We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

475 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 474: English reviews
Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelcA8160KJ
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovee618
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The beds are literally boxes of wood. The most uncomfortable place on earth at this point . If you can pick somewhere else. Pics are deceptive! Room large but in bad shape and they have people tht literally live there it's nuts. Pool heated but room freezing and the kids got sick !! Only thing good is Christopher's the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer C
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer; Guest comfort & satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and found the hotel was not what you had expected. Your valued feedback will allow us to address and correct the areas we can. We are reviewing our pictures and updating them...

Sussex, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pannasche
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank halianv
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself is not fancy, but the staff have always been really friendly and helpful and the property is clean and well-maintained. I rely on this hotel a lot and they've never let me down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank josephhL1337PS
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Joseph; Thank you for being a valued long time, repeat guests of the Howard Johnson Toms River. Your positive feedback and continued business means a great deal to us and we always strive to go above & beyond for our guests. Thank you for sharing this with us and letting us know that we continue to meet your expectations...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 27 October 2016

the reservation process was horrible. i reserved 6 rooms for my sons baseball team through the hotel front desk on 10/16. when i called the hotel on 10/21 to confirm the reservation with my confiormation#, the person at the front desk told me the rooms were not reserved in my name. apparently one of the parents called to put a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank X1892RUjosephm
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Joseph; Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We reached out to the hotel for clarification on this and understand that there were some errors with the way this was initially reserved and the confusion with other parents calling in to take those rooms. We do apologize for the inconvenience this caused you as well as the unnecessary...

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Convenient location, needs overhaul pretty bad, don't step on the carpet barefoot, make sure you have sheet between blanket and you😱, bathroom amenities leave a lot to be desired. The only positive thing is a restaurant on premises convenient for dinner and not to have to drive. Breakfast is absolutely awful... don't see spending more than one night there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen T
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Ellen; Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. Guest comfort is very important to us and we are sorry to learn that the guestroom did not meet your expectations and you did not enjoy your stay. We value your comments and will share them with the appropriate team members to ensure the items...

Rockaway, New Jersey
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We have stayed at this Howard Johnsons a few times in the past and it's a nice hotel. This time we were in town as I was running the Seaside Half Marathon. We enjoyed our stay. The hotel was comfortable and clean. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is near the mall within short driving distance of Seaside Heights,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NJOceangirl
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Welcome Back NJOceangirl; It is a pleasure seeing you again. We appreciate your feedback and pleased to hear that we met your expectations with this stay and you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for letting us know that the friendly staff, clean rooms, convenient location, Pub and new Grove Restaurant as well as the distance to the shore...

Winfield, West Virginia
Reviewed 20 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melissaandjerryc
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
1.0 km away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
4.4 km away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
4.6 km away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,103 reviews
9.7 km away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#23 of 41 in Seaside Heights
355 reviews
9.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Leisure Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the best of the Atlantic Coast at our Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River. Conveniently located off Route 9 and just 15 minutes from the Jersey Shore, our pet-friendly Toms River hotel near McGuire Air Force Base is one hour from New York, Philadelphia and Atlantic City. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, a large indoor heated pool, two restaurants, a pub & grille with live entertainment, a free pass to a fitness center adjacent to the hotel, free wireless high speed internet access and laundry service. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Address: 955 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753-8320
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Price Range: €68 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms away from the entrances are always. BRING YOUR OWN/request extra pillows, as the pillows provided are "skimpy".”
 of 5 bubbles racinbluz27, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are probably quieter.....”
 of 5 bubbles St_Albans774, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in Atlantic City if you want a nice room”
 of 5 bubbles SmartTravlerLV, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Courtyard side is definitely quieter; but, noise from other guest in the hall was excessive.”
 of 5 bubbles 539bradleyw, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Parking lot view side shady; lawn side sunny.”
 of 5 bubbles lorriec733, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay