We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cheetah Plains

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Cheetah Plains
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cheetah Plains
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Drelsdorf, Germany
Reviewed 16 January 2016

My complete experience Fauna, Flora, Staff and facilities was way beyond expectation. The variety and number of apparently healthy animals, not at all being disturbed by their visitors, attest to game reserve's purpose. Thanks to everybody at Cheetah Plains to make my stay so memorable. Special thanks to our field guide, Andrew. I am deeply impressed and sustainably touched by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ulla M
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Hi Ulla :) Thank you for your beautiful and heartfelt review on your time spent with us, we thoroughly enjoyed having you here. Quarantine was not far from the lodge two days ago, he was drinking at the watering hole and upsetting a rather large hippo. We haven't seen Inkhanyeni, and she has apparently been quite scarce in the general...

Ashover
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Six days of getting up at the crack of dawn but worth it every time,we saw everything in abundance. the afternoon drives were just as fruitful. Craig, our driver and guide was a pleasure to listen to, what he does not know about animals and birds is not worth knowing. The camp set up is wonderful,run by a teem that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2logon
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Good Morning from a warm but rainy Africa :) Thank you for writing a review on us, and your time spent at Cheetah Plains. Craig sends his regards, and thanks for the compliments of his knowledge. He does spend a great deal of time researching new information and his currently furthering his guiding education. The animals have been putting on...

Worongary, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2016

As per the other reviews, you virtually cannot have a bad experience here, but at a cost. We enjoyed almost all aspects of the camp, much of which has already been outlined, including the lovely dinners set up under the stars. Our main reason for visiting was that I knew we'd be pretty much guaranteed of seeing leopard up close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelsQld
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Good Morning Gail, I hope you and Alan had a safe and enjoyable trip back home. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here with us, we appreciate all feedback as it is the only way we can find ways to improve. We are very fortunate in that our leopard sightings out here are...

geneve
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Thanks everyone in Cheetah plains. We have spent 3 nights there and we didn't want to leave this place. Thanks Craig for all the game drive we have shared with you. Big five lots of time and of course lots of other animals. Craig is a sympathic and a fun guy. He showed us a leopard during new year's eve...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yamouchat
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Well hello there :) Thank you for writing a review on your time spent with us, and what a wonderful time we had spending new years with all of you out in the bush. We were lucky with the weather which allowed us to have a super bush dinner, and with the lions calling in the background it really made...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 26 December 2015

We went back to Cheetah Plains because we liked it so much the first time we went there. And we are not disappointed. Wildlife was simply great and the Lodge offers all you would expect in the African bush - no luxury such as massages and so on that you do not go to watch wildlife for, but simply comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Itzi77_10
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Good Morning, and of course Welcome back! Thank you for writing a review on your return trip to us :) I am sure it wont be the last time we see you. We were lucky to get some rain last week, as you know it has been very dry and it was really hot when you were here with us,...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 December 2015

great place to stay; food was excellent; service even better; game drives were great but this lodges owner does not provide a trekker (just the driver) on the game drives which is definitely an issue as the driver is trying to do more than his share driving to look for game and at the same time focus on driving; most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kinneri1
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for your review as well as your suggestions about a trekker. We used to have trekkers but found that they were not able to do much trekking due to all our guides being qualified trekkers themselves. So we decided to no longer use trekkers and instead have started a student program where we take on students...

Paris, France
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Beautiful individual bungalows. The main building has multiple seating areas and lounges. Lovely swimming pool area where you can view wildlife approaching the lodge (e.g. impalas, zebras, monkeys, elephants, hyenas, hippos......). Fabulous breakfasts with a huge range of choices. Magical outdoor evening meals. 2 bush outings per day 5.30-9.30am & 4-7pm. The reserve is teeming with wildlife and the accompanying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Artchips
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Good Morning! Thank you so much for taking time to write a review on your vacation spent at Cheetah Plain. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and that of course you saw the big five, which luckily out here we are very fortunate with. Sorry to hear you had trouble with directions, we...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Recently did a 2 and half day Safar staying and staying a Cheetah Plains turned out to be a fantastic choice. The viewing of the animals in and around the property was fantastic. Saw the big 5 and gained a new appreciation for the beauty of Africa. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to make sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sothlord
Reviewed 13 November 2015

My new wife and I spent 5 nights at Cheetah Plains to celebrate the first week of our honeymoon. We had the most incredible time and could not recommend it any more highly. We saw the big 5 on our very first game drive and then from there on our sightings just got better and better. The dinners at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hutley
CheetahPlainsGM, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Firstly: CONGRATULATIONS!!! Secondly, thank you for the lovely detailed review. Cheetah Plains is a bush camp and we are proud that our accommodation does not take anything away from the beautiful surroundings, as we are trying our best to ensure you have the most authentic African experience possible with the luxury of five star service :) We are so lucky...

Kruger National Park
Reviewed 3 November 2015

This was our very first visit to a safari lodge and we could not have been luckier. The camp was in a perfect setting in a grove of big trees near a waterhole and with a view of an open area where animals would pass through at all hours. At night we could enjoy dinner while watching them pass by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 545guestg
CheetahPlainsGM, Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review

Good Morning from a rainy Cheetah Plains! Thank you for the review, it was great insight into the experience you had, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We are a bush camp and try our best not take anything away from the environment with our structure, but rather enhance it to give the very best...

303 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (285)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (182)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
18.8 km away
Inyati Game Lodge
Inyati Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
346 reviews
4.1 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
340 reviews
9.1 km away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#18 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
28.7 km away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
708 reviews
23.1 km away
Notten's Bush Camp
Notten's Bush Camp
#5 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cheetah Plains is a small, authentic bush camp in the world renowned Sabi Sand Game Reserve, with 500 hectares of privately owned land & another 8000 hectares of additional traversing - you can be assured of exceptional game viewing - especially leopard and the rest of the "big 5". Cheetah Plains has only 8 traditionally thatched rooms - set amongst indigenous gardens - creating a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.We focus on freshly produced meals in wonderful surroundings - complementing the friendly and attentive service from all at Cheetah Plains. We look forward to welcoming you to our special bush home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cheetah Plains

Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve | Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Mpumalanga, South Africa, Kruger National Park 1383, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: €600 - €1,588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cheetah Plains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheetah Plains Sabi Sand Game Reserve, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cheetah Plains staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Santa Fe, New Mexico
4 months ago
Scottsdale, Arizona
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Cheetah Plains staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are pretty much the same”
 of 5 bubbles poncerc, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all are amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles 599annie, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All cottages are perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles kdssmorse, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Not #1 unless they fix the shower!”
  • Appealing, no?
  • Not what one would expect from a lodge of this caliber!
 of 5 bubbles HappyTravelsQld, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are tight, but adequate for sleeping. The common areas were interesting and had spaces inside and outside by the dipping pool that allowed for leisure and rest during the day.”
 of 5 bubbles 545guestg, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay