We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dormer House

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Dormer House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Dormer House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 192: English reviews
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 11 August 2016

I stayed here in the off-season for a conference but had a wonderful experience. The breakfast was a little limited as a result but, not being mush of a breakfast person, that was fine. Friends who have stayed here in the high season have told me the breakfast is great during those times. In any case, the room was comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtntrvlr99
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We try to be as flexible as possible with our breakfasts. Alternating between a bread day to an egg day all year round but can accommodate special requests or allergies and such. So sorry it seemed limited! I'm so glad you enjoyed staying with us and you are certainly welcome back any time!...

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Just got back from a weekend at the Dormer House and can not put into words how special this place is. From the front porch swing to the amazing breakfast to watching the trolleys and carriages roll down the street... It was all truly special. My bf and I went bed and breakfast sightseeing to assess would we have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer L
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much for such a kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to see you again sometime in the future. :) -Diana The Dormer House

Parkersburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Dormer house. We stayed in the Smith Cottage which is a two room suite. The accommodations while not perfect, were fine for the amount of time we stayed. There is a jacuzzi tub in the "living room". We found this a bit awkward. The bedroom was nice. However, my complaint is with housekeeping. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PamInABQ
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am so sorry for the dust you mentioned, we try so hard to keep everything as clean as possible and it seems that was overlooked. But I appreciate you letting me know about your issues so we can take...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 15 June 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Dormer Suite for two midweek nights before memorial day weekend (the calm before the storm!) and had a lovely experience. This was my first bed and breakfast stay and I extremely pleased this was my first one was such a success. We arrive late afternoon from Princeton, parked the car in the available...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tori N
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much for these kind words! Yes, the on site parking is definitely a plus in Cape May especially during the busy season. It certainly helps being close enough to town and the beach that you can just park and then forget about the car until you have to unfortunately return home. So glad you enjoyed our...

Somerset, New Jersey
Reviewed 7 June 2016

My wife and I stayed here 6/3 to 6/5 and it was a wonderful experience. It was my Christmas gift (I like to go to Cape May in the summer but hear it's wonderful during the holiday months). It was a charming, warming, and relaxing experience. We arrived on Friday and the room (the Sharon room) was nice and comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank onellife210
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

I'm so glad that you both enjoyed your stay with us for your anniversary! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and you are welcome back anytime! :) Have a great summer, Diana The Dormer House

Manchester, NJ
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Smith Cottage- beautiful little place. We had a whirlpool tub alloy ourselves. Very romantic! The bed was really comfortable and we both slept like ROCKS. The sitting room has a faux fireplace for ambiance. The shower is big enough for two. And breakfast was superb. The coffee is delicious!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank unsissy
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Wonderful! I'm so happy that you enjoyed your room and the breakfast too. :) We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our home and hope to see you again sometime in the future! Thanks again, Diana The Dormer House

Reviewed 22 May 2016

We had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at the Dormer House and loved it. We were supposed to stay there at the end of the summer, but our reservation didn't go through. They not only got us a place to stay back in August, they gave us 2 free nights of our choice at their place. We chose the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

I'm so glad you were able to come back and spend 2 nights with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our property! It really means so much to us to hear and I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you are able to get away again sometime...

Westmont, New Jersey
Reviewed 15 May 2016

My daughter gave me the best gift @ Christmas... a one night stay at "The Dormer House" I was over the top excited. My husband and I decided to use it on our 13th wedding anniversary. We arrived early afternoon and immediately felt the charm of this 13 room B&B. We choose the "Diana Suite" named for the inn keepers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JandJSmith237
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Wow, thank you so much for such a kind review! It means the world to us that you enjoyed your stay. :) We hope you come back and see us again sometime in the future! Best, Diana, The Dormer House

Marlton, New Jersey
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We stayed here 10-13 December, and the Dormer House is beautiful. The way it is lit up at Christmas Time is absolutely amazing and it definitely feels like Christmas. The InnKeepers are extremely nice and helpful. It was apparent they enjoy running a B&B - it felt very cozy. Our Room was great! The Jacuzzi looking into the main room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ghostrider2011
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much for such a kind review! It really means so much to us that you enjoyed everything from the room to breakfast to the afternoon tea and treats. We certainly love being Innkeepers and as a family run business it just means that much more to us. Thank you again and hope to see again sometime...

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 December 2015

We just completed our second stay this year. We wanted to experience the Christmas season in Cape May. Once again our stay was lovely. We did the Christmas Candlelight House Tours where we visited a number of homes decorated for Christmas including the Emlen Physick Estate. Most had the Victorian flavor and were very nice, but both my wife and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TOrt00
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for returning for your second stay! Christmas is definitely a magical time to be in Cape May. Everyone does such a great job with the lights and tours and we just love being a part of that. Glad you enjoyed our house the most ;) If you haven't received the scone recipe send me an email...

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,157 reviews
0.7 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
1,126 reviews
0.9 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#8 of 37 in Cape May
548 reviews
0.3 km away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
263 reviews
1.2 km away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#4 of 39 in Cape May
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Dormer House

Address: 800 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2310
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Dormer House Hotel Cape May
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dormer House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
New York City, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Dormer House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms pictures and details are online”
Lingo114, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“first floor room, with windows looking on to the outside porch. Shady.”
727lindaw, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dormer suite was a LUXURY: spacious, hidden from traffic areas on the third floor of the house (very quite), and tons of windows!”
torin465, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Check out their website for a detailed list and location of each room to choose which is best for you.”
shawnc866, 20 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Our favorite is the Smith Cottage-also the priciest. We have stayed in 2 other delightful suites also.”
S9199ACrichardg, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5