We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA

Travellers' Choice award winner
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

632 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 456: English reviews
Start your review of Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
 Click to rate
Auckland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The resort was a bit of a maze, with lots of nooks and crannies to explore. We upgraded our room to a bungalow on arrival after discovering that the better room cost very little more. The room was large and modern with a king size bed, a safe, a fridge and air conditioning. When we had problems (blocked toilet, safe...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ScubaJax
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Matahari resort was actually a disappointing stay for us. We came here for diving and at first sight everything looked very cozy and nice. It is for sure a place with character, but the place is pretty run down and it's a champ the management don't spend a few pennies at some small renovations.. We stayed in a basic room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AGadventurous
divetulamben, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this review

We saw your other reviews and it looks like it is hard to make you happy..... Anyway: thank you for stay with us and it would be nice if you have complains to let us know face by face. So we have the chance to change something. By this way: We say thanks a lot to all our guests which...

Sliema, Malta
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As the title says, you won't find a better place to enjoy your stay for the price they offer you. Very nice place, with all you need for relaxing diving holidays. The owner, Suci, and all the staff will do everything to make you feel home and one of them. So, if you are looking for that do not hesitate,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wal T
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited in May four our advanced and rescue courses! The resort is pretty awesome and the staff extremely friendly! Needless to say the course was more than I could expect! Didi is a very meticulous and patient instructor mixing the right amount of fun with seriousness! Marie front eh diving school was very at ear for our needs! And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When we showed up after 4 nights in a hostel, this place initially felt like paradise... however... The good: -The set up of the resort is fun, multilayered with multiple areas to lounge and relax. -The restaurant was cheap and the food was good and we ended up eating all our meals here. -The dive team was a fun group...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pamela L
divetulamben, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this review

We paid you for your short 800.000 RP. The staff was a afraid to talk about the mistake. I made big complain to her already and apoligze for that. About our SPA: we have several rooms for treatment and you have been in the room with aircon. The other rooms are without ac and more nicer. I dont know if...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this hotel is very cheap and based to acomadate divers. dont expect a 4 star hotel . the rooms are very basic and dreary. but you dont come here to stay in the room. the diving is beutiful and there are set up 4 guided dives every day. or you can just dive alone with your buddy. the dive sites...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
Singapore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed on the 20th -24th April 2017. The room given was new, clean and comfortable. There was one major problem. The toilet was drenched in sewage stench that it was hard to breathe when we need to use it. After a few calls to the staff regarding the issue, it was largely ignored, though given an air freshener, it hardly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fieeeee
divetulamben, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this review

I apologize for the problem in the room which is fixed already. After investigate the case about diving I found out that your friend talked about the BCD with my Instructor. He checked the BCD and said this problem can happen. He didn’t want to push the blame to the BCD but he didn’t want to apologize for something what...

Reviewed 19 April 2017

I have been to Tulamben many times and living different resort.I love diving in here.They are have good dive resort,restaurant and clean rooms. They have offer dive package and the c/p value is the best of Tulamben. I very suggest to reference it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hcm12e
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

This was the cheapest of our hotels in Bali and I would say the worst of all of our rooms. We paid just £18 for the night and the room was basic, with the bathroom smelling of sewage. We only stayed one night as we wanted to dive, if I'd been staying longer I would of asked to move. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leigh171172
divetulamben, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this review

Dear Leigh, we are not agree with your comment! Reason: you made introductory diving in Sri Lanka and in Gili Islands and you told us this in advance and you want skip the pool session!!! But for us is "Safety First" and therefore you had to go to the pool for the skills. You managed all well. Therefore the pool...

Reviewed 28 March 2017

Excellent hotel.....this was the first night of our holiday and the hotel organised a car for our family from the hotel. Nothing was a problem. It was great to wake up in morning and walk out to the restaurant looking straight our over the sea and enjoy breakfast. Then back to our room reef shoes on and out for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony J

568 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (547)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (80)
Viewed
Dining (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (244)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulamben
26.7 km away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
164 reviews
25.6 km away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
755 reviews
3.9 km away
Resort Relax Bali
Resort Relax Bali
#5 of 12 in Tulamben
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort
0.3 km away
Tauch Terminal Resort Tulamben & Spa
0.6 km away
Liberty Dive Resort
Liberty Dive Resort
#4 of 12 in Tulamben
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With direct access to the beach, Matahari Tulamben Dive Resort & SPA offers an outdoor pool and a restaurant with stunning ocean views. Free Wifi Hotspot. The Dive Center provides convenient access to the Coral Garden and only 5 minutes walk to the USAT Liberty Wreck. Enjoy relaxing massages and beauty treatments in the lovely SPA.The homely Balinese-style rooms are all with private bathroom and equipped with either air conditioning or a fan. The low cost standard rooms have only cold water.The resort offers free parking, motorbike rental and laundry service as well as a tour desk for trip planning (included climbing).Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at beach restaurant, which serves appetising Seafood, Balinese Specialities, Indonesian and International cuisine.Transfer time from Ngurah Rai International Airport to Tulamben is 2,5 hrs and is available for a fee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA

Address: Jl. Kubu-Abang, Tulamben 80853, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Price Range: €15 - €112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Tulamben Hotel Tulamben
Matahari Hotel Tulamben
Matahari Tulamben Hotel Bali
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA Bali
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tulamben
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulamben
#6 Family Hotel in Tulamben
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We chose a bungalow room, which was closer to the sea and the restaurant, and away from the main road.”
ScubaJax, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe room but not next to the road”
Walteraraoz, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“I'd recommend the room I stayed only if the smell was fixed.”
Fieeeee, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had the two story room.....stair were very steep to the upstairs room.”
19tonyj, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you go for a dive, come earlier in the morning with more calm water and excellent visibility.”
FerdyFerdian, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$21* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$21
Hostelworld.comUS$23
PricelineUS$21
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates