We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

NH Cape Town The Lord Charles

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
See the most recent reviews
Showing 186: English reviews
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We had a wonderful trip and the highlight was staying at the Lord Charles. This was not our first time staying there and it certainly will not be our last. The hotel was clean, comfortable and very accomodating. The genuine warmth, friendliness and care of the staff and their attention to small details makes this one hotel that I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank LvE66
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your first stay with us here at NH The Lord Charles Hotel. Thank you for your great review on the cleanliness of the rooms, the warmth and friendliness of the staff. We always go above and beyond to create an exceptional experience to our guest. We will also make... More 

Bradford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We last stayed at the Lord Charles last January and have returned again as we enjoyed it so much. In the last year the public areas and the buffet restaurant have been completely changed and refurbished. Some of the rooms have also been modernized and changed and we were lucky enough to get such a room. The staff are so... More 

Helpful?
Thank CaroleBradford
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Carole Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us here at NH The Lord Charles Hotel. We are delighted to read that you had such a pleasant stay. We will be sure to pass on your thanks to the rest of the staff to make their hard work worth while. We pride ourselves... More 

Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Service was excellent very friendly nice rooms extensive breakfast nice Hotel in the City Concierge was always strived to give the best offer Restaurant with good offer and fine southafrican wines i will come again

Helpful?
Thank Anton_Laucher
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Anton, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review. It is with great pleasure that we read about your enjoyable stay. Our concierge indeed goes out of the way for all of our guests, which is something we are very proud of. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Warmest regards,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2016

We spent a whole month at this amazing hotel for the 8th year running. Everything was great. The management and staff were so caring and nothing was too much trouble. Service was excellent. Christmas and New Year were splendidly catered and each occasion had a good atmosphere. We are looking forward to returning at the end of the year.

Helpful?
Thank finchley2014
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review. We are very happy to hear that you are coming back to the hotel over and over again! Our Christmas and New Years events are definitely something we are proud of and we are happy that you enjoyed it so much. Looking forward to welcoming... More 

Boyle, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2016

It's been a few years since I last stayed at The Lord Charles and I used to be a regular business traveller there. This time was purely for vacation and how lovely to still see many familiar faces still working there. Always a good sign in my book. The lobby are is totally refreshed, bright and spacious with lovely seating... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank M
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Frank, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this extensive and positive review. It is with great pleasure that I hear that you are a content returning guest. Moreover, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay both as an business traveller as well as a leisure guest. We are also very satisfied with... More 

1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

My experience in capetown was absolutely thrilling and the service at NH hotel lord Charles was fantastic and the service given by Winifred from swift and Angeley Basson they were super excellent. Also Michael dobie was very excellent as well ill defenitly come again 😀😀

Helpful?
Thank andykm2016
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Andy, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you also for mentioning the names of the staff, we will make sure that they get your compliments. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Warmest regards, Daniel Méndez, Hotel Director More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2016

We stayed here for 10 days over new year and were largely happy with our stay. The only down side is the service around the pool and 19th hole bar. Around the pool I think it depends on who is working / managing as to how quickly you are served - if at all. Their much vaunted 19th hole bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank nickjulia2016
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Our TripAdvisor comments are from huge value and it is therefore always made sure that all the staff, and especially management, is aware of what is mentioned. I am very sorry to hear that the service at the top pool and in the bar was not... More 

Bingley,UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2016

We have just spent four nights at this hotel, our fourth visit in the last six years. Since we were last there in 2014, they have completed a huge refurbishment of the hotel and it looks delightful, particularly the reception area and the dining room. As far as I am aware, all or most of the rooms have been decorated... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AlistairCoy
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this extensive and positive review. It is with great pleasure that I hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us. Please be advised that we do offer extra luggage racks for guests that are staying with us for a bit longer. Thank you so much for... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2016

I was quite disappointed with the condition of the room (6008) I was allocated to at the Lord Charles during a recent business trip. Upon entering the room, I was hit by a mouldy- off putting smell, that lingered in the room. I call reception to report the room and requested to exchange my room for an alternative one, particularly,... More 

Helpful?
Thank moyanamatilda
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected and that the solutions taken were not sufficient. Unfortunately, we were unable to accommodate you to another room, as we were fully booked as my colleague explained. The manager on duty did report... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

My parents and I stayed at the Lord Charles over new year for two weeks. It was our first trip to Cape Town, partly to watch England at Newlands for five days and partly to travel in and around Cape Town for the remainder of our trip. We were met at the airport by a driver whom the hotel had... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SairaAnna
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this extensive review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It is always good to see that guests are having a great time at our property and that our employees are helping to create this experience. We will pass on the... More 

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
36.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
37.0 km away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
5.9 km away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
88 reviews
5.0 km away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
181 reviews
35.1 km away
African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles hotel in Cape Town is nestled between the wine country of the Cape, the Helderberg Mountains and False Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about NH Cape Town The Lord Charles

Address: Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range: €100 - €166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Cape Town The Lord Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your NH Cape Town The Lord Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh The Lord Charles Hotel Somerset West
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles Somerset West, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from NH Cape Town The Lord Charles staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
10 hours ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from NH Cape Town The Lord Charles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in the spacious family room and would highly recommend it”
 of 5 bubbles andycamphausen, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I only had a shower in my room, but I understand that baths are available if wanted.”
 of 5 bubbles alicerosser, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had one of the rooms far away from reception but I'd take it again.”
 of 5 bubbles forbusinesstravel, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Always ask for the top floor wing by the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles eliasliedeman, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor rooms have better view of the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles 308rumbidzaim, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay