We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mont Rochelle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mont Rochelle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 397: English reviews
Start your review of Mont Rochelle
 Click to rate
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

stayed at Mont Rochelle for first time this month. We visit S Africa every year and this is up there with the best . Wonderful ambience. Relaxed and friendly and coped amazingly with our difficult dietary requirements. Even produced a bottle of kosher wine! Rooms to die for an impeccable service, Can"t wait to return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melstein13
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We drove the short distance from Cape Town after spending 6 nights there. We booked Mont Rochelle for 2 nights to start our Garden Route Adventure with a bang. The property is beautiful and superbly maintained with 360" spectacular views. Our room was a Cabernet room. 5*luxury. Very modern open plan area with such a comfortable bed. We booked B&B...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Geoff T, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Whilst it was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us so much, I was sorry to hear that the service during your dinner did not live up to your expectations. This certainly is not the impression that we...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a family group of 4 staying in the Cap Classique and Cabernet Rooms respectively, my only issue was we only stayed for 2 nights! This is Heaven on Earth with views to die for, excellent staff, beautiful accommodation and nothing being too much! Return again?......in a heartbeat!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun G
London UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights in a Merlot room in Sept - the whole experience was great- the rooms are stunning with lovely views- really enjoyed the bar and restaurant ambience - we used the free shuttle into town and got a cheap cab back although you can walk- Franschhoek is lovely town and has a great vibe- we did wine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marty99
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear marty99, Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely words about your stay at Mont Rochelle, we were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the whole experience. We hope that we are able to tempt you back as we would love to see you again one day soon. Kind Regards, James Basson General Manager gm@montrochelle.virgin.com

KESWICK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed the wine tasting and canapés we had, especially the ostrich. However we were showed into a courtyard for the tasting which was rather cramped and had little view. We asked about the other areas, but were told that where we were put is for the tastings. A shame.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewart_Tauber
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Stewart_Tauber, Whilst it was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your wine and canapés, I was sorry to hear that the location did not live up to your expectations. I very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you to Mont Rochelle again one day, and if you would like to come back for another visit then please...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've been lucky enough to have visited some great hotels in some lovely locations over the years, but this one takes some beating! From the moment you arrive and welcomed with a chilled glass of wine, you see the stunning views and then shown to your fabulous room, you just know you made the right choice. Basically I cannot rate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiddleAgedFromMids
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear MiddleAgedFromMids, We think we were the lucky ones to be able to welcome such lovely guests, thank you for coming to see us! The entire team were beaming from ear to ear when we heard your kind words and Peter and I were so touched by your wonderful personal mentions; it truly means the world to us so thank...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful staff, amazing views and exceptional service. Could not have asked for any more. Absolutely nothing to complain about. Highly recommended. We went there on our honeymoon, and the staff did their utmost to make it special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karan P
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recovering from a bereavement and horrible UK chest flu this was the best possible rest and retreat location. I cannot sing my praises for this venue loud enough. The staff were attentive without being obsequious and basically seemed genuinely concerned that I should have the best possible time. To wake up to exquisite mountain views, the sounds of beautiful birds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SallyE_12
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear SallyE_12, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We were very sorry to hear of your bereavement and that you had been feeling unwell, and so we were deeply touched to hear that we were able to go some way to help you feel a little better. Our team were overjoyed to...

Tadley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful small hotel. From the minute you arrive you are treated like royalty. The staff can't do enough for you. The restaurant serves some wonderful and creative meals with an excellent selection of wines. The staff are very attentive and service good which is quite rare in South Africa even in good restaurants. We went for the wine tasting and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve D
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Steve D, It was such a treat to welcome you to Mont Rochelle so thank you for coming to see us! We loved reading your wonderful review, and we all shared a smile to hear that you felt as though you were treated like royalty as we always like to think of our guests as kings and queens! Our...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked this as part of Virgin’s Winelands and Wildlife package, staying at Ulusaba (see separate review) in Kruger for 5 nights then on to Mont Rochelle for 3 nights.. Having experienced Ulusaba’s amazing hospitality on previous trips we knew what to expect there, but we were worried looking at some of the reviews of Mont Rochelle around that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank StuJen_13
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear StuJen_13, I was very sorry to hear that your stay at Mont Rochelle fell short of your expectations and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback. I would like to assure you that your comments have been passed on to the relevant teams to help us improve in the future. It...

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (304)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Other (163)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.5 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 km away
La Residence
La Residence
#4 of 11 in Franschhoek
265 reviews
1.9 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
505 reviews
1.3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
131 reviews
1.3 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: €312 - €932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mont Rochelle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“suspect there are no bad rooms”
 of 5 bubbles melstein13, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best Views”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hard to say as far as we are concerned every room that we saw had many advantages. Views great everywhere.”
 of 5 bubbles SallyE_12, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Cabernet rooms in the Vinyard Wing are quiet and well appointed with excellent views”
  • View over Franschhoek
  • Cabernet room in the Vinyard Wing
  • You need not be alone in your bath
 of 5 bubbles AlexanderD398, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The suite was spacious and facilities were excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 715bh, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5