We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Save
Share
100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
US$124
US$108
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$108
Priceline
TraveluroUS$124
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (150)
360
Panoramas (39)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1613Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 992
  • 436
  • 87
  • 51
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
SEAN K wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
The staff were rude, rooms were dirty and not cleaned per request. Never delivered sopa and shampoos, when I asked for towels, just brought me one. General manager is incompetent and never talked to me.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy Bergeron, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Responded 4 days ago
I appreciate you taking the time to respond via social media, however I feel I should clarify why you are upset with your stay. You asked for a refund and because you had booked a discounted rate with a 3 day cancellation policy, we did not honor your request. When I DID e-mail you, your response was that you did not want a refund, just your points and your folio. However, I had clear notes from Hilton Guest Assistance that you had requested a refund. RE: our cleanliness, we had a surprise inspection from AAA, just last week. The inspection included testing of surfaces throughout the guest rooms, we passed every single test. This information will be added to the AAA website, as we will be a Clean Certified AAA property. I do apologize if you did not receive amenity requests as timely as you would have liked, the entire hospitality industry is short staffed. The wonderful people that are showing up to work every day are absolutely killing themselves. I also apologize if I was not in my office to answer your call, after you screamed at my front desk agent. I was probably upstairs cleaning a room or assisting with maintenance or working an overnight audit shift. I guess my incompetence stems from being available for every department of the hotel that needs me right now, and for making sure the staff here get's the credit they deserve for being here, not sitting home.
Read more
Safari23778533685 wrote a review May 2021
Tampa, Florida2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
I lived in Portsmouth for my junior year in Portsmouth High School, Go Clippers! It was in 1969-70 and my family and I just returned from a tour in England. Portsmouth reminded us all of our extended holiday in England and it was a perfect transition back to America. Anyway, the stay in the Hilton Garden Inn was lovely; it location was perfect and close to all of the sites in downtown. The room was clean and comfortable and we had a two sided view of downtown and the harbor. The staff was courteous and efficient and we felt safe from the COVID. Thank you Portsmouth Hilton for a great stay!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Island Hospitality Management, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Responded 16 Jun 2021
Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are really glad to hear that your stay with us was a success!
Read more
Concernedcustomer805 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Hotel is in a great location in downtown. We stayed two nights and the second morning I requested new towels since our ones from the prior day were still damp (and dirty). I was told they’d be right up (9:15). I called back at 10:15 and was told we were next in line and it would be 20 minutes because the towels were in the dryer! so I requested a late check out and was given an extra 30 minutes. The towels never came, when we were leaving I went to the front desk and told her to cancel our request since it was check our time. No acknowledgement from staff that they were sorry, all she said was “what room”. Disappointed that we spent $500 and didn’t receive clean towels for our showers.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Island Hospitality Management, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I am having a meeting with our team to address this, as this is not our standards. We thrive to give all our guests a great experience and we apologize for not been able to provide you with one.
Read more
slarrabee41 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
No towels in room, no room service available. We paid a high price for no service available. Valet parking only as no onsite parking is offered even with high price of rooms. Room service was unable to accommodate because they were short staffed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Island Hospitality Management, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your recent feedback. We do apologize that you were unhappy. We seek to provide a great experience for all of our guests and hope to have another opportunity to do that for you in the future!
Read more
Mac wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions
Exactly what you'd expect from a Hilton Garden Inn. No frills/nothing special to write home about, but a nice, clean room centrally located to a lot of restaurants and activities in Portsmouth. We just stayed for one night on a longer drive, but were definitely satisfied.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Island Hospitality Management, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
We appreciate you sharing your feedback and hope we have the opportunity to host you again in the future!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton garden inn portsmouth downtown hotel portsmouth, portsmouth hilton garden inn, hilton portsmouth
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
131
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Market Square (0.2 km), The Music Hall (0.3 km), and Monkey Mind Escape Rooms (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Green Elephant, Ristorante Massimo, and Cure.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Strawbery Banke Museum (0.6 km), Moffatt-Ladd House & Garden (0.1 km), and John Paul Jones House, part of the Portsmouth Historical Society (0.3 km).
Is Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.