We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thakadu River Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thakadu River Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thakadu River Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 248: English reviews
Heidelberg/ Germany
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Our two days at Thakadu River Camp were very exciting:we saw alot of game (the big five), the food was outstanding and the staff qulified,, nice and very helpful.The stting of the camp is astonishing, the tents equipment of very high standard. The game drives were very interesting with qualified rangers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannelorevolkerbende
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear hannelorevolkerbende It was a pleasure hosting you and very special to celebrate your birthday together. Thank you for your visit and we would love to host you again at Thakadu River Camp with your next visit to Africa.

Reviewed 11 July 2016

This was not our first stay in Madikwe. We have done various stays those past 2 years in different lodges. The place is very nice, quiet and the road to get there puts you in a good atmosphere (although you need a SUV). The food was good also, the proposed wines could be of a better level on the suggested...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Citlali76
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Citlali76 Thank you for your visit and review. Please except my apologies that we did not totally met your expectations. We do appreciate your comments and will act accordingly. We do strive to constantly improve our standard. We are looking forward to receive you back as returning guests to Thakadu River Camp.

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We stayed for 4 nights and all I can say is "fantastic" the lodge was very well run and all the staff were lovely. Great food, probably too much and nothing too much trouble. The accommodation was very clean, comfortable, with all the little extras you appreciate and electric blanket was a nice touch as it was rather chilly at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markbarge
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Markbarge Thank you for your positive review. It is always a bonus to hear our guests expectations were met. We hope to host you again as returning guests to Thakadu River Camp.

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

As a family of four it is often a challenge to find the best private lodge that caters well for children and is professional yet casual. Thakadu certainly excels at achieving this balance. We had an amazing stay with great game viewing with our terrific and incredibly knowledgable guide, Gerry. Great food. Thanks to Precious, Boytumelo and the rest of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sportshortt
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Mr Sportshortt and family. It was a pleasure hosting your family. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and your game drives with Gerry. We would gladly receive your friends and hope to welcome you back as returning guests to Thakadu River Camp in the future.

Pretoria
Reviewed 1 July 2016

A beautiful piece of heaven in the bush. The tents are lovely and comfortable, and the food for our whole stay there was excellent. The chef tries to cater for all dietary requirements, for those who have allergies or intolerance to certain foods. The staff, especially Precious, are friendly and welcoming, and nothing that I asked of them was too...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jennifer W
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer W It was a pleasure hosting you and we are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Thakadu River Camp.

Velddrif, South Africa
Reviewed 6 June 2016

had a really pleasant stay. Needed some special time off and that's what we had. Good accommodation, good food and friendly staff. Very friendly and nothing was too much. Duncan the driver / guide was very good and went out of his way to make our stay an experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frank328
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Frank It was a pleasure hosting the two of you. We are glad that you did relaxed ands enjoyed the stay with us. We are looking forward to receive you back as returning guests to Thakadu River Camp.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 June 2016

The rooms and the general area need some maintenance. DO NOT drive to this facility if you down have a 4x4. The roads to the gate entrance is bad...which as public rod most of the way. However from the turnoff to the Ricercamp the road condition deteriorates. But wait until you get to the gate. It is horrendous and I...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christo v
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Christo v It was a pleasure hosting the three of you. Please except our apologies for the condition of the road. The road was badly damaged during the flood in March 2016. We in the process of negotiating with contractors and hope that road works will start soon. We did start with maintenance and repair work to rooms and...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Very nice tented luxury camp, 3.5 hour drive from Johannesburg (via Sun City, 50 km sand roads, no 4x4 needed). The service is very good, staff and manager very friendly. Tents specious with veranda. 2 game drives / day, Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NikiAustria
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear NikiAustria It was a pleasure hosting you. Great to see that you enjoyed your stay at Thakadu River Camp. We are looking forward to receive you back as returning guests.

Alblasserdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 May 2016

We went to Thakadu River Camp in March and had an amazing time. Everything was perfect!! Verry nice, friendly and relaxt staff, verry good food and plenty of gamedrives with an amazing guide. I would give Thakadu a 10 out of 10.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pieterd355
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear pieterd355 Thank you for your review. We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your safari experience with us. We are looking forward to host you as returning guests at Thakadu River Camp.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Staff not suitably qualified to manage a 4 Star Bush Lodge. Very disappointing service considering the money that was spent. Bad attitude towards South African guests. Very little sightings of wildlife.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jochen S
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear jst933 Thank you for your review. Please except my apologies that your expectation were not met. We value all our guests regardless of nationality. Kind Regards

289 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (289)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (190)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
20.1 km away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
327 reviews
17.9 km away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
428 reviews
5.1 km away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
409 reviews
18.6 km away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
261 reviews
10.5 km away
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
#20 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Thakadu River Camp

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: €286 - €420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thakadu River Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thakadu River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thakadu River Camp Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve
Thakadu River Camp South Africa/Madikwe Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thakadu River Camp staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Thakadu River Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are twelve tents and we were in tent four; just a short 3-5 minute walk to the main lodge.”
  • This elephant was right outside of our balcony. Amazing.
 of 5 bubbles frankcK7249SW, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms were wonderful. Although it was a tent and therefore felt very romantic; they were very clean and absolutely beautiful. There was a gorgeous bath with brass taps, very comfortable beds and a lovely balcony. There was brilliant air conditioning and mosquito nets to keep out the insects. The rooms couldn't have been more perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles joannabenedictf, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The are all great, but if you want a good view of the river ask for the higher numbered rooms”
 of 5 bubbles dieselblade, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The bed was amazing! My compliments!”
 of 5 bubbles tessav486, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 7 and other rooms for the same price definitely had better views from their balconies”
 of 5 bubbles imjustthemessenger, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5