We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast

Booking.comUS$177*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 112: English reviews
Norwood, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 22 March 2016

The place was lovely but our room was super small and on the third floor. Owners were very nice and the house was the usual Cape May Victorian. I felt we got overcharged for such a small room on the third floor off season.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TwinnieA
leithhall, Manager at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments! It is good advice to ask what floor the room is on if you don't want to climb stairs - unfortunately Victorian houses don't have elevators! We're sorry you weren't pleased with the size of your room - we hope you'll consider coming back and trying a bigger room on the 2nd floor. To...

Reviewed 14 December 2015

Warm, inviting, clean, comfortable, we found the bed and breakfast to be all of the above on our one night stay in mid December in historic Cape May New Jersey. The owners were very gracious and accommodating and the breakfast that was served was really quite nice and very fulling. We will certainly consider Leith Hall for our annual trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
Pozzuoli, Italy
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Excellent weekend stay in early December to see the Christmas Parade and Parade of Lights in surrounding homes. Excellent location as we could walk everywhere and the parade came down the same street, plus just a two-minute walk to the beach. Hosts were excellent, and the third-floor room was cozy, clean, comfortable and the gas fireplace was a bonus. Highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken I
leithhall, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! December is a great time to visit because Cape May is all decorated and the parade is fantastic. Hope to see you again soon!

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 27 October 2015

The house and room were beautiful, The food was good. The mealtime and tea time conversation was interesting. Through the two windows in our room we had almost 180 degree views of the beach, including sunset. The beach is a half-block away. Parking was about 8 blocks away but that wasn't really a problem in our case, as nearly everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcknigs1
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Our stay at Leith Hall was a very impressive view with beautiful victorian architectural styles, 1880's. which sadly ended with special memories that will be cherished for eternity. Our room was furnished victorian style, beautiful, beautiful. The hosts Susan and Elan was fabulous provided delicious breakfast and afternoon tea. The location was great, just half a block to the beach,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amanda c
leithhall, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments! We're glad you enjoyed the views, breakfast and tea, and the porch - my favorite place at the Inn! We hope to see you again soon!

Schroon Lake, New York
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Our suite was on the first floor with it's own entrance. It did not have a view of the beach; we didn't care since we weren't in the room long enough during the day to enjoy a view. I'm not sure of the views on the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms. Very comfortable bedrooms, although the wicker furniture in sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 202KANT
leithhall, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this great review! We enjoy chatting with our guests - and you were fun to talk to. We hope to see you again soon.

Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewed 16 September 2015

I cannot recommend this place enough. We have now been back 7 times because our experience is always stellar. The hosts are fascinating and accommodating, the rooms are atmospheric, and the food was wonderful. We parked on premise, and were able to walk anywhere we needed to go, as they are located right in the middle of everything. Can't wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanpD7021CE
leithhall, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you sooo much for this wonderful review! We're already looking forward to your next visit.

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 15 September 2015

I enjoyed my stay at Leith Hall tremendously. It is about a half block from the beach, and I could see the ocean from my window. Large porch accommodates guests, and breakfast was delicious every day. (Can you say: frittata? Wow!) Lovely library filled with books and several DVDs. Most importantly, I could walk everywhere: to the beach, to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trixie R
leithhall, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this great review! We try to make our guests happy and when we do, it is a wonderful feeling. Thank you!

Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

The location is great - close to the beach in one direction and the pedestrian zone full of shops in the other. I also liked being on a block that was essentially residential so you didn't have people lining up for a restaurant as I saw on Jackson Street. The best feature is the porch, which is shaded by an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ladira
leithhall, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review - we hope we'll see you again soon!

Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Rooms are small and cluttered. Extremely noisy window A/C. Breakfast was consistent…. Terrible every day. Miss leading advertising - rude host, limited onsite parking most guests were made to walk 4 -5 long blocks. Ocean view turned out to be a restaurant parking lot. Advertised to contain sink, refrigerator – not in our room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joe b
Susan L, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Joe, we're terribly sorry to hear your stay with us left a bit more to be desired. We do all we can to be sure that each guest is comfortable and enjoying their stay - in your case, you said you were unhappy because your room wasn't as big as your friend's room (most of our rooms are bigger). We...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 km away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
499 reviews
0.0 km away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#27 of 37 in Cape May
382 reviews
0.4 km away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.3 km away
The Luther Ogden Inn
The Luther Ogden Inn
#30 of 39 in Cape May
52 reviews
0.1 km away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast is an elegantly restored inn that is nestled in the heart of the Karen Akers Victorian Historic District. This ornate Victorian style bed and breakfast is only a half of a block away from the beach and offers breathtaking ocean views, full gourmet breakfasts, antiques, and afternoon tea. Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast also offers modern day amenities such as air conditioning, wireless internet, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and free parking. Our bed and breakfast is ideally located for a vacation where you can relax and enjoy the warmth and hospitality of Cape May. Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast is the only professionally restored bed and breakfast in Cape May. While visiting Cape May you will step back into by being surrounded by the elegant Victorian style but, this town carries an atmosphere that is casual and relaxed. Our guests at Leith Hall will help themselves to a hearty full breakfast partnered with a lounge on the porch while enjoying a nice conversation with hosts and other guests. The aroma of freshly brewed coffee and home baked breads flows through the inn and is the most delightful way to wake up. Our breakfast’s that include decadent quiches, crepes, and egg entrees grant you the energy that you need for a day at the beach. Enjoy a relaxing afternoon tea time that includes fresh, homemade cakes and pastries served with hot English tea during the winter and iced tea or lemonade during the summer. Come stay at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast and experience this elegant Victorian inn that offers a casual and relaxed atmosphere with breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2412
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Price Range: €137 - €249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a suite if possible and one with on-site parking.”
luvs2goPennsylvania, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“The Iris room is very beautiful and quite large, it is on the ground floor”
elizabethf492, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Be sure the heating and air conditioning are updated as well as bedding.”
ReneeG987, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Almost beachfront! 3rd floor rooms must be able to climb 11 and 17 steps, but with good ocean views!”
10sumi2012, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on third floor have a great oceanview”
baysidegal76, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$177* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$177
TripAdvisorUS$177
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates