We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ravineside Lodge

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Ravineside Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 57: English reviews
Start your review of Ravineside Lodge
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent two nights at Ravineside. This was my second trip to Entabeni Safari conservancy, and previously I had stayed at Lakeside Lodge. 1) The scenery is better at Ravineside Lodge with amazing views of the animals below. 2) The service at both lodges is fantastic. 3) The food was good at both, although I feel it was marginally better...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
MichelleBouic, Client Liason at Ravineside Lodge at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Morning Justin S Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Ravineside Lodge. We are heartened to read that you had a legendary stay and that you enjoyed the food and game drives. Your wonderful comments have been passed onto management and the whole Ravineside team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the...

Avery
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this really was a great experience and the location of the rooms on the ravine was absolutely amazing! The staff was extremely accommodating, friendly and genuine. The food wasn't bad, but it wasn't fantastic either so if I had to make one sub-par comment, that would be it. I recommend this resort!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillbX2414CC
MichelleBouic, Client Liason at Ravineside Lodge at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Morning jillbX2414CC Thank you for the feedback on your stay at Ravineside Lodge. We are heartened to read that your overall stay was a legendary one. Your comments about the food have been passed onto management. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were there for two nights and it was the best experience we have ever had with animals. The accommodations were on a mountainside with a spectacular view. We were taken by jeep to and from the cabin as animals roamed outside the cabin, such as elephants and rhinos. We were up early in the morning for a three hour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judson m
MichelleBouic, Client Liason at Ravineside Lodge at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Judson M Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Ravineside Lodge. We are heartened to read that your stay was the legendary experience we aim to provide. Your comments about Eugene the ranger, food and staff have been passed onto the Ravineside team and we look forward to welcoming you back in...

Old Marikana/Rustenburg Road
Reviewed 18 April 2017

This was our first visit to the lodge, the road we took from Legends Golf Estate was very very bad!! BUT from the time we arrived till we left...what a ''RUSH'' everything was tops.the staff.the food,the stay,the game drive's.value for money for local South Africans.will visit again!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J9889PIguestg
MichelleBouic, Client Liason at Ravineside Lodge at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day J9889PIguestg Thank you for the feedback on your stay at Ravineside Lodge. We are heartened to read that your overall stay was a legendary one. Your great comments about the service, food and game drives have been passed onto the Ravineside team. Your comments about the road have been passed onto management and we do look forward to...

Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We really enjoyed our short safari at Entabeni. The accommodations are just fine -- the rooms are nothing particularly special but the location and venue is. Think of it as the most fancy and comfortable tree house you can imagine! Highlight was our excellent ranger guide, Jan. A wonderful fellow, exceptionally knowledgeable, passionate, and friendly. He truly wants you to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank supergeeky
MichelleBouic, Client Liason at Ravineside Lodge at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day supergeeky Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Ravineside lodge. We are heartened to read that your stay was a legendary one. Your wonderful comments bout Jan, the ranger, and the food have been passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Reviewed 12 February 2017

We were fortunate to spend two incredible nights in Entabeni Ravenside lodge. Our driver Royale was fantastic on all fronts, Anton the GM gave us a warm welcome and was a good sport all around. Bianca was great at tending to our little one and Eugene did a great job helping us when we need. The food was good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morgan C
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Morgan C Thank you for sharing your experience at Ravineside Lodge with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the friendly service and food. We will pass on your message to the Ravineside Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

First of all: the Waterberg area is beautiful! Entabeni means 'place of the mountain' and the Private Game Reserve has different lodges in this marvellous landscape. Extra's are: this is a malaria free safari area, and close to Johannesburg. Attention: in local winter season it can be cold here! In 2008 I stayed with my family at the Entabeni Wildsite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SielVdD
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Good day SielVdD, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are heartened to read that your overall Entabeni experience was a positive one, and that your main concerns lay with the lodge itself. Ravineside is, as you say, different to our other camps due to its layout and more isolated feel. We apologise that your room’s...

Lephalale, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We received warm welcome when we arrived. The room is comfortable, spacious and peaceful, I love the fact that there is no TV, I was just enjoying hearing the sound of birds and amazing view. Our Ranger Mashudu is very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the game drives and there are lot of animals compare to other game reserves.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank phillism2017
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Phillism2017 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Ravineside Lodge. We are heartened to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the wildlife and excellent service. We will be sure to pass on your comments to Mashudu and the rest of the Ravineside Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Mokopane
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Ravineside Lodge at Entabeni is highly overpriced and very disappointing. The facilities are old, unkept and dirty. The food and service is less than average. There are many other lodges in the area that offer a lot more value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yolandie K
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Yolandie K, We are disheartened to read that you did not enjoy your time with us at Ravineside Lodge. Whilst Ravineside is one of the older lodges on the property, it has recently undergone an upgrade to its facilities and interiors and has received a number of positive reviews since. We have however escalated your comments to Executive Management...

Randburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 December 2016

The public roads to the area up to about 20 Km from the gate are fine but from there on they are gravel and in very poor condition with a number of dangerous holes in darainage pipes crossing the road. It is also poorly signposted to both the upper and lower camps and a number of foreign gusts we met...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimhA891ZR
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear kimhA891ZR Thank you for taking the time to review our lodges. We thank you for your positive comments and have passed those on to Management to share with their teams. We welcome constructive comments as we feel they can only assist us in bettering our service delivery, and thank you for taking your time to send us yours. The...

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
48 reviews
12.1 km away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
245 reviews
15.7 km away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 16 in Mookgophong
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
10 reviews
32.4 km away
Jembisa Bush Home
Jembisa Bush Home
#3 of 36 in Vaalwater
110 reviews
12.7 km away
Roundstone Mountain Biking & Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ravineside Lodge comprises tranquil thatched wooden lodges on stilts with magnificent views. Each lodge has 3 or 4 luxury en-suite bedrooms with an African ethnic theme. A private open-plan lounge and bar area extends to the open sundecks. From here guests may indulge in bird and game watching and experience the beauty of the ravine with the rippling sound of water far down in the valley. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ravineside Lodge

Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Upper Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Price Range: €121 - €262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravineside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ravineside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravineside Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ravineside Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Los Angeles, California
10 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ravineside Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The mattresses need to be replaced. The showerhead (which is in the bath) should be replaced. The fan should be replaced. The wood needs to be maintained (sanded down and varnished).”
y0landiek, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A TV set in the room would be nice, especially because there is not much to do between the early morning and late afternoon game drives. For a 4-star game reserve it is remarkable that there are no TV's (except for 1 TV in the main bar).”
dickh856, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room closest to the reception area because a lot of rooms are situated a distance from the amenities.”
hendrikferreira, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Enjoy the view!!”
MarykevdWalt, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on the end which seemed a little bigger than the average room”
vivetm2017, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Cancelon
* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates