We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rhulani Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rhulani Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Start your review of Rhulani Safari Lodge
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Let me give the positive points first. The game drives were excellent and we really enjoyed being with ranger Sean, we had very good sightings and we have no complaints as far as that is concerned. The staff in general tried very hard to please and were extremely polite but could do with further training and a little finesse. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvette204
Rhulani S, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Yvette We appreciate your feedback, even if we do not like to read your lines, and we wish you had a more satisfying Easter time at Rhulani. We are grateful that you mention the good points regarding the game drives with Sean, the attention of our employees, as well as some meals, thank you very much. We would like...

London
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We went in January and even in torrential rain we had an amazing time. The staff are just wonderful and our guide was really fantastic, we ended up as two sole guests in mid January and felt like royalty. It was so great we are sending our kids back in July. Cannot recommend highly enough

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracey h
Rhulani S, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tracey thank you so much for your lovely comment. It is wonderful to hear that our place and our staff could compensate for the downside of the weather, so you spent a good time at Rhulani. We try to give the best everywhere, but unfortunately (or luckily) we can not influence the laws of nature yet. We look forward...

Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Did a lot of research before booking – read reviews looked at maps compared prices – decided on Rhulani and was not disappointed Turn right at the 2nd gate from the South on R49 – fill in forms for entry fee – R360 for 2 – the gate will radio ahead to the Lodge – just a short and relatively...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeteD60
Rhulani S, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pete First of all, thank you very much for your detailed description of your stay at Rhulani Safari Lodge, and for giving us a maximum rating and countless positive impressions. You have also taken the time to describe some details, which are not often mentioned, and which pleases us very much. We are glad to read that we have...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

John and Maureen from Glasgow arrived at Rhulani on 19 March for 3 nights. We had never been on Safari before and didn't know quite what to expect, but the whole experience was beyond words. Our guide Alastair (originally from Oban in Scotland) was mind blowing - the "Rambo" of Rhulani. What he doesn't know about Madikwe is not worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnMcC M
RhulaniLodge, Inhaber at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear John & Maureen We are very happy when we can present our nature and animal world to "first time safari guests", and so the happier it is to us if we are certain that the experience was as wonderful as you describe it in your feedback. Many many thanks for your Kind words and description of what you have...

New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't often write reviews but our recent vacation to Rhulani Safari Lodge definitely warranted praise and comments. My initial visit to Rhulani was three years ago when I went for an unplanned overnight stay arranged by a colleague. In that brief amount of time, I was so impressed that I couldn't wait to return and share the experience with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madea-Dani
RhulaniLodge, Inhaber at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Madea-Dani What a pleasure to read from your successful March visit to Rhulani and that your return to us has met all your expectations. It is wonderful that you were able to enjoy this time the tranquility of the African bush and the many details that you kindly mention. Your compliment to "Captain Red Beard" is very nice, we...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic time, we spent 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The staff were all amazing and went out of there way to make us feel welcome,. Our Guide Rihann, was great worked hard for us to see great game. The food was fantastic, high tea was the highlight. They went above and beyond to accomadation dietary needs, Kosher food....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovepv4ever
Rhulani S, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Winnipeg Thank you for your visit to Rhulani, and thank you for giving us a wonderful comment. For us it is most important that we have the certainty that you have made a very good experience with Rhulani, and have spent "good times". Thank you for mentioning specific aspects that you have liked, such as the Hot Stone Massage...

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

i have no words to describe my experience at Rhulani... Madikwe is a beautiful reserve..everyone i met seemed to have safety and respect for the reserve as their topmost priority.. u could send sense that respect in people and to me that's the greatest thing about Madikwe.. and oh what hospitality at the Rhulani.. We stayed there a weekend in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betttsss
Rhulani S, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is wonderful that the weekend at Rhulani and in the Madikwe reserve offered you an "experience of a lifetime". Such kind words motivate us to spoil our guests every day, with great hospitality in the lodge, and unforgettable experiences in the African bush. Thank you for the personal mention of our employees, who will be very pleased...

Ohio
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We a family with three teenagers just returned home from a delightful three day stay at the lodge. During our six safari drives we saw the Big 5 plus zebras, kudus, impalas, giraffes, zebras, baboons, warthogs, mongooses, foot long millipede and numerous birds. Our guide Riaan was an excellent driver getting us within five feet of a leopard, lions mating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trifectatraveler
Rhulani S, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very pleased that your family holidays have been so pleasant, and that at the end of your trip you certify us a very good ratio "value for money". In reading your impressions, we are particularly pleased that you highlight specific details, such as the principles behind our game drives, the passionate work of our staff, or...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 March 2017

The facilities, staff, guests were 5 star. Our guide, Alistair was the icing on the cake. He and his team just seemed "to know" where the big five hung out. He made our day during both the AM and PM drives. And, whoever was in charge of the February weather, 70s and 80s every day. Can't wait to return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J1972JGrobertf
Rhulani S, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest your ranger Alasdair will be very happy when he reads your wonderful comment, and congratulations for having found with him so many animals including the Big5. The whole Rhulani team is glad that you had an "outstanding experience" with us, and we look forward to seeing you in the future again. With best regards Marisa & Rolf

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

We took a weekend break in Rhulani, arriving Friday, leaving on Sunday. From the moment we were welcomed on arrival to the time we left we were looked after attentively and with good humour - perhaps the fact that Rhulani holds so few guests makes it all feel more personal. The room with its deck pool and its view over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julien H
Rhulani S, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Julien Thank you very much for giving us such a nice feedback, after a successful week-end in Rhulani. We are very pleased that we were able to offer you a nice experience with our lodge, our service and the game drives. Thank you for choosing us, and we would be delighted to see you again in the future! Best...

338 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (300)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (168)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
2.3 km away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
339 reviews
8.5 km away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
445 reviews
17.6 km away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
557 reviews
17.4 km away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
408 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Succumb to the peace and tranquility of this spectacular setting. Relax in the spaciousness of your private luxury chalet with its own deck and plunge pool.Each chalet includes a Morso fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rhulani Safari Lodge

Address: Bravo 21 Wonderboom node, Madikwe Game Reserve 2840, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: €607 - €964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rhulani Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rhulani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhulani Safari Lodge South Africa/Madikwe Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rhulani Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rhulani Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All room the same nic and privaten”
Lovepv4ever, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“every room is beautiful!”
Betttsss, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“#5 was the cats meow!”
J1972JGrobertf, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Dont do all the game drives if you want to enjoy your room! skip some haha!”
keitumetsem, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Consider to fly directly from O.R. Tambo International to Madikwe western airstrip.”
  • African sunset
  • View from the main lodge
332tosv, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5