We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Spruce Cabins

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cloudcroft
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Spruce Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
Start your review of Spruce Cabins
 Click to rate
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cute comfy little cabin, well insulated, very comfy bed , beautiful area. We went up for a weekend of exploring , but it snowed. It was beautiful and we stayed nice and warm in the cabin. Very nice people in the office. We will definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank washdarbb2
Victoria, Texas
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was tiny but did have full size tub. Beautiful location, close to everything. Staff was very pleasant. Only thing I would say was a negative was no spare roll of toilet tissue which we did not discover until the evening before we were due to leave. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carmelprice54
Bay City, Texas
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We went to Spruce cabins in December of 2016 for Christmas away from home. We had a family of 4. Two of us were an 11 ur old and a 7 year old. The cabins were underwhelming. The old gas stove is nearly unusable. You have to have a good level of experience with old gas stoves to operate it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeremyd347
ttscott1160, Owner at Spruce Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know your concerns. All of our cook stoves are newer( replaced with in the last 11 years). If you were having troubles with yours we would have gladly assisted you in showing you how a gas stove works. Our cabins were built in 1950's And even though many upgrades have been made the charm of...

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Went for a day trip up to Cloudcroft because of the winter storm that was coming. My family and I had a blast staying in that area. The cabin was nice and well prepped. Definitely gonna stay here again when we come back up!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John V
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here 3 days over Thanksgiving. Left the children at home for this weekend getaway. cabin was small and cozy. Very peaceful experience. Just the getaway we were looking for. Wish we had booked one with a fireplace.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James C
ttscott1160, Owner at Spruce Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you so much! Next time the cabins with fireplaces are Cabin 2, 5,8,9,10,14,15,16,17,18,19,20,23, and 24. You can book on line for your convenience are call us seven days a week 9'am to 5 pm

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Stayed at Cabin 4 (handicap accessible) with my wife and two cats. Plenty of space, well equipped kitchen, slept well in the bed, recliner chair was a plus. Seemed to be well insulated. In town but also among the pine trees. Highway nearby but we had no problem with traffic noise. Price reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jerry H
A TripAdvisor Member
Kansas City, KS
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed. Cabins are old and run down. In the master bedroom of our cabin the floor has separated from the foundation causing a gap in the floor about 7 ft in length. It has been "repaired" with duct tape (eighth wonder of the world). When we brought this up to management their response was it has been that way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
ttscott1160, Owner at Spruce Cabins, responded to this review

Sorry you where unhappy with your stay. If you had just asked we could have moved you to a cabin you might have been more happy with. Many of the cabins have been remodeled. Cabin 10 is owned by another owner and we have informed them of your concern. This cabin does rent for $95 a night plus tax. You...

Reviewed 5 July 2016

I had booked the cabin on short notice for a dirtbike riding trip to the local Lincoln National Forrest. I was fortunate to be able to get cabin #1. Two queen beds, bathroom with mini fridge and microwave. Room was clean, smelled fresh. No problems. This was perfect for our needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny B
Estelline tx
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

We checked in with a friendly staff. We were delighted when we enter our cabin! It was newly remodelled, and was very clean. The room for two had a comfortable queen bed, a kitchen, and nice bath. The floor was tiled through out. Best of all for this cabin, the price was right! We would definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusieQ1206
Waco, Texas
Reviewed 5 July 2015

The cabin was very awkward to live in. There were no shelves to put things up. The TV was TINY. Could not see the picture from the bed, and was at impossible angle to see from couch. The coffee maker was set up in a corner on a low table where you kicked the brick hearth every time you tried...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank granbear
ttscott1160, Owner at Spruce Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know your concerns. As always we want to make your stay as wonderful as possible. In the future if you have concerns, our office is open everyday 7 days a week from 9 an to 7 pm. And we do have a maintenance worker that could have addressed your problems if you had just asked....

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloudcroft
0.9 km away
Cloudcroft Hotel
Cloudcroft Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cloudcroft
77 reviews
22.6 km away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
23.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.0 km away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
0.7 km away
The Crofting Inn
The Crofting Inn
#1 of 3 in Cloudcroft
39 reviews
0.9 km away
Summit Inn
Summit Inn
#3 of 3 in Cloudcroft
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the Lincoln Nation Forest at an enchanting elevation of 9000 feet above stress level. Spruce Cabins features year round accommodations. With fifteen cabins most having fireplaces ( wood is provided), Kitchens and outside charcoal barbecue grills and picnic tables. Pets are welcome for a fee. Free Wi-Fi and all cabins have color TVs with cable. We also have Club Spruce! A gathering room for rent with kitchen, two half baths, Cable TV, Wi-Fi and computer station, with it's own outside area including picnic tables fire pit and gas grill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spruce Cabins

Address: 100 Lynx Ave., PO Box 315, Cloudcroft, NM 88317
Region: United States > New Mexico > Cloudcroft
Number of rooms: 15
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Spruce Cabins staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Rankin, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Spruce Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One big common room with two queen beds.”
36johnnyb, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
granbear, 5 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Cabins #16 & 17 are away from traffic noise.”
Roseatexas, 19 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Expect cabins. Expect to have to wait for the climate contol after you walk in the door. Do note that the cabins are all different and pay attention to the features of each and choose accordingly.”
405michaelt, 23 Oct 2013 | Read review
“look elsewhere”
  • safety hazard clearly spelled out
  • note towels & heater - safety hazard!
  • bedroom - bed was actually pretty good
  • other beds, back to kitchen
  • kitchen/dining
  • road noise and only single pane windows
brownq8, 11 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5