We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Timberline Lake Camping Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Gretna
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Timberline Lake Camping Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 16: English reviews
Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend. The site was very nice, had utilities . The other fellow camper were very friendly and everyone in the entire campground was pleasant. If you're looking for a premier campground, with all the amenities, this isn't your place. But if you're looking for a more rustic camping experience, this place is great. Just remember to... More 

Helpful?
Thank thom1223
Bloomington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Park was clean. Bathrooms were very clean! Our dogs had plenty of space to roam. The downside? No wi-fi at our site was a big disappointment. And $38 is a bit high. New owner was very nice and welcoming. Would stop again for another one night, but not long term.

Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
Scott M, Manager at Timberline Lake Camping Resort, responded to this review

I believe you have the wrong campground. We do not have new owners nor do we have a site for $38. We have wifi throughout the park. We are located in New Gretna. There are several campground with similar names. You probably stayed at Timberland Lake in Jackson. More 

philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Spent many long weekends here as a tent camper over 6 years, being in close proximity to Philadelphia. Timberline lake serves as a seasonal resort, but also a small trailer park. The staff have always been friendly & have done their best in my experience to be accommodating. The seasonal and full time residents are friendly and helpful as well.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank juneashley26
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We reserved two tent sites in the wooded area for a weekend and brought two of our dogs along. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the sites and had more room than we've gotten at other campgrounds. We were a little disappointed by the distance to the bathhouse. It was about a 10 minute walk from where we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria T
Pennsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Although the sites were large and pretty private..some of seasonal people keep there areas VERY messy! I would not call it a resort. The bath houses were filthy and stunk. Often there would be kids fooling around in the bath houses. I would not return.

Helpful?
Thank Amy M
Keasbey, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2014

I've been here for 13 years and i hope to be here for at least another 13. I love it everyone is so friendly and nobody is building decks at 6:30 AM. all the activities that Kathy puts together. The staff is friendly. i love it!!

Helpful?
6 Thank Shane W
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2014 via mobile

This campground offers great amenities including, Pool with patio, clean tables, chairs and lounge chairs. Big huge lake separated by dikes that I saw people fishing at. There is a beautiful beach (very clean) with lounge chairs and a separate pet beach which my dog loved. The recreation hall is large enough and had activities every few hours. There is... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Gtmom260
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2014

I've been coming to Timberline for three years and loved it so much I purchased a trailer this summer with my family. Our new neighbors made us feel like family right away. As we worked on our new place they brought us food and drink and a helping hand. A real community atmosphere where everyone says hello as you walk... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer19145
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I've been coming here on weekends for a long time. The staff is great and people nice. So I decided it was time a longer stay to test it out to before becoming seasonal. So we rented a site from June till the end of August. It was the worst camping experience we ever had. The seasonal people around us... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Ed T
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent Aug 1-3, 2014 at Timberline lake and had a great time. I was concerned about the recent reports of lots of bugs. I know that all of South Jersey is know for the green heads, ticks and lots of other insects, but we did not have any issues. The staff did a great job adjusting the programs due... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank kelly h

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Gretna
19.7 km away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
12.6 km away
J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast
15.4 km away
The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort
Show Prices

Amenities

Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a family campground in the NJ Pine Barrens, 25 minutes from Atlantic City, with 130 acres and 185 shaded and wooded campsites.. We offer full hookup campsites, cabins, and RV rentals and are open from May 1 to Oct 15. Amenities include a Camp Store, Game Room, Rec Hall, Swimming Pool, Lake with Beach, Canoe & Kayak Rentals, Fishing, Hayrides, Free Wifi, Cable Hookup, Pet Friendly, and we have an extensive Activities Program. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Timberline Lake Camping Resort

Address: 365 Route 679, New Gretna, NJ 08224
Region: United States > New Jersey > New Gretna
Number of rooms: 185
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Timberline Lake Camping Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Shaded sites with high moisture near water hook-up will ensure more insects than dry and sunny spots.”
  • Pool with portable toilet
 of 5 bubbles StantonDinger, 15 Jul 2014 | Read review
“All the sites are large and wooded except the ones along the lake front. If you like the sun, try to get a site there. If you like the shade, the front road is nice and close to the store and playground and pool.”
 of 5 bubbles jasonf970, 27 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Most guests are seasonal but there are always sites available for weekenders.”
 of 5 bubbles 484deniseg, 17 Oct 2013 | Read review
3 of 3