We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Summit Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Summit Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

461 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Summit Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 453: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed 19 March 2015

I spent a full week (7 nights) at the Grand Summit hotel, in the "new" wing, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Reading other reviews, I was a bit concerned about potential noise from adjoining rooms. My first night was a (VERY) late arrival, and I did hear some snoring and other ("adult") noises from the next room, but only...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you so much for the wonderful review you provided us. Our very loyal corporate guests love the quaint elegant feel of the hotel and the fact that they will be in something very different than the average chain hotel offers. They also love that the town has such a wonderful vibe and that they can take advantage...

New Jersey
Reviewed 24 February 2015 via mobile

This hotel is so beautiful. Charming and wonderful personnel. Rooms are very nice and clean. Coffee makers with Starbucks coffee in rooms and fresh Starbucks in lobby 24 hrs. Free buffet breakfast located in Hat tavern. The cold items were good but the eggs & potatoes weren't at all good. Next time I would rather pay additional and order fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lbourinaris
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ibourinaris, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of your stay with us. We are always honored when a guest as well traveled as you scores us with such high marks. The detail of your experience in your review is what we strive so hard to provide to all of...

Reviewed 16 February 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Summit and had a wonderful time in a beautiful suite. The staff were on top of everything and set us up for dinner downstairs in The Hat Tavern even though we didn't have a reservation. The live music was wonderful and we stayed and listened to the whole show. This is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lavinia B
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lavinia, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of your Valentine's stay with us. We love that couples seek us out when they are looking for a romantic weekend stay in one of the state's most prestigious addresses. We look forward to the chance to host you again, and thank you so...

Newburgh, Indiana
Reviewed 15 February 2015

The Dowager Countess of hotels, the old girl is in pretty good shape for the age. It's handy to everything uptown in Summit. We stayed on the weekend and a full breakfast was included, which you don't find everywhere. Good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kim B, What a wonderful review. So nicely written and appropriate for the charm and elegance of The Grand Summit Hotel. A beautiful review for me to share with my team at our weekly staff meeting. The team works hard to provide a comfortable experience, and when it is recognized it is greatly appreciated. Sincerely, Michael Marino Assistant General...

Netherlands
Reviewed 9 February 2015

Dear reader, Last week I stayed for a few nights, while on business, in the Grand Summit Hotel in Summit New Jersey. Neither Grand nor Summit. The hotel is in huge need of renovation. There is not a spot to be found which is not damaged (paint) rough or scruffy. Ceiling on the fourth floor (top floor) suffered from leaks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelmic2014
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Travelmic2014, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback both positive and negative. We are very disappointed to hear of the impression that you had of our hotel, and welcome the chance to bring you back and introduce you to some of our brand new rooms. Like many hotels/businesses in the Northeast, we did...

Los Angeles
Reviewed 3 February 2015

This is an older, stately hotel in suburban New Jersey. The train station, with service to NYC, is a short walk from the front door and the quaint downtown area of Summit, NJ is just a few steps further. The lobby area was warm and comfortable with tea and coffee service throughout the day. My room was large and comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mblaca
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mblaca, Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your stay with us. We work very hard to provide a comfortable experience for all of our guests, and when it is recognized like this it means a lot to us. We take a lot of pride in the history and charm of the hotel and will continue to...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Hi all, First of all, I stayed here for business because the customer location was nearby. If you want to visit New York: book a place in New York. About the hotel: It is a very old hotel, single glass and old furniture/design. I liked the lobby with the sofa's big fireplace, tv and free coffee. The fitness room is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JensA2009
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JensA2009, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate some of the wonderful characteristics of our hotel that you pointed out, and respect the criticism that you have provided. The rooms that you mention near the outdoor pool do require a slightly longer walk, however,...

Litchfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 24 January 2015

As parents of the bride, the wedding on 1/17/15 at The Grand Summit Hotel was fit for a princess. The hotel is elegant with a beautiful lobby, excellent rooms and an gorgeous ballroom. The hotel staff was kind and professional. Teresa was our contact and we loved working with her. Teresa and staff made sure everything went perfectly through the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of the wedding you hosted at The Grand Summit Hotel. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your family, and we were very excited that you were able to host the wedding in our brand new Grand Ballroom. We look forward...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 January 2015

The Grand Summit Hotel is one of contrasts. They want to offer an intimate and unique hotel for the pleasure and comfort of their guests When you first enter the hotel, you are struck by the Tudor style beamed ceiling and roaring fireplace which gives you a welcoming feeling. On your way to your room, you notice that the elevator...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Notme
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us. We were disappointed to hear of your experience, and would very much like the opportunity to introduce you to one of our new rooms to provide you with the type of experience we strive to deliver to all...

New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 23 January 2015

Typically we have our Quarterly Business Meetings in NYC but tried Summit, NJ just for a change. There were 15 people in our party and everything went very smoothly all the way around. We met for drinks in the tavern, took the hotel shuttle to downtown Summit, had a great dinner and then comfortable stay over night. Our meeting room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Thank you so much for taking time to provide us with such a wonderful review of the meeting you hosted at the hotel. It was an absolute pleasure hosting your group, and we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to host your organization again in the near future....

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
3.1 km away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
982 reviews
8.4 km away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
430 reviews
3.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
774 reviews
9.3 km away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
624 reviews
7.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Westfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Address: 570 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-4599
Region: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Price Range: €146 - €210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Summit
Summit Grand Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Summit Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
over a year ago
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Summit Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had no issues with noise in my room and I was overlooking the street.”
919eileenv, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms quite far from reception”
, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I got a corner room, jr. suite, facing the main street, but was still quiet.”
Grumpy_old_guy_ATL, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the lower level are dated. I would try to avoid them if possible.”
joelt557, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Executive King corner room is quiet, spacious and,well appointed.”
, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5