We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

493 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
See the most recent reviews
Showing 492: English reviews
Rockaway, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 October 2015

We stayed overnight at The Howard Johnson's as I was running the seaside half marathon and as usual we were very satisfied. The hotel staff is great. Clean rooms, great in house dining and great service The Howard Johnsons in Toms River is truly our go to hotel in the area..

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank NJOceangirl
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn; Welcome Back! Wonderful to see you again. We appreciate you selecting our hotel year after year as your place to stay before the marathon. That means a great deal to us. It is always nice to hear that we continue to meet and exceed your expectations. We hope you had the chance to see the new rooms and...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 October 2015

-we chose ho jo's for pet friendly convenience, pool and the location perfect for our needs- -the first room upon arrival had a terrible strong bleach like, odor but we were swiftly moved-this room had 2 double bed, fridge, microwave-room was little outdated but overall, fine. The room phone stopped working and a light was broken outside bathroom. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chase327
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Chase; Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. As a valued guest, we see that there is room for improvement based on your feedback. We saw that you rated your overall satisfaction as positive, however, we also noticed that there were several missed opportunities. Please accept our apology for not meeting all your expectations during...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 16 October 2015

This is an older hotel which has been updated and renovated. They constantly strive to make it nice and keep,it clean. This is a non-smoking facility...however...there is a restaurant and bar which are not non-smoking, so there is still a smoke smell in the public areas. Since there are patios and balconies, we observed other guests smoking there. The only...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale E
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Dale; Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I appreciate you mentioning you like the new improvements and upgrades we have made, that means a lot to us as we strive to keep the hotel fresh, and vibrant for all guests. I will review the pictures on the website with the property managers and see...

Montgomery, New York
Reviewed 15 October 2015

The beds were comfortable.The room was clean . A big reason we stayed, was for the heated pool . It was absolutely freezing! It felt like the ocean in May . Very disappointing, nonetheless annoying. Otherwise the hotel was great. Had the pool actually been heated, I would have given it to more stars .

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lincolnm580
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear lincolnm580; Thank you for taking the time to share your recent trip with us. We are pleased to see we met some of your expectations for the comfort of the guestroom and cleanliness of the hotel. However, your feedback regarding the pool temperature caught my attention, I am sorry to see that it was a bit chilly and not...

Stockton, California
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O6834TPjasona
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

King George, Virginia
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 47deanb
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I8476AFandreac
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Oakland, New Jersey
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Bring your own pillows. Theirs have NO stuffing. The beds are nice and comfy. Make sure you get into a newer room. Our fist room was teeny tiny; a 3 foot clearance around a queen sized bed. We got moved to a room with two queens and it was delightful. First floor, doggy friendly. Within walking distance of an IHOP,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MitchTheMinister
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear MitchtheMinister; Thank you for your review and feedback. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed our newly remodeled guestroom and found it to be spacious, quiet, clean and comfortable place to rest and unwind (aside from the new, soft pillows). We are glad our convenient location area surroundings were a perfect fit for your travel needs. We look...

ladylake fla
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Hotel and room were good employees were pleasent and helpful, the only suggestion i have was to upgrade the carpeting.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J6209MWthomasm
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you for being our guests and taking the time to share your trip with us. We appreciate the praise and compliments for the staff and delighted to see that you had a great stay. We recently renovated the first floor and will be completing the remaining rooms later this winter. We hope to welcome you back again...

Rockaway, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank NJOceangirl
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
1.0 km away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
4.4 km away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
9.5 km away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
175 reviews
9.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn
9.7 km away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#22 of 39 in Seaside Heights
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the best of the Atlantic Coast at our Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River. Conveniently located off Route 9 and just 15 minutes from the Jersey Shore, our pet-friendly Toms River hotel near McGuire Air Force Base is one hour from New York, Philadelphia and Atlantic City. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, a large indoor heated pool, two restaurants, a pub & grille with live entertainment, a free pass to a fitness center adjacent to the hotel, free wireless high speed internet access and laundry service. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Address: 955 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753-8320
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Price Range: €69 - €201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“hotel is a good distance from the road and is all very quite”
 of 5 bubbles anthonybucceri, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“single queen rooms much smaller than doubles”
 of 5 bubbles 874DougA, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the entrances are always. BRING YOUR OWN/request extra pillows, as the pillows provided are "skimpy".”
 of 5 bubbles racinbluz27, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are probably quieter.....”
 of 5 bubbles St_Albans774, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in Atlantic City if you want a nice room”
 of 5 bubbles SmartTravlerLV, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5