We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tide Winds Motel

Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (2)
Pool & Beach (1)
Overview
231 E Davis Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4612 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Kitchenette
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews(122)
Traveller rating
  • 58
  • 18
  • 11
  • 9
  • 26
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
aguest922
Howell, New Jersey
1111
Reviewed 22 Aug 2018
I will start with the good

location/convenience, nice and helpful owners and staff, daily cleaning services. larger/more spacious apartment type accommodations, updated kitchens in some rooms.

not so good:

outdated over all (structural, pool, room/furniture/carpet/bathroom, etc.). fridge had funky smell that passed into the whole room, the smell did eventually pass. most likely the people before left something in and the staff was stuck doing what they could do (out of their control). updated kitchen but an old fridge. Fridge felt like it never really fully cooled properly.

overall it was a decent stay and may consider going back. my guess is that most of wildwood motels are like this.
Thank aguest922
puppymom315
New City, New York
33
Reviewed 10 Aug 2018via mobile
There isn't enough time to review a place like this
It's the most disgusting place I have ever stayed we actually look for a different place to stay but a convention was going on, it probably hadn't been cleaned since the place was build. the refrigerator was broken, the ac ran all night and never remotely got cool and that was the best thing about this place the bathroom was so disgusting I wasn't sure if it was worth it to shower, also the parking or lack there of is a joke , the day we left I imminently took my dog for a bath, btw I'm still trying to make it up to the family and the dog for staying in that hell hole for the long weekend
2 Thank puppymom315
Response from conniemeyer820, Owner at Tide Winds Motel
Responded 20 Sep 2018
This is a review by a person that didn't even stay at the Tide Winds. I didn't have any customer complain about a refrigerator not working nor the air conditionier not working. All of our air condition and refrigerators are in good working order. Our maids are excellent and not one customer has even complained of a dirty room all season. As far as parking, we have an extra lot so I believe the person who wrote this has our motel mixed up with some other. Would the person who wrote this please call me at (609) 522-0901. Thank you
Free_Hugs2011
Freehold, New Jersey
512
Reviewed 29 Jul 2018
I took my two Goldens here a few weeks ago and they had the time of their lives. The dog beach several blocks away allows you to bring your dogs into the ocean with you (supposed to keep leash on). Many other dogs and humans to interact with. There is a fenced-in sand dog park with small and large dog sections closer to the boardwalk in the same area with fresh water for your pups. My dogs both passed out on the car ride back from all the activity.

Tide Winds is an above average Wildwood hotel but gets such high marks for its dog friendly policies. Room was clean. AC unit worked well. Staff was very responsive and accommodating. Was permitted to check in early since room was available on weekday. Ask for printout of local dog friendly restaurants and attractions.
1 Thank Free_Hugs2011
wine845
Goshen, New York
11
Reviewed 5 Jul 2018
Close to what we were looking to do. Everyone friendly. First time I had taken my dog on a weekend to a motel. I would come here again. I am a big guy so the twin bed was a little small for my wife and I so next time I will go to a queen bed. Very satisfied with our experience.
1 Thank wine845
queenfrostine
Annandale, Virginia
34
Reviewed 13 Aug 2017
I called months in advance to make a reservation for a 3 night stay--Thurs night through Saturday night, leaving Sunday morning. Connie took the reservation. When I received the confirmation card in the mail I noticed that she had mistakenly only put us down for only two nights (Thurs and Friday). I immediately called the motel and explained to a male employee working the phones that there was an error and we needed an additional night added to the reservation. He told me he corrected the error on their end and instructed me to edit my reservation card by crossing out the line that said "check out Saturday", and to write in Sunday (which I did in big red pen). I had already sent in the deposit $$ before receiving the reservation card, so I asked him if I needed to send additional money to cover the extra day, and he said not to worry-- I would just be charged the balance when we arrived. Assuming that the error was handled we made the 5 hour drive from Virginia to the motel, arriving late at night on Thursday. Connie's daughter was working the office that night and checked us in. I handed in my reservation card with the clearly marked edit, and she told told us what the balance was that we owed. We assumed that the amount that we were being charged for included the additional day, and we paid the balance.

Everything was fine until Saturday morning when I was woken up at 10 am by the staff and told that we needed to leave because the room had new guests coming in to stay for a week. I went down to clear things up with Connie, where I politely explained the mix up. Her reaction was VERY hostile and she told me it was my fault for not being able to tell that the balance we were charged for did not include the extra day. I explained that we paid the amount that they told us we owed, trusting them that it was accurate and I added that if it was incorrect we were happy to pay the additional balance. She told me that the male employee who supposedly fixed our reservation made no notation on their end and was no longer employed there. She refused to accept responsibility for his error and instead implied that I was lying. She then reiterated that I had to immediately vacate the room. My husband was not even there at the time, as he had left earlier in the morning for a 40+ mile bike ride. Connie made a call on our behalf to another dog-friendly motel further away in North Wildwood to see if they had any vacancy (which we would be responsible for paying for) but I explained that the whole reason we were staying at the Tide Winds motel was to visit our New York friends, who were also staying in another room there. I asked why she was kicking us out instead of trying to relocate the other guests who had not yet arrived, but it was obvious that she would rather kick us out, then to potentially lose the new guests who would be paying for a whole week. The entire time she refused to even apologize for the situation or take any responsibility for her error or the error of her former male employee. It was only after we called her out on her hostility that she gave an exasperated, half-hearted apology, which was worded very carefully to still not accept any blame. So with my husband still gone, I had to pack up all of our luggage within 10 min and remove myself. I didn't even have my husbands car keys to load up the car, so I had to store our belongings in our friends small, cramped room. When my husband returned, we tried to salvage what was left of the day and then made the long drive back home that night, not getting in until 3am.

This was our second time staying at the Tide Winds motel as we and our friends were hoping to make it an annual tradition. Our first stay there was fine aside from an ant infestation in our room, which we never even complained about. Connie even acknowledged that we were return customers, so I was very shocked to see how poorly she treated us, especially when I was calm and civil the whole time. Up until this conflict, I thought Connie was a very nice and friendly person who I was happy to give my business to--that is until we were kicked out and she showed her true colors.
4 Thank queenfrostine
Response from conniemeyer820, Owner at Tide Winds Motel
Responded 21 Aug 2017
I am so sorry you feel you were kicked out of your motel when the reservation was for a Thursday and Friday. Deposit was sent. Confirmation was sent back for Thursday and Friday. You scratched out day and date and never told the desk clerk you were planning to stay the extra night. When we located your confirmation it clearly was scratched out by you. I immediately called and located a room for your at a motel which was pet friendly but since the weather was raining, you and your husband decided to leave and go to Washington instead. It is a shame when people try to get something for nothing. Hope you had a safe trip home.
PreviousNext
12345625
About
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Refrigerator in room
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
14
Price range
US$75 - US$275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Tide Winds Hotel Wildwood
Location
United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
14
Price range
US$75 - US$275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Tide Winds Hotel Wildwood
Location
United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Photos
Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (2)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 74 nearby hotels
Marlane Motel
306 reviews
.10 km away
Royal Court Motel
75 reviews
.16 km away
Fountain Motel
82 reviews
.17 km away
Le Voyageur Motel
390 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 177 nearby restaurants
Pacific Grill Wildwood
195 reviews
.32 km away
Key West Cafe
463 reviews
.22 km away
Duffinetti's Restaurant and Lounge
197 reviews
.19 km away
Uncle Bill's Pancake House
549 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 83 nearby attractions
Wildwoods Convention Center
197 reviews
.33 km away
George F. Boyer Historical Museum
66 reviews
.58 km away
The Doo Wop Preservation League Museum
95 reviews
.19 km away
Hippo water slide
23 reviews
.54 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Wanda S
3 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from revflyinggirl2016 | Reviewed this property |
I want to say yes they do but to be sure call nd ask Mrs connie. Nd if u stay there be sure to hit uncle bills pancake house for breakfast.
1
Vote
Wanda S
3 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sharon h | Reviewed this property |
yes they do
0
Votes
Room Tips
"check out bed size with your size."
wine845
5 Jul 2018
Read review
"get the rooms on the second floor. better view"
tatmcm
15 Sep 2016
Read review
"Third floor west side probably quietest"
TalonGSD
31 Aug 2016
Read review
"123 was 3rd floor. 2 rooms. 1 with sleeper sofa, table, and kitchenette (full fridge). 2nd room had 2..."
andrewmV331OT
27 Jul 2015
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing