We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ashburn House

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fitzwilliam
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ashburn House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ashburn House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 72: English reviews
Cranston, Rhode Island
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were going to be doing some cross country skiing at Windblown and we were looking for a place to stay. We found the Ashburn House on Windblown's web site. After doing a little research we decided to book our stay at Ashburn House. We were not disappointed. When we got to the house we were greeted by Carole and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
Carole B, Owner at Ashburn House, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, Thank you so much for your thoughtful, generous comments. We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope we do see you again! We also appreciated knowing how you found us and are delighted that you had such perfect days for skiing at Windblown. Carole and Ken

Quincy, Massachusetts
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Carole and Ken were extremely generous hosts, in offering us and another military couple a free night's stay over Veterans Day weekend. We were very happy with our stay. The house is beautiful - with a lot of history and very well maintained. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. As soon as we arrived, Carole greeted us warmly, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro A
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We are hiking the M&M (Metacomet and Monadnock) trail (now called the New England Trail or NET) from the CT shore to Mt. Monadnock. The Ashburn House is perfect for those hiking the last 4 sections! Our room was spotless and the bed comfortable. We were spoiled with a home made (yes - not from a mix!) warm chocolate brownie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NEThiker2013
Norfolk, Nebraska
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We found the Ashburn house to be very special. To start --the house is over 200 years old and the owners have kept much of that historical charm through out. That is very important to us. And the breakfast was delicious and the presentation was top notch. Ken and Carole was very welcoming and a joy to talk with. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevin p
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Ashburn House for a night after climbing mount Monadnock. We stayed in the Country Room, which has it's own attached bath with a delightful claw-footed tub that allowed us to have a wonderful soak after a great climb. Hosts Ken and Carole were both delightful, and the breakfast in the morning was among the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George O
MA
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I stayed one night in early August while climbing Mt. Monadnock. We loved it - was more than expected. We hadn't stayed in this type of place before. We stayed in the room with the private bath - was big and even had a little library bookshelf of its own. The food/breakfast was amazing and worth the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa-summer l
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Very nice people run this B&B. They go out of their way to accommodate you. The breakfast was great. I would definitely stay there again! The room was cute too. I hope I can find a reason to go back someday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
Ashland, Ohio
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Fitzwilliam is everything a Midwesterner ever expected of New England, and Ashburn House is the quintessential New England B&B -- a beautiful old home loaded with antiques, but just comfortable enough. It welcomes children, too, and our daughter loves the innkeeper's brownies. But breakfast was the real highlight of our stay. Carol uses ingredients fresh out of her garden, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LokisMom_13
Newport, Tennessee, Usa
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This B&B welcomes children. There are toys to play with and kid friendly things to do nearby. We enjoyed the 3 course breakfasts with fresh fruits and vegetables. Great ice cream shop in walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
Carole B, Owner at Ashburn House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, Rachel. We enjoyed meeting your lovely family and the children were delightful. I was glad you found so many interesting things to do in and around Fitzwilliam, too!

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2013

If you are in the Keene area stay here you will not be disappointed. The owners Carole and Ken make you very welcome. The breakfasts are very good and the room we stayed in the Blue room was great. We unfortunately left some of our luggage when we left and Carole went to a lot of trouble to forward it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan D

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzwilliam
19.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel
20.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
13.2 km away
Benjamin Prescott Inn
Benjamin Prescott Inn
#1 of 4 in Jaffrey
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
Little River Bed and Breakfast
20.0 km away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
151 reviews
9.2 km away
Monadnock Inn
Monadnock Inn
#2 of 4 in Jaffrey
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An intimate early 1800's Bed & Breakfast in the heart of the historic district of Fitzwilliam. We welcome couples, singles, and families to experience the secrets of rural New Hampshire through a stay in an elegantly renovated inn. Full robust to gourmet breakfasts with local foods offered daily. We accommodate special diets when known in advance.The Monadnock Region is rich with outdoor opportunities: climbing, biking,hiking, skiing, swimming as well as art/culture/antiques and deliciousdining options. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ashburn House

Address: 20 Upper Troy Road, Fitzwilliam, NH 03447
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Fitzwilliam
Price Range: €92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ashburn House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Rose Room was the one with a fireplace but the bathroom is a short walk down the hall.”
alicedi11, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Blue Room is roomy and has an awesome bed.”
CraigM142, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This is a B&B. Not all rooms with on suite bath.”
judithamaurice, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Blue room has the most comfortable bed ever.”
607samanthag, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The Blue room has a beautiful four poster canopy bed. The rainshower shower was delightful.”
maryg505, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5