We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
401 S Van Brunt St, Englewood, NJ 07631-4604
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$151
Hotels.comUS$150
TravelocityUS$150
PricelineUS$150
FindHotelUS$150
Destinia.comUS$209
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (11)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 19/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crowne Plaza Englewood
Updated 19/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located near the New York-Presbyterian/Columbia University Irving Medical Center, our business hotel in Englewood, NJ offers guests well-appointed guestrooms and wonderful amenities, including free Wi-Fi, complimentary parking, an indoor pool, and elegant meeting spaces.​​Discover new things to do in Englewood and the surrounding area. Stroll through Overpeck County Park before heading into Manhattan via the George Washington Bridge to explore the Big Apple. Sports fans must visit Yankee Stadium or catch an NFL game at MetLife Stadium. In the evening, catch a show at the Bergen Performing Arts Center.Everything you need for a fantastic stay in New Jersey can be found at Crowne Plaza® Englewood.​
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
40Car recommended
Grade: 40 out of 100
21Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
388Reviews13Q+A57Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 116
  • 126
  • 86
  • 38
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Andrew S wrote a review Jul 2022
DC7 contributions4 helpful votes
Spent last eve in this hotel after staying there previously. Multiple issues: 1) There was no air conditioning in the halls, elevators, etc. 2) There was no AC in the gym and multiple folks had complained about this - and nothing was done. 3) The equipment in the gym was ancient and half of it was non functional. 4) Most disgustingly, when we awoke having gotten in late and gone right to bed, we noticed that there were left over piece of gum and stains on our sheets. I have traveled around the globe and stayed in IHG properties and never been disappointed until now.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Crowne Plaza Englewood
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Hello, AndrewS899 Our staff loves checking reviews and using them to improve in future stays. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your impressions. I would like to take this chance to apologize for the situation you have encountered. Don't worry, I have shared your sentiment with our management for further attention. We strive to provide the highest standards in accommodation. Thank you for making us your primary choice for accommodation. Our staff would love to serve you again and show you the improvements based on your comments and opinion. Please visit again soon! Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ms_LNV wrote a review Jun 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania33 contributions2 helpful votes
After a fairly pleasant stay in April, I was booked to stay here but received a call from the hotel while in transit stating that there was a “plumbing issue” in the King rooms and I was relocated by them to a Best Western. I should have suspected an issue when they did not offer alternative accommodations at the Crowne Plaza. When I arrived at the other property I was informed the Crowne Plaza said they told me I’d need to pay although my stay was already fully paid for. In addition, the Crowne Plaza had communicated an almost $400 for a new room at the “walk rate” as if I had just showed up. It also seemed as if I was the only guest transferred. I will never stay here again and would never recommend this property after this experience. This was abysmal customer service and feels like a scam.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Crowne Plaza Englewood
Responded 10 Jul 2022
Hello Ms_LNV, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're determined to make your experience with us pleasant, and I am sorry to learn about the issues encountered. I have alerted the hotel management regarding your comments, and I am certain that the steps that will be taken will avoid similar issued from happening again. I have also sent you a private message regarding your experience. I hope to welcome you back! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary D wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
hotel was in a very good location . Room and bathroom was clean, bed and sheets and comforter was very comfortable. Room was exactly it showed in the internet . hotels reception was very welcoming. lot of food places was open until late night also and NY city was only 40 minutes drive from there.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jodie L wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I was very pleased with the staff especially Dan Goldman. He is the epitome of someone in the hospitality industry. Very caring. Eager to help in any way. It made a 2 day business trip much more enjoyable
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Francisco P wrote a review Jan 2022
Flushing, New York3 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here from 12/28-30. The reason I chose this hotel was the big swimming pool. However, I realized that the gym and pool are only open on Friday and Saturday when I read the hotel guide in my room. This info is not mentioned on their website and the front desk staff didn’t tell me about this either. If I knew this, I would not choose this hotel. Won’t come back again !!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Crowne Plaza Englewood
Responded 30 Jan 2022
Hello pennyfrancisco, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write us a review. I am sorry to learn about the issues encountered with the pool and fitness center closed. The experience you described certainly isn’t what we want for any guest. As our guests, we want to do our best to make sure we always meet your expectations, if not exceed them. Trust that your comments are all taken into account and shared with the hotel management as a reference for the necessary improvements needed. I also sent you a private message to follow up and obtain more details. I hope that you will give us another chance when you travel back to the area! Many thanks, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zoratt wrote a review Jan 2022
Canton, Massachusetts4 contributions1 helpful vote
What a complete shoddy cigarette smoked in dump. I have been staying in this hotel for about 10 years, and since the last time I have stayed, this place has fallen apart. Not one room in the whole building doesn't smell like rancid cigarette smoke. Our first night in they placed us on the 2nd floor next door to a construction zone. They had a burned out unit on the 4th floor a while ago and had water damage throughout. After being in the room for a bit we heard a bunch of banging and construction and had ourselves moved to the 3rd floor (Which also had construction going on due to the fire damage.) That night was terrible. There was a woman and some of her friends that were hanging out in the laundry room playing her phone at full volume smoking cigarettes and weed back and forth all night long. I called security to have it dealt with 3 times and then just gave up as I saw the security come up, and nothing changed. When we woke up in the morning our room stunk terribly of smoke. I went downstairs and explained the issue to the manager. He said he couldn't refund us because we had purchased and paid fully, but to followup with the travel service and he would refund back to us. (Of course the hotel's phone system was down and the travel service couldn't get through.) The manager apologized and moved us to a 5th floor unit. (This floor also has construction on it from the fire.) As soon as we walked in, it smells like a smoker had lived in this room. I just gave up and accepted our dumpy fate. The door lock is broken, and when we went to go to bed, we found lipstick on one of the pillowcases. Additionally the hotel is housing vagrant guests that were supposedly being sheltered due to a hurricane that had happened 3 months prior. DON'T STAY HERE.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: don't stay here. find another hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Crowne Plaza Englewood
Responded 24 Jan 2022
Hi Zoratt, Thank you for looping us into your concern about the hotel's condition, the unpleasant smell, noise from the construction, other guests, and your refund request. What you described certainly is not the kind of experience we want any of our guests to have. I am sorry to miss out on these areas. I've communicated your sentiments with our management team for review and I've also sent you a private message to discuss this further. I hope to get another chance to host your next visit as we promise to make the value of your experience worth it for all the right reasons. Yours in hospitality, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
W M wrote a review Oct 2021
New Haven, Connecticut48 contributions10 helpful votes
I stayed here for a weekend and would not recommend. While this was not the absolute worst hotel I've ever stayed at, I can only give it 1.5 stars (2 max) because I expected much more from a Crowne Plaza (which is generally considered a 3-star hotel). Let's start with the Good: 1. Plenty of parking; there's even areas where you can have covered parking. 2. Good number and location of outlets and USB ports. 3. White sheets appeared clean 4. Comfortable beds (though on the high/tall side) 5. 2 mirrors (one of them full length) available outside the bathroom. The Bad: 1. Outdated and drab: No other words for it. The hotel just felt old and in major need of renovations. The bathroom is in dire need of a fan, as evidenced by the peeling ceilings and all the steam that pours out of the bathroom and steaming up the hallway mirror. 2. Iffy/broken elevators: The two elevators were iffy and seemed constantly under repair over the weekend. At one point, we entered the elevator and it kept bobbing up and down as if it was being held up by rubber bands; we immediately got off and began using the stairs. 3. Dirty: Never have I felt such a need to lysol/clorox wipe the entire hotel room (which I did - I do not usually do this in other hotels). There were strands of hair left around the tub. The color scheme of brown/tan just emphasizes the drab and dirty feel of the room. One of our rooms also smelled of cigarette smoke - we do not smoke and did not choose a smoking room. 4. Dim rooms: The curtains were great at keeping out light for the purpose of sleeping. But it would be nice to get light inside too. While the thin, touch desk lamp was cool/modern, it just wasn't enough to light up the room. Besides the desk lamp, there were 2 lamps by the bedside table. The Odd: Hotel Residents: I understand that sometimes things happen and people have to live in the hotel, but this one seems to have a surprising number of residents. Certainly, they are friendly and can give you good tips (e.g. the only working ice machine, at least on the upper floors, is on the seventh floor), but just be aware that this gives it a somewhat odd atmosphere. At least, I don't normally go to a hotel and expect to meet residents on the elevator or see them crack open the door and drop a little plastic baggy of... something (trash?) outside the hotel room. All in all, I do not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Roll-in shower available.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Crowne Plaza Englewood
Responded 14 Nov 2021
Hi W M, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a candid review. I was very concerned to read your comments regarding the bathroom condition, elevator, cleanliness, and room comfort. I understand your dismay and I am sorry. This is not the way we help our guests recharge and be inspired. I will make sure to share your comments with our team for the necessary improvements needed on our end. I appreciate you as our guest and I still hope you would give us another chance in the future. Orlando A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tellnobody wrote a review Oct 2021
Jupiter, Florida43 contributions13 helpful votes
Avoid this hotel. You are greeted at the outside entrance with blaring music and the smoking area. There appears to be permanent residents living here hanging in hallways by elevators . Many have dogs with them . The room was acceptable but the energy vib here is not good . There is a smoker grill randomly in the parking lot. The heat smelled so bad I turned it off. Pay more … go elsewhere!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lauren B wrote a review Oct 2021
Syracuse, New York1 contribution
I do not know which thing to complain about first. I guess I will start with the most annoying. I think that would be the 6 person ghetto brawl outside of our door at 4am. Next I would have to say it was the marijuana smell permeating the halls and our room. Finally, we chose the hotel, because the kids enjoy a pool at the end of the day. The hotel failed to mention anywhere that the pool was closed " until further notice". If there was a zero star option I would have chosen that.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Crowne Plaza Englewood
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Hi syrgirl6, Thank you for making us part of your visit. We strive to offer quality service and I understand that your recent experience at our Crowne Plaza Englewood hotel was not as satisfactory as expected. I am sorry for the discomfort and unavailability of our pool facility. Our team would like to assure you that your thoughts about our service lapses are heard. We would like to gather more details to communicate this with the relevant teams. I sent you a separate email and hope you respond soon. Pleasure once again to host your visit and we hope you will give us another chance to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. All the best, Alice P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eL s wrote a review Aug 2021
Charlotte, North Carolina2 contributions
Although I had a splendid time visiting with family and friends for a marriage that took place in Inglewood a month ago. I have yet to receive my deposit back that I put down on the room. I know the room was left in great condition so I'm very disappointed being this is the first time I've ever used the Crowne Plaza hotel. I hope this is not indicative of how you normally operate.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Crowne Plaza Englewood
Responded 28 Sep 2021
Dear elsK4194AX, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize that your deposit has not yet been returned. This is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$138 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crowne plaza englewood, englewood crowne plaza
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyEnglewood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
194
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza Englewood
Which popular attractions are close to Crowne Plaza Englewood?
Nearby attractions include Space Odyssey (0.6 km) and Coolidge Park (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza Englewood?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Crowne Plaza Englewood?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza Englewood?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza Englewood?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Englewood?
Conveniently located restaurants include Balthazar Bakery, Jerry's Homemade, and Ice Cream on Grand.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza Englewood?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crowne Plaza Englewood?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Crowne Plaza Englewood offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Crowne Plaza Englewood?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.