We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Clifton NJ

Visit hotel website
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
7 Miles from New York City, Manhattan. 3 Miles from MetLife Stadium, Super Bowl 2014
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Safe
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
47Car recommended
Grade: 47 out of 100
26Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
456Reviews
63Photos
3Q+A
23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 71
  • 110
  • 97
  • 154
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
This was a last minute book and from the moment we turned into the parking lot we could tell this was a well kept hotel! Everything was very clean, staff was very friendly and the price was great! They do have breakfast, they forgot to tell us, but they do have it!We stayed in
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from HojoInnClifton, Hotel Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Clifton NJ
Responded 7 Jan 2019
Dear Guest, Greetings from the Howard Johnson Wyndham Clifton. Thank you so much for such lovely feedback which you have so kindly posted on Trip Advisor. I really appreciate your experience which you have graciously shared along with the compliments on our facilities and service. It is our endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves as an ambassador of our hotel. We hope that we could match your expectations. We thank you once again for such a delightful review and look forward to welcoming your referral guests. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
The bathroom sink was not flushing the water and we had to wait for 20 minutes to get water flushed to reuse it. I had complained on 1st day (29th Dec) itself but nothing done. On 31st December water from the sink got spread in room and by the time we noticed it was all over
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from HojoInnClifton, Hotel Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Clifton NJ
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay at the Howard Johnson Wyndham Clifton. We are disappointed to note that your overall experience of the stay was unsatisfactory. Whatever may be the reasons, we will definitely verify the reality and take actions to prevent such happenings in future. Our apologies for your inconvenience, but we still hope that you will be generous enough to give us one more opportunity to show us in a better way. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
I stay here often and have written about them before. I just came back from a one night stay and was disappointed yet again ! The young woman that checked me in was quite rude and sarcastic. I asked to check in a bit early as I normally do, and after a long drive from over the
Read more
Response from HojoInnClifton, Hotel Manager. at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Clifton NJ
Responded 11 Dec 2018
Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing the Howard Johnson Wyndham Clifton during your visit to our area. We appreciate you for the review and regret the experience however unlikely it may be. We take it seriously towards improvement and have investigated about it. The front office staff has been given intensive training to ensure that this does not happen again. You shall never have such an experience, however unlikely it may be next time. Please do visit us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
This room was rented out despite the fact that there were stains on the rug and the ceiling which appeared to be mold related. I advised Management but they refused to make even the slightest discount
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from HojoInnClifton, Hotel Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Clifton NJ
Responded 25 Nov 2018
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from the Howard Johnson Clifton. We are very much concerned with your feedback. Our apologies for the bad experience. Our endeavor is to offer a nice stay to all our guests but failed this time. Actions shall be taken to improve everything on priority and you can have a good stay next time. Hope you will reconsider. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
This place is filthy. The carpets in the rooms seem like they are never vacuumed. If you walk around with no shoes you feet or socks will be BLACK!! My room had ants as well. For the price they charge (which isn’t cheap at all) it should be much cleaner. My sink was clogged.
Read more
Response from HojoInnClifton, Hotel Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Clifton NJ
Responded 5 Nov 2018
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from the Howard Johnson Wyndham Clifton. We are very much concerned with your feedback. Our apologies for the bad experience. Our endeavor is to offer a nice stay to all our guests but failed this time. Actions shall be taken to improve everything on priority and you can have a good stay next time. Hope you will reconsider. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
The broken door return for my in-laws' room.
DISGUSTING. Room # written on door. Visible dirt on light switches/carpet. Rusty tissue dispense
DISGUSTING. Room # written on door. Visible dirt on light switches/carpet. Rusty tissue dispense
DISGUSTING. Room # written on door. Visible dirt on light switches/carpet. Rusty tissue dispense
PreviousNext
12345
"Ask to speak to the Manager if you get any grief from the front desk workers."
"Don't go there"
"Stay away !"
"Don't stay, period."
"Floor #3 was a crack den"
PreviousNext
12345
PRICE RANGE
US$86 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
howard johnson inn - clifton hotel cliftonhoward johnson hotel cliftonhoward johnson cliftonclifton howard johnson
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyClifton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
111
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing