We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hout Bay Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hout Bay Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hout Bay Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 132: English reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 26 June 2016

I felt really comfortable and was happy that I've chosen this backpackers. It's a small backpackers but it feels like being in a family because everybody knows each other. I always had really nice conversations with the other people in the lounge. Everything is really clean and I never had something to complain about. I would recommend this backpackers to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtrenner96
Sarah G, Manager at Hout Bay Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks Maike for your review, hope you visit us again!

Oudtshoorn
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We stayed in the family room for one night,including granny and niece and we were all very impressed with the high standard of this hostel.Even though the wind howled outside everything inside was perfect.I definately recommend this hostel to anyone wanting to stay in the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariusWilken
Sarah G, Manager at Hout Bay Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Marius and family, hope you stay a bit longer next time! and thank you for lovely review.

Tranas, Sweden
Reviewed 30 May 2016

I stayed for 3 weeks and had a great time here. Perfect location, nearby everything you need in Hout Bay and also obviously at a comfortably short distance to Cape Town. Friendly staff, good facilities and a nice atmosphere overall. Beautiful view of the bay with the beach and the surrounding mountains. Awesome to be able to park my rental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindenjohan
Sarah G, Manager at Hout Bay Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Johan, Thank you for your review and we hope to see you back here soon! Cheers Sarah

Monster, The Netherlands
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We stayed with our two sons, 7 and 13 years old and had a super time! 4 nights was too short! Location super, market, hop on hop off bus nearby, harbour, Staff very helpful and friendly!! Excellent room, clean, comfortable and spacious and trendy. Safe place, The best place we have been staying in in South Africa!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francis_schinkel
Sarah G, Manager at Hout Bay Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon, Molly will be waiting for you with her ball!

Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

The place was very nice, everything prepared and they even did our laundry that was so great. Will definetly visit the place soon. The view was spectacular and the fact that its closer to the beach. It's also secured and we felt safe. It's really a place to go and enjoy some time away from the rush of the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tulisa M
Robertson, South Africa
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Hout Bay Backpackers is super comfy with lovely luxury linens and excellent facilities. Beautiful location and very convenient withing walking distance from beach, lovely restaurants, etc. Thank you Sarah for your wonderful hospitality and also helping us out when our vehicle broke down - definitely going the extra mile... We will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marie1357
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Had a great stay here! Stayed with my parents who came to visit me in SA. It was very clean! We had quite a bit of a sandstorm when we were there and we were surprised every day how good they cleaned our room and tried to get most of the sand out. We felt at home here. The communal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy880211
Brakpan, South Africa
Reviewed 8 March 2016

What a surprise this was . We booked the family with the double bed and two bunk beds . This room was spacious with a wonderful view over houtbay . This room has its own spacious bathroom . I will recommend this place to anyone . The staff is very helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanus777
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Three of us stayed for two nights in one of the 4 bunk bedrooms. The beds were comfortable, towels and bedding were provided. All was neat and clean. The room had an ensuite bathroom and the cupboards were equipped with clothes hangers.The room was a bit stuffy at night even though a fan was provided. It did help when the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl968
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2016

The enterprise is well run.The staff are very friendly and helpful.Rooms are clean and well serviced well worth a visit.Literally on the beach with easy access to amenities and the vibrant Hout Bay Harbour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francois208

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
1.1 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
2.7 km away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
408 reviews
1.0 km away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
262 reviews
7.1 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 km away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 61 in Hout Bay
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hout Bay Backpacker Lodge is situated a stone's throw away from Hout Bay Beach with uninterrupted views of beach, habour and the majestic Chapman's Peak. The Lodge is quiet and comfortable, just 20 minutes from Cape Town and on the public transport route. Our hostel suits budget travelers wanting to experience Hout Bay (restaurants, harbour, beach, Seal Island, World of Birds, etc), discerning backpackers requiring a base from which to hike Table Mountain National Park, bike Chapman's Peak, surf Llandudno and travelers interested in township tours and meeting volunteers working on community development projects.The dormitories all have en-suite bathrooms, sleeping a maximum of 6 people per dorm, we also have 4 en suite private rooms and the communal lounge area has DSTV and a large fireplace. Knowledgable staff are on hand to advise and assist in planning a vast range of activities for you, including: surfing, fishing, diving, sailing, hiking trails, top restaurants, wine and township tours, pubs and if that's not enough, there's loads of live entertainment!Loc al volunteer and language courses are also available. Dune's Lodge, Hout Bayis a 3 star lodge run together with Hout Bay Backpackers and comprises of 4 luxury en-suite rooms with DSTV and tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms lead out on to a private wooden deck with views of Hout Bay beach, habour and the majestic Chapman's Peak. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hout Bay Backpackers

Address: Corner of Harbour and, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Price Range: €13 - €15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hout Bay Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hout Bay Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Tip: Splurge for a single or double room, comfortable and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles markn611, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor rooms have the better views, of course”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“for families the family room!!”
 of 5 bubbles francis_schinkel, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the top floor have a nice view over the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles Amy880211, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Chose a room with one of the decks stunning sunrise and views”
 of 5 bubbles francois208, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5