We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 298: English reviews
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Management/Owner needs to get a grip of this place! Followed sign to Reception - but door locked and retraced steps to upper level where I was "greeted" by waiting staff adjacent to kitchen from which loud pop music emanated- presumably for the benefit of the staff Room was basic and "tired".Light in shower didn't work and no surprise from staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffreyc806
GeirTellefsen, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you had such a bad experience at Rosendal. We have unfortunately had some staff walking out of us in the middle of the season, making it difficult to be 100% as we are known to be. The good news is that we had new staff starting this week, and we feel that we are back...

Hilversum, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Good and friendly staff and reasonably good kitchen. However the place clearly needs an upgrade as it is looking more and more worn and torn compared to earlier visits. Besides that with 30 Celsius you do need an air-co for a good night's sleep. The wellness treatment however made my day again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lex195
GeirTellefsen, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your visits and your kind comments. We do have a scheduled upgrade over the next 12 months, and we are certain that you will feel a difference when you come back next time. We look forward to see you soon again!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We visited Rosendal Winery for the first time January 2016. We found the accommodation basic but very comfortable. We recommend you have a meal there as the Chef is outstanding the meals we had were of extremely high standard, mouth watering and very memorable. We were also lucky enough to experience a massage there which was once again of high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 87pat
GeirTellefsen, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your visit and nice comments about Rosendal. We do our best to maintain high standards through our establishment, and we are happy that you found everything to your liking. We hope to see you at the farm soon again!

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016

The location and setting was good but the room discribed as superior was not as expected since it was small and lacked a fridge and also air.con and in 40deg plus the fan could not keep the room cool. On the plus side the food and staff were excellent and especially the free wine tasting which was very informative and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaretsB4017IK
GeirTellefsen, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your visit and your kind comments. I am a bit surprised that you found our superior room small (they are called Spa Suites at Rosendal), and I am afraid that you were checked into a farm room instead, which are smaller. If this was the case, please do not hessitate to contact us and we...

Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

The Rosendal Winery is not easy to find, but as soon as we arrived, we had a some relaxing days, enjoyed good food, the nice pool area and the birds singing in the morning. The sunsets have been spectacular. Some buildings are quite old and the service is simple, the staff really fruendly and helpful. We loved it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregor A
GeirTellefsen, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind visit and kind words. We do try our best to continually deliver consistent high quality and it seems like you had a great experience. We hope to see you soon back at the farm!

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2016

We stayed here 2 nights in Feb 2016. We thought it could have been a fantastic hotel, but it fell well short. The things we liked: The beautiful,setting, off a quiet road (tarred not dirt track) with great mountain views and 10 mins or so drive to Robertson The staff were friendly (as everywhere in SA) The Manor House is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Townsiders
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 February 2016

We were doing a raod trip araound the breede vally and stopped of at this wine farm for tasting, ther service is excellent and the wines are to die for there Merlot is the best of the reds and the the savighnBlanc of the whites chilled is the best. Difinite stop of here if youthe area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle W
GeirTellefsen, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for stopping by and your kind words.

Liverpool
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Stunningly situated with views across the fields and towards the mountains this place is a real gem. We did the romantic 2 night package which was lovely. The boat trip and massage included were great. Also a lovely place for walks and Robertson is only a short drive away. Breakfasts were wonderful overlooking the small lake and reeds which attracted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob+Diane
GeirTellefsen, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice words about your stay at Rosendal. We are steadily getting closer to be allocated more capacity of electricity, as soon as this is in place we will install a/c in our rooms. We hope to see you at the farm soon again!

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 28 January 2016

This resort is off the beaten track, but is so worth it! The drive through the picturesque wine country makes it quite enjoyable. The entire staff is very friendly and attentive. The food served is delicious! We book the spa room, which is totally worth it. It includes breakfast and dinner. We also were treated to a lunch river cruise,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank butler46203
GeirTellefsen, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to see you at the farm soon again!

Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 days here and found the Hotel very relaxing perhaps a little rustic and if really hot air conditioning in the bed rooms would be needed. The staff are charming and couldn't be more helpful. I had a foot massage and pedicure brilliant!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARIAN J
GeirTellefsen, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Marian. Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to see you soon again!

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
3:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertson
12.4 km away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
460 reviews
12.8 km away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
72 reviews
19.4 km away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 24 in Robertson
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 24 in Robertson
409 reviews
9.4 km away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
6.3 km away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 24 in Robertson
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rosendal wine farm has a four star wellness retreat with accommodation, spa and a french country restaurant by day and fine dining by night.The facilities are located on the Rosendal Winery farm just outside Robertson in the Western Cape.We offer five spa suites, three farm rooms and one family room. All with en-suite bathrooms, private patio and facilities you would expect to find in a four star establishment.The Thervine-focued spa has three separate treatment rooms with qualified spa therapists. We specialize in treatments based on the skin and pit of a wine grapes, high in antioxidants.The property also hold a fantastic rim-flow swimming pool with bar service steam room, a wine tasting area, a private tasting area in the cellar on request of staying guests.Our farm offer wine tasting for free from our wide range of red and white wines. Together with Lindt we also offer a wine and chocolate tasting. The restaurant by David Godin, a michelin awarded chef, serve french inspired country food. Lunches are lighter while the restaurant are transferred into fine dining by night. Our signature 5 course meal with wine pairing is a high light for most visitors.Activities in the area include more than 50 wine farms in the area, mountain biking, game drives, river cruise, art and craft and exciting cuisine. The farm got new management and chef in May 2012. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat

Address: Klaasvoogds West | The Rosendal Wine Farm, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Price Range: €100 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are only a few rooms so you can't go wrong. All face the view and all are 2-15m fro m the pool”
 of 5 bubbles AllAboutTheFoodAls, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I believe they are adding more rooms in the future”
 of 5 bubbles watch12015, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Spa rooms nearer the pool so may be noisier”
 of 5 bubbles Townsiders, 12 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 6-8 are further away from the pool and you don't have other guests walking past in front of them so even more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles joods27, 16 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All have a great view overlooking the pool....”
 of 5 bubbles FrankH698, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay