We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Corner House

Certificate of Excellence
17/07/2017 18/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Corner House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 279: English reviews
Start your review of The Corner House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service, quiet and peaceful, but minutes away from the action! Local visitors must take note there is no TV or AC. Clothing storage space for longer visits inadequate. Ceiling fan only, combined with duvet (no sheets, blankets) makes for uncomfortable sleep - either too hot or get chilled by the fan.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgeW9061SX
Michaela J, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback and most important for your visit for 6 days. We enjoyed having you as our guests. We do not advertise having TVs and in fact encourage it as a quiet guesthouse for relaxation, however I see that for a long stay like yours that you may want a TV. Usually our guests stay...

Belle Vue
Reviewed 1 week ago

The corner house was exactly what we needed as a family with a 2 years old kid. The place was well situated - comfortable rooms, welcoming staff, quite neighborhood and a stunning breakfast for a perfect start.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabrice B
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at The Corner House. Michaela was a superb hostess who could not do enough for us or our little boy. It was fantastic to stay in such a child friendly environment where we did not feel like he was an imposition. When we told Michaela that we would be dining at Foliage one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thehungrytraveller10
Michaela J, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback. It means the world to us. I have shared it also with Maureen. We hope to welcome you and your lovely family back again.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was beautiful, clean and extremely comfortable. The ceiling fan was a blessing! THANK YOU! The shower could do with a good scrub with bleach, a bit disappointing compared to the rest of the room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesleycH8890RQ
Michaela J, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Dear Lesley, many thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and more efforts are put in place to clean our showers. Please note that we do not use bleach as we are a family friendly guesthouse and do not want to expose children to it. However we have a very effective cleaning product which...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mikhaela is a lovely hostess an eye for detail. The Corner House is centrally located and within walking distance to shops, restaurants and museum. The rooms are clean, tastefully decorated and we were so surprised with all the smaller details and room amenities. Breakfast was superb! I would recommend The Corner House to couples and families alike.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank taniacY3452IX
Michaela J, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Dear Tania, many thanks for your review. We would be delighted to welcome you back again. Michaela

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a 2 day stay and we were very pleased with the service, size of our room and breakfast options. This is a great guesthouse for those looking for a small and homey place. Our room was very tastefully decorated and had all the amenities of a hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank myr972
Michaela J, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again.

Frankfurt
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Corner house is one of the few in Franschoek with child-friendly service and the host is very attentive. The house is beautifully renovated and decorated and they serve an excellent home-made breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanneh553
Michaela J, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate it greatly.

Beersheba, Israel
Reviewed 14 April 2017

The corner house was a megical little place, the perfect rooms and the very very lovely house owner welcome us, and made us fell at home. The breakfast was special and unique, and every single detail counts.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank noams922
Michaela J, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words, we are please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Saint Francis Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Great vibe all the time and Michaela was simply fantastic. I would certainly stay there again and would recommend to any of my friends. Perhaps there could have been better cupboard facilities in our room and the parking situation was not all that convenient.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 12basilc
Michaela J, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Dear Basil, many thanks for your lovely feedback. We would be delighted to welcome you again. We are a guesthouse after all with parking for a house and not a hotel, but will take your feedback for ways of improvement and thank you.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Lovely property. Michaela is very welcoming and accommodating. I arrived earlier than check-in so I could catch the wine tram. She allowed me to check in when I arrived which was very helpful. The property is very quite and my room was charming. Town is just a short walk away. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank damox
Michaela J, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Dear Diane, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be delighted to welcome you back. Regards Michaela

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
17/07/2017 18/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.2 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 km away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
556 reviews
1.4 km away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
0.4 km away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 63 in Franschhoek
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A small, 6 rooms, quiet guest house with a sparkling pool and veranda. Some rooms have private entrance. Kids are welcome. 5 minutes walk of the main street with its many award winning restaurants. Eat, sleep and drink in the food capital of South Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Corner House

Address: 5 Unie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: €56 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Corner House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
cape Town
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Corner House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call ahead for reservation.”
navyman2016, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in a luxury room which had it's own log fire. Brilliant!”
broonie30, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is one bigger room that is much nicer then the other small rooms.”
KarinN852, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Annex yellow bedroom overlooking the front garden has the best views. Garden room is larger with bath and courtyard garden.”
69trisha, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“For overnighting, any of the more simple rooms are perfect. For a longer stay, the "deluxe" or honeymoon suite, at not many more RRR, is wonderful - you have your own fireplace for chilly nights and a huge bathroom with deep bath for a lovely long soak after you've been walking the streets of Franschhoek!”
ACMC261, 19 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates