people RAVE about our brand new Denver mattresses, and we make every endeavor to keep them and the linens spotless.

South Miami, Florida
Reviewed 4 September 2010

For an easy, comfortable stay in east Taos this genteel hotel is very good! Owners are lovely, friendly couple. In summer, stay downstairs for cool rooms with adobe walls. A swimming Pool is rare treat for an older property. Breakfast was delicious, with attention to my food allergy, and made charming by piano music played by owner in the large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AprilArtist
sangeronimo, Owner at Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind and accurate comments. You have pretty well mentioned all the features we are proud of here! Comfort, gentility, friendliness, swimming pool, delicious breakfasts with live piano music, contemplative grounds, all in a picturesque and quiet setting. --Charles

Seattle
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The San Geronimo is a fantastic place. It is old, quirky, and interesting. It is somewhat off of the beaten tourist path so it is much more laid back. The owners are interesting and friendly and the breakfasts are served in a large dining area. This is the opposite of a generic sterile hotel. And it is in a really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BunnytheDog
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My family and I stayed 4 nights in July. Had very quiet rooms and comfortable beds with beautiful views of Taos mountain from their private decks. Owners were very helpful and hospitable. The common areas are lovely, full of historic southwestern charm. Breakfasts were generous, delicious, and varied. The pool and grounds are very tranquil places to unwind after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank partrip
New York City
Reviewed 25 July 2010

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at San Geronimo Lodge. It is a beautiful, private setting with lovely grounds. We loved sitting on our terrace looking at the mountains. We also enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The breakfasts are excellent and very substantial. The owners and staff were very pleasant and accomodating to us. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank purnnyc
Greensboro, NC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

San Geronimo is an old adobe hotel that has been restored but without adding most modern conveniences (with the exception of wi-fi). The rooms are not air conditioned. My wife couldn't decide whether to leave the doors/windows open to cool the room, or close them to cut off the noise of dogs barking. One makes a reservation for breakfast (no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Redtag
sangeronimo, Owner at Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo, responded to this review

Most of Taos is old and rustic, which is its charm. Alas, that night a neighbor’s guest brought a barking dog. We are priced like other B&Bs, but offer much more …labyrinth, prayer path, hot tub and pool, with wi-fi, cable TV, DVDs, and great beds in all rooms. Room AC’s are available on request. Continental Breakfast starts at 6:30....

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed here over the 4th with our dog. The place is about 2.5 miles from town center. It is well maintained in the lobby with the old world charm that is only with Taos. We had room 4, which is the handicapped room. It was clean, pleasant and had the adobe fireplace. They have pretty grounds with paths, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rnattorney
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Based on the reviews and the pictures on the web site, we were expecting a relaxing oasis - this is a dirty motel. Our trip got off to a bad start when we showed up at 4pm (the specified check-in time) and found no one at the desk. There were keys laid out for "self check-in" for other guests, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JJT2007
sangeronimo, Owner at Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo, responded to this review

Our mistakes. Sorry we weren’t at the desk to greet you. (If you'd walked out to the pool you would have found us.) We know you were angry, but many of your comments are “questionable.” To call San Geronimo a “dirty motel” challenges the judgment of independent reviewers (AAA and NMBBA) and countless guests before and since your visit.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 9 June 2010

My husband and I, seeking a romantic escape stayed at San Geronimo based on TA’s glowing reviews. Our experience was very different. The first thing we noticed were the plastic ferns that hung from the patio, a harbinger of things to come. An employee checked us in. She was nice enough. After that no one was around. While other B&Bs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Galadrial90
sangeronimo, Owner at Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo, responded to this review

The shower handles ARE tricky, (pull for on; twist for temp) but there is always ample hot water. If they didn’t get a hot shower, no wonder their experience was “cold and unsettling.” As for our décor, it IS eclectic, like great-grandfather’s ornate 1860’s desk, but many people find it fascinating. We plan to change the entry doors soon. As...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 5 March 2010

I have been traveling to New Mexico for over 30 years and this was my first time in San Geronimo. No, it is not in Taos, but outside in the beautiful and quiet contryside. Taos a very easy drive in, why are you in New Mexico with out a car? Gorgeous room with king size bed, fire place, walk in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MostWinningWoman

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.8 km away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.5 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 17 in Taos
1,047 reviews
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 17 in Taos
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.6 km away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 17 in Taos
1,102 reviews
3.6 km away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Two miles from Taos Plaza, we sit on 3 serene acres and offer 18 unique guest rooms which can accommodate up to 56 people overnight. Our largest room sleeps 6 people. We rent individual rooms or the entire property. Looking for a space to host a wedding, reunion, retreat, or party? We're your Northern New Mexican destination. We are pet friendly on ground floor rooms. We have a seasonal chile pepper shaped swimming pool and year-round hot tub. Enjoy our labyrinth and relax on the walking meditation path. Always free parking and enjoy a delicious, complimentary breakfast as a B&B guest. Taos is famous for inspiring many great artists, come see for yourself! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo

Address: 1101 Witt Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6449
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Price Range: €143 - €177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Geronimo Hotel Taos
Blue Sky Retreat At San Geronimo Taos, New Mexico
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think there is a bad room, however a room on the exterior would allow you to sit on the balcony and enjoy the outdoors.”
 of 5 bubbles magaggiemay, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor exterior rooms have rocking chair and table with chairs on covered balcony. Lots of different configurations of rooms -- many take dogs, many can accommodate 6 or more. Great fireplaces!”
 of 5 bubbles SusanRoz, 7 Jul 2014 | Read review
“There is no lift, but we like rooms on the 2nd floor -- great views of the mountains and the area of Canon.”
 of 5 bubbles hockeydenver, 31 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Room 20 was clean and comfy - fireplace in the room and a shared porch with your neighbors that looks at Wheeler Peak.”
 of 5 bubbles CZN, 5 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Room 26 overlooking the pool was great but when sitting on the patio we could hear the pool pump - just a little annoying but this would not stop me from getting this room again!”
 of 5 bubbles TravelChickSC, 1 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay