We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mont Rochelle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mont Rochelle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

433 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 380: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We were lucky enough to arrive here in the middle of a clear summer's day on 3rd January. It was a beautiful sight and we had a great welcome. We were early so we left our luggage and walked into Franschhoek to have a look around and have lunch before returning to our room. The room was a Merlot Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a picnic at Mont Rochelle as part of the wine tram experience. The venue is lovely and the food was great however the staff were terrible. No-one greeted you, no-one tried to assist, it took forever trying to get someone's attention so we could collect our picnic baskets. And once we finally did the man hardly had time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 760jennifer
Petersfield
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We moved here from another hotel locally as part of our honeymoon. Our welcome was outstanding and we were shown to a great room that was very spacious and included a separate sitting area and great views over the mountains and vineyards. The bed was comfortable and we had all the amenities you could want. The bathroom featured a large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PetersfieldChummers
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear PetersfieldChummers, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us following your recent stay at Mont Rochelle. Whilst it was wonderful to hear that you received such a warm welcome I was sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay fell short of your expectations. I would like to reassure you that your...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Fantastic personalised service from start to finish. Food is out of this world. Hotel will run you to Franschhoek for a small fee. Worth pre booking the private wine tour as this was excellent. Well worth a room upgrade (it’s not a huge amount more) to a Merlot or a Cabernet for guaranteed wow factor. Pool area is lovely.. the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrisstore
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Chrisstore, We were delighted by your utterly amazing review and so wanted to thank you for sharing such wonderful words with us. The entire team were over the moon to hear your lovely compliments and how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for recommending us; we hope that means we’ll be able to welcome you back one day...

Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Mont Rochelle is set on a hillside with a fantastic view over Franschhoek yet it is close to the town. The facilities are splendid with an excellent restaurant and delightful rooms. We stayed in a Cabernet room which was particularly well appointed and had a very private verandah on which to relax. in addition it came with a free minibar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Alexander D, Wow where to begin? Thank you so much for your amazing review! The entire team were delighted to hear your kind comments about the facilities, food and service and you had us blushing when we heard that you felt Mont Rochelle was one of the best hotels in Franschhoek. The best part of your review was hearing...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is possible that the hotel experienced a lack of staff or something to account for poor reviews during the New Years period. We recently stayed as a couple in the pinotage suite which was absolutely excellent. The staff were prompt, welcoming and responsive, the food at the restaurant was excellent (we compared to Petit Ferme and actually thought our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B H
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear B H, It is always such a pleasure to read positive feedback and we really appreciate you taking the time to share such a lovely review. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would definitely recommend us; it truly does mean such a great deal so thank you. What we loved most about...

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's my first time in the Winelands, so unlike some other reviewers I have nothing to compare Mont Rochelle against. The location, views and property are stunning. We had a Pinotage suite which was beautifully appointed and very spacious. On the first night we ate at Miko, which we really enjoyed. Both the salmon and springbok were delicious. Onto the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CH0pps
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear CH0pps, Whilst it was a pleasure to welcome you and your partner to Mont Rochelle and to hear that you felt the location, views and property were stunning, I was disappointed to hear that some elements of your stay did not live up to your expectations. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to chat to you further about...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just returned from our South African Christmas trip 2016. We stayed in various hotels which were beyond fabulous and we were were very much looking forward to staying at Mont Rochelle however we were very let down indeed! Our room was rarely cleaned with most days I had to call at 4pm in the afternoon to have it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

I was very sorry to hear of your recent experience at Mont Rochelle and that we sadly fell short of your expectations and you left us feeling let down. I would like to assure you that we really value the feedback you have taken the time to share with us and it has been passed on to the relevant teams...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located in a beautiful valley with spectacular views of the mountains and numerous vineyards. We chose the hotel because of its association with Richard Branson and Virgin brand. It was nice, but it did not entirely deliver on its promise of superior service and accommodation. I contacted their concierge prior to our arrival to understand transport options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pat181
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear pat181, Whilst it was an absolute pleasure to hear that you thought our location was beautiful and that you enjoyed using our gym and pool, I was very sorry to hear that other elements of your stay did not live up to your expectations. I would really appreciate the opportunity to chat to you further about your visit, and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As the second part of our trip to South Africa we were really looking forward to our visit to the wine lands and this particular hotel. I will start by saying that the hotel is beautiful, The setting stunning and the environment excellent. Added to this our room (Pinotage Suite) was beautiful. The staff all seem to be happy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craige1959
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Craige1959 Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us following your recent stay at Mont Rochelle. Whilst it was fantastic to hear that you felt the hotel and your room were beautiful, I was disappointed to hear that the food and service in our restaurant did not live up to your expectations. I would...

291 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (286)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Other (145)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 km away
La Residence
La Residence
#4 of 11 in Franschhoek
260 reviews
1.9 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.5 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
492 reviews
2.1 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
575 reviews
1.3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: €234 - €750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mont Rochelle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Cabernet rooms in the Vinyard Wing are quiet and well appointed with excellent views”
  • View over Franschhoek
  • Cabernet room in the Vinyard Wing
  • You need not be alone in your bath
 of 5 bubbles AlexanderD398, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The suite was spacious and facilities were excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 715bh, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had one of the Merlot rooms on the first floor. Wonderful views, quiet, fantastic bed. We would think all the rooms are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles StAlbansExplorer, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I suspect rooms on the first floor have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles UKWarwickTraveller, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles tonywilson53, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay