We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beach Shack

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Beach Shack
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Beach Shack
See the most recent reviews
Showing 323: English reviews
Brussels
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We've stayed at the Beach Shack on a few occasions. We all enjoy staying there, they're a very dog-friendly hotel with rooms for your dog. The beds are very comfortable, and because it was so hot and humid this trip, we had the AC on at night, which drowned out any noises from outside. They have a restaurant on site...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RosebudBrussels
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Our family of 4, two parents in their 40's and two teens, stayed at the Beach Shack 7/22-7-25. We had a fantastic time! The room had one queen size bed and two twins. Everyone had enough room to sleep comfortably. The beds were comfortable and the room (although dated) was spotless. The staff were all friendly and hard working. I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dearhelen
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Our extended family has come to the Beach Shack for a few years so far. I wish we would not have gone back this year. In years past, the hotel had been mediocre, but we spent most of our time at the beach anyways, so it was fine. When we arrived, check in was prompt, but when we went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paigetravels17
CRGManagement, General Manager at Beach Shack, responded to this review

Dear paigetravels17, Thank you for your loyalty to the Beach Shack. I apologize that this year was not up to our usual standards. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team. I am excited to announce that we will be undergoing a complete room/bath renovation this winter. I hope you will give us another try next summer. I was...

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel/motel was way overpriced for what you get. Very loud due to outside bar (very aggravating if you have small children). No phones in room (bizarre) terrible wifi I had no internet from Thursday-Friday. This hotel seems more appropriate for college kids not a family. Would much rather pay more for a stay at the sandpiper or La Mer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeghanK23
NJ
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

My husband booked a room for us and our 2 small children at the last minute. I quickly consulted TA, and was a bit nervous due to the ranking. Well, I should have known better as they are affiliated with Congress Hall. From the minute we checked in, it was fantastic. Our room was comfortable and clean, but certainly not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank seashellnj
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Room was dated but ok. Had a very musty smell and linens were damp due to humidity. Wifi was sporadic at best. Pricey for the accommodations. Even though bar/ restaurant was on site it was not loud. Pet friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
Belleville, New Jersey
Reviewed 7 July 2016

The location of this hotel could not be more perfect! You just cross the street and the beach is there. There is hotel staff waiting to seat you since they provide umbrellas and comfortable chairs and towels! The pool area also provides drink and food service. It is a short drive or walk to restaurants and shops. Although the Rusty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank josselynmoreno
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Really cute beach motel with a great location and friendly staff. Nice view from an upper floor room too! We loved the location across from the beach and the easy walk to shops and restaurants. Ate at the Rusty Nail and really enjoyed the atmosphere. We liked the music and atmosphere and felt that the music was not too loud...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toddlermommy12
CRGManagement, General Manager at Beach Shack, responded to this review

Dear Toddlermommy12, Thanks so much for your kind words. I am so happy to hear that you liked everything. I hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Best, Charley Gaudio - General Manager

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We were not sure about this motel because we dont usually do motels but we were on a budget. Very rude lady in sales, name started with A but I dont want to say any names. We called in and she was talking down to me the entire time. We said we are on a budget and she said this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geegeeha2015
CRGManagement, General Manager at Beach Shack, responded to this review

Dear geegeeha2015, I apologize for the way you were treated by our reservations agent. It is completely unacceptable behavior and I will share your comments with the team. I'm very pleased that the on-site staff was nice & helpful. I am also glad to hear that you liked our restaurant, The Rusty Nail. Please do come and join us again....

Reviewed 28 June 2016

We were celebrating a wedding, a special birthday and our 25th wedding anniversary and were only too happy to splurge on these celebrations. However, the Beach Shack is not Congress Hall. It is really a high priced motel. So make sure when you make reservations that you know where you're going to be! However, I must say that they did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
CRGManagement, General Manager at Beach Shack, responded to this review

Dear Susan D, Wow, thank you for splurging on your celebrations and staying with us! Congratulations! We are so pleased that you loved our pillows and had a wonderful night's sleep. We work very hard to elevate the bedding experience in our guest rooms and are glad you noticed. Best, Charley Gaudio General Manager

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 km away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#14 of 37 in Cape May
213 reviews
1.5 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
641 reviews
0.7 km away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#29 of 37 in Cape May
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
484 reviews
1.6 km away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#16 of 37 in Cape May
517 reviews
1.9 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beach Shack is a fresh, new, fun alternative for beachfront vacations. You will feel comfortable wearing your flip flops all day long. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beach Shack

Address: 205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Price Range: €124 - €304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Shack 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Beach Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shack Hotel Cape May
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beach Shack staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Montclair, New Jersey
Ft. Worth, TX
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Beach Shack staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“North side of hotel facing the ocean. Second and third floor great view!”
 of 5 bubbles T2827BBmarkr, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the third floor have a fabulous beach view.”
 of 5 bubbles lbaileyart, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upper room not behind the restaurant Room 310, 309 and 308 are good choices”
 of 5 bubbles john9572, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed downstairs next to the pool, which was nice during the day while the kids played at the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 810jacquelinek, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Third floor good views”
 of 5 bubbles Elratongmickey, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5