We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
888 National Highway Barrio Barretto, Olongapo, Luzon 2200 Philippines
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/08/22
Agoda.com
US$68
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/08/22
Booking.comUS$83
Priceline
TravelocityUS$81
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (93)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (16)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#16 of 35 hotels in Olongapo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Pool
Indoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Beach
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
45Reviews1Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 10
  • 9
  • 11
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Steve P wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
Initial impression, hotel lobby was covered with lots of screaming kids coming from the pool, whereby to get to the front desk was a challenge without slipping. Though reservation were made, I was told to sit and wait while my room was selected. I had requested a King side bed with partial water view, but got two queens and zero views of the water. Upon entry, ants were everywhere, but the room seemed nice. I had requested a quiet room, so I placed next to there three elevators. With screaming kids even on the floor that I was staying, I am extremely disappointed in the service and lack of customer support provided. This will be the first and last time I stay at this hotel and if you book through Agoda, well that’s another nightmare.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
JuanMiguel wrote a review Jun 2022
Manila, Philippines2 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I were booked in Room 217. We checked in at 3pm and had hoped to get some rest, but we couldn't because of the noises coming from what seemed like rowdy people next door. We initially thought they were guests in other rooms, but it turns out that Room 217 was beside the break room for the staff. We just happened to be in our room while employees were noisily unwinding next door. We've no problems about staff letting off some steam after a hard shift, but guests are trying to get some rest. We duly notified the front desk about our concern. Instead of a standard type of apology coming straight from the hotel's PR department, we only got a stern reminder that the break room will only be occupied until 1800, and that we'll have a quiet night's sleep. No apology. Shame because the hotel looked like it was recently renovated, which is keeping me from giving it the lowest rating.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Central Park Reef, General Manager at Central Park Reef Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Miggi747, Thank you for bringing to my attention the poor treatment that your complaint received by my staff. Your room was indeed adjacent to the housekeeping room. Each floor has a separate housekeeping room. Our staff break room is in the basement. Our housekeeping rooms are intented to be used as housekeeping rooms only, and not for staff socializing. I sincerely apologize for the issue and the uncaring attitude displayed by the staff when you brought the matter to their attention. Those staff on duty that day (housekeeping and front desk) have already been counseled and warned that any further behavior like this may result in loss of their jobs. We will use your email during our next staff all hands meeting to remind all departments of the need to be considerate of our guests and to maintain professionalism at all times. Again, my apologies. I hope you will give us another try.
Read more
Unico Roja wrote a review May 2022
Manila, Philippines38 contributions19 helpful votes
Visited May 2022 with Family. For discounts, book hotel directly on their website. We got an executive room for 3,680 pesos per night. Pros: + Hotel is clean, nice with modern aesthetics, "instagrammable" interiors and pools + Very smooth check in and check out process + Staff are all helpful and accomodating + Spacious room, comfy bed, nicely planned and designed including the bathroom, very strong wifi everywhere, free spacious parking lot + Large serving of food, tastes good, a bit pricey - but it depends on your budget Cons: - Food preparation might take long, depending on the number of guests on the day of your visit - You cant use the pool (rooftop infinity and ground floor pool) at the same time which is a bit disappointing :( Infinity pool at the roofdeck opens at 330pm until night time. Ground floor pool opens in the morning up until 3pm only. - Slippery floors on the roof deck because of swimmers roaming around and eating at the restau bar. Elevators and hotel corridors too. Suggestion to management - make 1 elevator dedicated for swimmers/ wet guests only. Rubber mats should be laid in the rooftop near the pool and walkways and hotel lobby from the beach. Other notes: Beach is nice with clear water and fine sand. Although, there were traces of trash in the beach and sand area at the time of our visit (plastics, facemask, cigarette butts, food packaging etc) which is also disappointing. Medyo nakaka-ilang mag beach sa dami ng trash in the water floating and ocean floor. Olongapo LGU and Barrio Baretto govt should do something about this.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book directly from the hotel website for discounts. Get rooms on a higher floor for better view....
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Central Park Reef, General Manager at Central Park Reef Resort
Responded 19 May 2022
Thank you for the kind writeup. We understand both the pros and the cons and we will do our best to improve for any future visits.
Read more
Joana V wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Hotel's drainage is directly going to the beach. Water is smelly, full of trashes such as food wrappers and bottles. Take note, the hotel has a private access to a public beach. No towels, no beds, no chairs, no lifeguard in the beachfront. Kids are free of charge, without extrabed. With extrabed, you'll be charge for 1500php. Additional towels are also with charged, so you need to share towels with your kids. There will be towels provided in the pool area, but you can't bring them on your room neither in front of the beach. Ground floor pool is open from 7am to 4pm. Water temperature is very cold! Rooftop pool is open from 4pm to 10pm. Water temperature is warm, very pleasant to swim. Careful not to injure your feet with the pool's flooring as its tiles are coming out. For the price you pay, there will be complimentary two bottled water, soap and shampoo. Glasses and mugs are provided. However, no complimentary tea neither coffee. Take a picture of your minibar, frontdesk made me pay 4 bottles of mineral water which I didn't consume. Service and management is really poor. You need to be patient, cause you'll be always waiting. Waiting to be called for check in. Waiting for a towel that will never come. Even in the restaurant, you'll wait everytime you'll ask for something : water, ice, even for the bill. For breakfast we waited 45mins for the food. Advantages : Interior design and rooms are beautiful and spacious.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Central Park Reef, General Manager at Central Park Reef Resort
Responded 10 May 2022
Thank you for the review. However, I must correct some of your information which is false. Firstly, the hotel's drainage is not on the beach. In fact, our hotel is the only one along the beach side of the road with a proper STP (sewer treatment plant) where our waste water is properly treated. As for the beach itself, although we would love to develop it, we cannot legally do so since it is technically owned by the people. As for our prices and fees, none are hidden. We understand that everyone has a budget and we cannot please all. As for the beach towels, we had so many go missing in the rooms that it forced us to prohibit them from being removed from the pool area. Finally, the hotel is operating at near capacity so yes, our wait times for check-in/check-out and restaurant services are longer than we want. We are aware of those issues and we are trying to improve. However, again, finding qualified employees and training them takes time. Some workers are still hesitant to return to work due to Covid concerns. The hotel has really only operated continuously for less than one year, so please have a little patience. We will never be perfect, but we will keep trying.
Read more
booyeahSydney wrote a review Apr 2022
Sydney121 contributions119 helpful votes
This hotel is centrally located on the beach and surrounded by various bars and so on. It's also quite new and the rooms especially the suites are nice superficially. Although the building is not old it's starting to crumble with cracks in the plaster and the wall paper coming off. Cleanliness is poor. My room was never cleaned despite the tag on my door for that. Cockroaches in my room and blood on the sheets and wall of my friend's room. Checking in and out both very time consuming and irritating. First you have to pay cash for your room plus a deposit. This means multiple withdrawal from the ATM accross the road to pay. Sure you can pay credit card but at much higher rates. When you try to check out they tell you to take a seat while the check the room but it's so congested due to inefficiency that there are no seats as so many people are waiting. They did not care I was in a rush with a taxi waiting outside for me. You have no choice as at this stage they still owe you 1000 PHP refund for deposit. The refund is not calculated correctly with charges for items not used.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Central Park Reef, General Manager at Central Park Reef Resort
Responded 24 Apr 2022
Unfortunately on occasion we get guests whose review has only one purpose and that is bad mouth the hotel. For whatever reason, they hide behind the internet instead of bringing their concerns to the management at the hotel where issues can be addressed on the spot. If the room was not made up, a simple phone call to the front desk would have certainly resolved that issue. As for the wait times at the front desk to check in or check out, especially on the weekends, yes, we are aware of that issue and we are trying to address it. Sometimes we have as many as 80 to 90 persons trying to check in or out at the same time. We have added more computers and staff already to try to alleviate that issue. As for the comments on the building, I have to disagree with that. We don't have blood on the walls and sheets. Again, not sure why this reviewer is so set on defaming the hotel,,,,but I hope he or she learns to relax. Life is too short to be so negative.
Read more
David J wrote a review Apr 2022
Olongapo, Philippines3 contributions3 helpful votes
The hotel architecture is very nice and great to look at. The pool area also has a nice view, very nice. The staff were all attentive and adhere to all our requests. Glad that we stayed in this hotel and we absolutely enjoyed it there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Central Park Reef, General Manager at Central Park Reef Resort
Responded 24 Apr 2022
Thank you for the kind comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facility. Hope to see you back at the Reef for a future visit.
Read more
Matt Jaramillo wrote a review Feb 2022
Muntinlupa, Philippines1 contribution
I love how neat and clean the rooms are. The room and t&b are very spacious. The hotel lobby resembles with a cruise ship. Great Aesthetics, overall! However, the food quality and waiting time needs to be improved. I ordered grilled pork chops and the meat came out dry, far from what I expected considering the price of the food. The food service takes 30 to 45 minutes so it was a bummer. The diner table service button doesn’t seem to work, we tried holding the button multiple times and yet no server came to our place. I had to go to the counter to order. My dad almost got locked out on the toilet because the door knob on the diner malfunctioned. Overall, I love the ambiance, cleanliness, and space of the rooms. My family had a great time enjoying the beach and water activities. The hotel’s dining experience and amenities really needs improvement and I believe that they can still work on these things.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Myrla T wrote a review Jan 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked two rooms for a night's stay for a family of 5 last Dec 19. This is our first trip as a family since the pandemic struck so we are still a bit paranoid about safety and chose to travel local this time, and closer to the city. My children are well-travelled so I needed to manage their expectations when it comes to local hotels in this area. But we are surprised when we got to our destination! The hotel is quite new and well-designed. We like the architecture of the pools and the hotel itself, my kids said it reminded them of the Royal Carribean cruises. The rooftop pool sure looks like the Windjammer of a cruise ship, so it gives you some mini cruise feels. The rooms are spacious and very clean with high-end finishing and fixtures. It is consciously-designed with classy bed and furniture - at par with international standards. It has everything that we need. The hotel room seems to be cleaned and sanitized well, and smells fresh - I hate it when rooms smell moldy and this one is definitely not. The shower is one of the best design and space I've seen in hotels, and I've been to hotels in LA. The hotel didn't have much amenities except for two small but nice pools at the ground floor and the rooftop, and a diner - but were ok with it. Note that we booked two executive rooms on discounted rates so we can't complain about amenities, which Í see a lot of reviewers complain a lot particularly if they booked the highly-priced rooms (which I also personally think is not worth it). We ate at the diner for early dinner and breakfast which is a bit pricey but expected of hotel prices. The food is good as well as the service, and we don't want to go out and move our car because we might lose our parking spot. Just some of the things below for improvement. Again, we're not complaining but suggesting only:) 1. Covid-safety measures - there is none in this hotel, not even a temperature check, so you have to do your own precautions and social distancing. There are reminders around the hotel that visitors don't pay attention to. We're a group of five and sometimes, people would still squeeze in inside elevators. Good thing, the elevators are working and are pretty fast. 2. I mentioned that the architecture is good, but the access to the beach, pools and back to the rooms were not well-thought of. I suggest putting more showers by the entrance from the beach and dressing rooms near the pools so the lobby floors and diners won't get wet and be a slip-hazard. The elevator floors are always sandy and messy. I suggest converting the cabanas beside the ground floor pool into showers and dressing areas, and the live band area in the diner, too. Sorry, not a big fan of noisy entertainment. Otherwise, create a separate access and designate an elevator for wet access. Also, I suggest putting an outdoor carpeting for the commonly wet areas for safety. 3. Car parking - I hope they can rent a space outdoor for extra parking as the parking is too small for the size of the hotel. For a classy hotel, do expect that most visitors will come by car. 4. Receptionists badly needed training in international relations. They are cold and unwelcoming, and looks disinterested.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose upper rooms for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Central Park Reef, General Manager at Central Park Reef Resort
Responded 5 Jan 2022
Dear Myrlat2015, Thank you for taking the time to detail your observations and recommendations. As the newest and largest hotel in the area, we will certainly admit that we have areas where we can improve. We have already taken some measures like adding a second set of steps down to the beach, adding a second shower and even enclosing the lobby with sound proof glass in order to eliminate noise in the guest rooms. As for the car park, we recognized the need for additional parking right away so we purchased an offsite lot just down the street from the hotel where we valet park up to an additional 40 vehicles. That additional parking area is already available and being used. We are constantly making improvements and it will only get better once the COVID restrictions on the staff and the guests are lifted and we can return to some kind of normalcy. Again, thank you for the feedback and for staying with us. Have a wonderful 2022.
Read more
Maan C wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Stayed for 4 days. Very nice hotel room but you need to re train your front desk staff on how to improve customer skills, like being pleasant, attention to details, HOW TO SMILE etc since its a service industry. However, I would like to commend your housekeeping staff for a job well done especially Ms Angel, inspite beng busy cleaning other rooms, she managed to grant my request.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Central Park Reef, General Manager at Central Park Reef Resort
Responded 5 Jan 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for the feedback and for your recent stay. We will remind our staff of the need to be more attentive and pleasant when dealing with the guests. As for smiles, not sure that is possible, given the current requirements to wear a mask 100% of the time. It's definitely hard to see a smile through a mask. As for the comment about Ms. Angel, it is duly noted.
Read more
Trippin2018 wrote a review Nov 2021
144 contributions95 helpful votes
Hotel has tastefully appointed rooms (albeit getting a bit worn and needing TLC) and a great view if you choose one of the full sea view rooms on higher floors. But the positives end there, unfortunately. Room rate of P9000 per night for 2 adults includes only some of what you see in the room -- if you ask for an additional pillow (there are only 2 pancake-like old pillows in the room for 2 adults), you are charged P100 per pillow, if you ask for a cover/blanket, you are charged upwards of P200+, the tiny water bottle (bottled by the hotel, we are not talking branded water bottles here) is free but the normal-sized small bottle is chargeable, and the list continues from there. Front desk staff would benefit from training – they are rude, unresponsive and do not understand they are the face of the hotel when a guest first checks in. If you call the reception from your room, the phone does not get answered or the person answering it pretends they are not the front desk – happened twice and when I asked about this to the front desk, the ladies just giggled as if bringing an elderly guest to the lobby for a simple request is acceptable behavior. Check-in takes more than half an hour per guest as there are several ladies at the front desk but only one of them works, while the other terminals remain vacant. They do offer 20% discount on room rates if room rate and security deposit are paid in cash, and only cash. Payment cannot be made with a debit card or GCash because "they would show on the terminal and people can see"...uhm, who can see? Strange. Wifi worked well the first day but not the second day. But most disconcerting factor for me was the lack of safety measures. Be very careful of COVID-related safety measures if you decide to stay at this hotel -- very hard to find hand sanitizer, even alcohol around the common areas in the hotel, or even at the reception/lobby area. More than 4 people crowd into elevator. I offered to show my vaccine card at check-in (which I thought was a requirement for hotel guests) and I was told "no need" by the senior agent at the front desk. Anybody can walk in without even a temperature check – the most basic of safety measures. There are two small pools in the hotel -- one that is an extension of the lobby and it is crowded in by dining tables for breakfast, lunch; and one on the 6th floor -- again surrounded by dining tables and which operates after 4 pm only – no entry before then, due to staffing shortages. Both extremely loud, with kids splashing in the pool and spraying guests trying to eat nearby. Pool cleanliness is not monitored -- some of the guests were swimming in the sea with their clothes on and then jumping in the pool – it felt more like a river in the neighborhood than a hotel pool. Solo travelling women – be careful about walking out at night, there are "girlie lounges," pawnshops across the hotel, and the clientele they attract. Hotel guests are accosted by vendors at the beach exit and by panhandlers in front of the main exit. Balut sellers start yelling up at the balconies to get guests' attention from 5:30 am and vendors loudly hawking their wares fill the day and early evening. They do have some ramps around the hotel for mobility impaired but they are not very consistently placed for full access.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Central Park Reef, General Manager at Central Park Reef Resort
Responded 30 Nov 2021
Dear Guest, Based on your comments, it seems nothing in the hotel met your satisfaction. I am sorry to hear that. I am really not sure how to address so many complaints so I won't even try....the pool, the beach, the area, etc...what else?. We already have two of the largest swimming pools in the area and the only hotel with a pool located on a rooftop and you still aren't satisfied. I will say that we have taken measures to address the responsiveness of the front desk by installing additional phone lines and adding staff. Hopefully those measures will make a significant improvement. We are obviously never going to satisfy your other requirements so we will leave it at that and not bore the readers with a lengthy reply. I don't think we are the hotel for you. We appreciate the fact that you did give the hotel a try and wish you better stays for your future travels.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$70 - US$87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PhilippinesLuzonCentral Luzon RegionZambales ProvinceOlongapo
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Central Park Reef Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Central Park Reef Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Central Park Reef Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Central Park Reef Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Central Park Reef Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Myleen's Café and Restaurant, Sit-n-Bull, and Mango's Beach Bar and Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Central Park Reef Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.