We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Fontaine Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
La Fontaine Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Fontaine Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 262: English reviews
Umea, Sweden
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Once again back at La Fontaine. The service and the good people running La Fountaine Guest House made us come back. The hostess also helped us to book dinners in town as that can be a problem especially during the high season. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dalle_villanas
MurrayFranschhoek, Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

It is such a pleasure to welcome back returning guests and to see familiar faces. Even though you have returned to us once more, we will always ensure that you get the same friendly, helpful service which you deserve. Until next time! Warm wishes, Kathie and the La Fontaine Team

Libreville, Gabon
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I loved this B&B. The proprietor was VERY friendly and extraordinarily accommodating. My schedule was very inconvenient for them but she made it work and cooked me a breakfast to go to boot! The room was very nice and very clean and there are all sort of little bits and bobs to explore around the house. I would recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff B
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We pride ourselves in providing the best possible service to make you feel completely at home and relaxed. One guest wrote "if hospitality is an art, then you all definitely are great artists!" - a great compliment to my team. We hope that you will return to La Fontaine with friends and family...

Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at La Fontaine for just one night on our trip from Cape Town down to PE. On arrival we found they had a problem with the room. But there was no issue and no fuss as we headed out for lunch. When we came back, all was sorted and we had a nice garden suite room overlooking the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuart_Goble
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Stuart It was quite a challenge to find a restaurant on New Year's Eve! My advice to anyone staying in Franschhoek over Christmas and New Year is to ask us to pre-book restaurants. Fortunately we were able to sort out the burst geyser quickly with no damage to the ceiling and the carpeting in your room! Good wishes for...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This place is truly one of the most beautiful places we have been to in South Africa. The houses and the decor and all the small things they have done is just making everything so comfortable and relaxing. The staff is extremely helpful. The place is quiet. They have all kinds of stuff to make your stay perfect like a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Henning K
MurrayFranschhoek, Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We at La Fontaine strive to create a "home from home" atmosphere but on a professional basis. Although our positioning is within a short walking distance to the town, it is extremely quiet and we have created gardens which attract the sugar birds and sometimes the neighbours cats!! We look forward to welcoming you back...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at la fontaine just One night. The house is really nice, an ancient atmosphere, center city posituined in a very nice village. The room was comfortable,big bed and loads of pillowes. Our room was not very well fornitured: oldish stuff and the bathroom was a bit poor,not very coordinated accessories but however cleaned. The temperature was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank solecheride79
MurrayFranschhoek, Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All our rooms are decorated differently to create a homely atmosphere and in keeping with the style of the house. All the garden rooms have fireplaces to keep the rooms warm and cosy. Good wishes for the New Year. Kathie

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for 3 nights in main house which is beautiful classic style, well maintained and in good location from main eating area of Franschhoek. Breakfast also very nice and staff helpful. All in all a good choice to stay. Even met an Ex Springbok whilst staying :-)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JimClarkeManchester
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Jim Thank you for your review. I thoroughly enjoyed your interesting discussions about your work. I hope you were able to unwind even though you had to do work but at least there was plenty of sunshine and tranquil surroundings. The former Springboks broken leg has mended well and he has started to walk on it - time to...

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 9 December 2013

What a nice place to stay at. Committed and serviceoriented staff, nice location / rooms and superb breakfast buffé. Lot's of help to find and book restaurants, golfcourse and other tip for exploring the Franschhoek valley. We felt like being a part of family. This was our first visit in South Africa and all staff made it memorable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike H
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Mike Thank you for your review. We are pleased that the La Fontaine team were able to make your stay a memorable one and I am sure it won't be your last one! Happy New Year may 2014 be a good one for you. Kathie

Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a perfect situated and lovely guesthouse in the middle of Franschhoek. Kathy and her "crew" made our stay super. We stayed in one of the small houses in the garden which was perfect for us, close to the pool and the beautiful garden surronding it. Our day just lasted for 3 nights, much to short, but we will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samatnil
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Franschhoek is the perfect location to depart from the hectic cycle of life we all lead to enjoy its beauty and peace. We look forward to welcoming you back to La Fontaine on your next visit to South Africa where you can unwind and enjoy the fruits of life! Warm wishes, Kathie

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights in La Fontaine in November 2013. La Fontaine is located in a quiet road, seconds from the centre of Franschhoek with a first class restaurant, La Bon Vivant, just across the road. On arrival we were given a very friendly welcome. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our room was at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LandB32
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive review. We appreciate every good comment which encourages the La Fontaine Team to aim to greater heights to make your stay with us a memorable one.

UK
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here and found everything wonderful. The added value comes from the helpfulness of the owners and Dawn, Assistant Manager. Breakfast is amazing, set in a beautiful garden surrounds by flowers in a tranquil setting. 100% satisfied guests, thank you Carol and Boz

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UkBoz
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

The La Fontaine Team are fortunate to have lived in the Franschhoek area for +- 30 years and therefore know the area intimately. We serve as a mini information bureau!! Thank you for those wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again to La Fontaine. Warm wishes, Kathie,Richard + Dawn

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.4 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.9 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.4 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 65 in Franschhoek
487 reviews
0.4 km away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 65 in Franschhoek
529 reviews
0.2 km away
de Alchemist Guesthouse
de Alchemist Guesthouse
#14 of 65 in Franschhoek
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Fontaine welcomes you into the heart of Franschhoek (1 hour drive from Cape Town International airport). Experience country hospitality in this gracious, centrally situated home with spectacular mountain views. We offer fourteen double rooms en-suite; five upstairs in the main house, one downstairs; four garden suites, one of which is suitable for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. These garden suites have their own entrances, patios, wood burning fireplaces, DSTV, fridges, air cons. In our adjacent Victorian building we offer 3 double rooms en-suite, one of which is wheelchair friendly and a garden suite which is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 small children. The Victorian home, Campbell House, can be hired out in its entirety for a family group. Within walking distance to restaurants, galleries and shops. Children welcome in the family units only. Wheelchair friendly. Off-street and secure parking. Free Wifi. Wine tasting, hiking, horse riding, fly fishing, golf, tennis all nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Address: 21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: €85 - €174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fontaine Guest House Hotel Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Fontaine Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a rear or garden room as o The street can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles peter7685, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 was quiet and spacious. The orange garden room is perfect for a family.”
 of 5 bubbles 202dianal, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“the bacon at breakfast is excellent!”
 of 5 bubbles Warren278, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Lavender or Vine are both outside of the main house, and very comfortable and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles jackies609, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Wheelchair accessible room in Campbell - House.”
  • Plenty of space for two wheelchairs and easy access to the kettle.
  • Adjustable shower seat which I did not test.
  • Easy access to the toilet with grab rail.
  • No wheelchair access under vanity basin, but manageable if one sits side on.
  • Bathroom big enough for a party!
 of 5 bubbles 305Heidi, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay