We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Black Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Black Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 43: English reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We have been coming to Red River for over 30 years and with out a doubt this is the worst cabin I have ever seen. The carpet is completely worn out and dirty. The bedding looked like someone had been jumping on it. The sofa sleeper, which we were going to use, was filthy. The whole unit needed a complete...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GranGo5
BMLRedRiver, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Our cleaning staff and management have completely been changed. Thank you. God Bless.

North Richland Hills, Texas
Reviewed 4 February 2015

This was our third trip to Red River, NM during our kids winter break. I love this town for the very fact that is seems to be stuck in time with a very small town atmosphere and almost no "chain" businesses of any type. What you should not expect when you come to Red RIver is a slick modern or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
Enid, Oklahoma
Reviewed 5 November 2014

On January 19th 2014 we booked Black Mountain's largest room the La Hacienda for a Christmas Ski retreat. We are taking our whole family (our son and his family, daughters and their families) all of them looking forward to the trip getting off work and making the preparations. Then at the end of September we get a notice that our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DRAM75
BMLRedRiver, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Any time there are serious issues with a rental unit (replacing flooring, adequately working appliances, ect.), we would rather alert the guest and give them ample time to make other other reservations (as we DID here) than provide poor rental conditions. We sincerely apologize for these inconvenience that RARELY happen...but our guests' enjoyable stay IS more important to us that...

Albuquerque
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have stayed in Red River several times this year at other Lodges which were nice. This one desperately needs renovation. The furniture is old and dirty and uncomfortable. The beds hard as a rock! Should get rid of filthy carpet. Water in shower was hard to adjust and tub was stained. "Playhouse" had pinball machines....that took your money. Miniature...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerald G
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We knew before we left for our Spring Break trip that the room wouldn't be all that great, so our expectations were low. So without an opinion I'll just list facts. TV remote didn't work, carpet in front of the refrigerator was wet, the refrigerator door wouldn't close all the way unless we used papers on top to it let...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at Black Mountain Lodge during Spring Break and have no complaints. These accommodations may be the best deal in Red River. It is true you get what you pay for. The building is old and but we expected that. Our rates were very reasonable and the location is the most convenient to the ski area of all the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda K
Dumas, Texas
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have been coming to Red River for many years. All the places I have stayed at have been great. I have never had a bad experience in Red River no matter where I have stayed. Me and my husband got into town late and the bar was still open but the kitchen was closed by the time we got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeredithDawn
BMLRedRiver, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for a kind and honest review. We continue to update our lodge; replacing flooring, replacing linens, and working hard to make each and every stay memorable. Please let us know when you return to Black Mountain Lodge, as all return guests receive a 10% discount. It is our goal to provide clean, conveniently located, friendly services to all...

Tulsa
Reviewed 11 March 2014

From the time of booking to the time we checked out, I had a great experience. Everything was very clean, and just had a very nice ambiance. A great place to take the family and I'm looking forward to my next stay there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnGMadd
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I have been coming to Red River for over 12 years now, several times a year and have never had any problems or been disappointed in the slightest...until this stay. The hot tub didn't even have any water in it and looked like it hadn't worked for awhile. Rooms look they haven't been updated since the 70's and had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donika505
austin
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Location is outstanding. Can't beat it. The restaurant is great too. The lodging & service needs some work. Our family got in late & needed the sleeper sofa for kids..... Which had no sheets or blankets. We hunted down the owners in the restaurant and they got sheets to us. (never got blankets ) The sofa was thin & uncomfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbrp

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.3 km away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#3 of 8 in Red River
212 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
487 reviews
12.9 km away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#1 of 1 in Taos Ski Valley
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
81 reviews
37.7 km away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
0.6 km away
No photo provided
WorldMark Red River
#22 of 25 in Red River
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Units ranging from economical hotel style to large 5 BR, 3 BA units. Several 2BR/1BA and 1BR/1BA at base of Red River ski area. Great location in town! True Ski-in / Ski-out and the ONLY bunny slope / easy ski-in / ski-out Facility in Red River! Family oriented. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Mountain Lodge

Address: 305 Pioneer Road, Red River, NM 87558
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Price Range: €60 - €237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Black Mountain Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This hotel is in a nice spot, but I don't know if there are any nice rooms since I have only stayed in one of the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles dasher2004, 28 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Not to stay on the bottom floor there it was noisy!”
 of 5 bubbles laurasU2286SR, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Don't choose Black Mountain Lodge”
 of 5 bubbles GranGo5, 29 May 2015 | Read review
“Go for a larger unit than you think you need. One of the smaller units with 2 bedrooms would be ideal for a couple with one bedroom for your ski clothes. The living area in Unit 2 was too small for the 4 of us with a couch that seats 3 at most and additional folding chairs available in the closet. Also, that unit comes only with a microwave and hot plate. We would prefer to have a unit with a full kitchen as we try to cook some of our meals on these trips to avoid eating at a restaurant for every meal.”
 of 5 bubbles darrenw895, 4 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Renter Beware, do not count on having a room until you get there. Better have a backup plan.”
 of 5 bubbles DRAM75, 5 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5