We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Summit Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Grand Summit Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Summit Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 433: English reviews
Mississauga, ON
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This could be a grand, boutique hotel, but it's missing the mark. Having stayed 4 nights, we had the opportunity to encounter or observe a vast majority of the staff and, with the exception of 2 dining room staff members, would say this is where one of the major problems lies. The front desk staff operate like the key stone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelBugMississauga
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TravelBugMissis, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us. We are very disappointed to hear of the impression we left for you regarding the service exchanges you had with our staff. We work very hard to provide a comfortable experience for all of our guests and take pride in...

Old Bridge, NJ
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My daughter got married on June 28, 2014 and her reception was at the Grand Summit Hotel. Everything was absolutely perfect from beginning to end! The dining room was beautiful, the coctail hour was outstanding and the food was probably the best I have ever had at a wedding! The staff, from Jimmy Thornton who oversaw every detail, to Cathy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Caviler_13
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cavalir_13, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of your stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure hosting your friends and family, and we are delighted to hear that we made your daughter's wedding day a day you will never forget. We have a long history of hosting elegant...

Wayne, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This appears to be a quaint old hotel, but it really is just a run down place. The heating/ ac unit in the room would be found in a cheap motel. The toilet faces the bed, the bed spread, towels are funky. The moldy smell in the room is nasty. I would not recommend this hotel, you can do better.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank doryellen57
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Doryellen, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide you with a review of your recent stay with us. We were disappointed to hear of your experience with us and welcome the chance to host you again so that we may demonstrate the quality of product we strive to produce for all of our guests. I welcome...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed at the Grand Summit in late March, 2014. i was there for my aunt's funeral and the staff couldn't have been kinder. My late aunt had arranged a post-funeral luncheon for family and friends and it was delicious, particularly the desserts. The complimentary breakfast is excellent with something for every taste. The restaurant/bar also makes good soup. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. While it sounds like you were visiting us under difficult circumstances, we were excited to hear that we were able to add some comfort to your time in the area. We hope that we will have...

Jupiter, Florida
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights for a family event. It's a quaint old hotel in need of updating. I would not refer to it as grand at all. The staff is accommodating, breakfast was good and the beds were comfortable. The furniture is just very worn looking. Towels are rough and scratchy and the elevator is filthy.. With some tlc...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Glynis M
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Glynis, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us. We were disappointed to hear of your impression of the hotel, and welcome the opportunity to show you some of our current renovations that are taking place at the hotel. While many of our hotel guests love the...

Fairchance, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I truly enjoyed our extended weekend stay at the Grand Summit Hotel. The Hotel is in close proximity to the train station so getting into Manhatton to see the city was a breeze. Excellent complimentary breakfast to start your day and free shuttle service to the train station. The town of Summit is also quite beatiful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd C
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lloyd C, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a great review of your experience at The Grand Summit Hotel. We work very hard to provide all of our guests with the type of experience you describe here, and when it is recognized it means a lot to us. We look forward to...

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here on business and the front desk service was exceptional. Specifically Christina, Diana and Jun went above and beyond to make sure that me and my colleague were accomodated. I would recommend this hotel for business travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelingonbusiness1
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grand Summit Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to pen us a review of your recent stay with us. Business travel accounts for close to 90% of our business Monday thru Friday, and we are delighted to hear you found our customer service to be incredible. Many of our Managers like myself come from large chain...

Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I wanted to see New York City without worrying about getting in and out of the city with all of the traffic. We stayed at the Grand Summit and loved it! The hotel provided shuttle service to the train station, which we used everyday to get to the city, but the town of Summit was so beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brenda W
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brenda, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful comments with us. We work very hard to provide the type of experience you detail here, and when it is recognized it means a lot to us. Our very loyal customers agree with your comments that we are a great location to get in and out...

Flint, Michigan
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our family stayed at the Grand Summit Hotel recently for a week, and we loved it. If you are tired of the cookie cutter hotel chains that blend together anonymously, then you will really like the Summit. It was built back when craftsmen took pride in their work, and it shows in the very unique brickwork that adorns the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a great review of your stay with us. We host a lot of families with children, and we often hear how the hotel is like living in a classic home in the prestigious town of Summit, NJ. I am also very happy to inform you...

Westfield, New Jersey
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We recently sold our house in Maplewood, and our new place is not ready till the 1st of July. With all the heckticness of closing, moving, downsizing , we needed a place to escape for a couple of days when it was over. This place is heaven, the rooms have an old fashion sense of elegance, with comfort found in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry A
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jerry, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of your stay with us. We work very hard to provide the type of experience you describe here and when it is recognized by repeat customers like you, it means the world to us. We look forward to hosting you and your...

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
3.1 km away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
913 reviews
3.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
8.5 km away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
739 reviews
14.8 km away
Dolce Basking Ridge
Dolce Basking Ridge
#1 of 4 in Basking Ridge
652 reviews
9.3 km away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Address: 570 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-4599
Region: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Price Range: €140 - €866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Summit
Summit Grand Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Summit Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
over a year ago
Toronto, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Summit Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the first floor are less than adequate.”
 of 5 bubbles 505eileenb, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I understand they have some newer, brighter furnished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles IraC24, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in several options over the past few years, all great - depends on your budget”
 of 5 bubbles PoppiMimi, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay on first floor, can hear everyone walking in hall all night and morning! Can hear the loud parties in the ballroom”
 of 5 bubbles NYUMICHMOM, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Maybe pick a top floor?”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay