We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Ogallala

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Ogallala
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 239: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Ogallala
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is right off I80 so we thought the noise would be a problem, but our room faced north so the traffic could not be heard. This is an older hotel, but it was clean and the beds were comfy so it satisfied our needs. Restaurants near hotel as well as gas stations & tourist sites.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Csehnert
Sarah S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you choose our hotel for your overnight stop. We are glad that you enjoyed our comfy beds and the restaurants nearby. Come see us again!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a total of 4 different hotels in Nebraska, Kansas and Oklahoma. This particular hotel was more expansive then the others. Considering April should be off peak or maybe it is the city or what is around, it did seem a little overpriced. The room was nice and clean with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpiderSD
Sarah S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your clean, comfortable room and that our staff was helpful and friendly. I apologize for the grab bar situation and that you thought we were overpriced. We are competitive with other Holiday Inn Express' in the area and we will keep your suggestions about the grab bar in mind...

Quincy, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a fast trip to Ogallala over the weekend and the company I was visiting set up lodging at the Holiday Inn Express. I'm glad they did. The hotel was nice, the room was large, clean and comfortable. The hotel is close to everything in town including restaurants and downtown. Check in as a breeze and the staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
Sarah S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review

Excellent review! We are glad that your company set up your reservation at our property. Great to hear that your room was large, clean and comfy for you and that you were able to enjoy some of the local flavor. Come see us again soon!

Omaha
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for Business. The room was ok. Had problems with the TV and the outlet by the sink. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was great. So much to choose from. Especially the coffee.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MonicaC5
Sarah S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and especially our coffee selections. Sorry that you experienced these problems with your stay and our maintenance staff was made aware of this issue and has corrected it. Thank you again for choosing our hotel. Hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Spring Arbor
Reviewed 4 March 2017

A short distance from Boot Hill on a side street stands a Holiday Inn Express. The ambience is authentic old west with pine cone carpeting and log decor. It was clean, and we loved the wonderful white bed and bath linen that is so important to us. Our room had a cute log porch and we would have enjoyed it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjfort
Sarah S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review

Glad you were able to enjoy some of the history of our town and experience our western charm. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your clean room and balcony. Come try it again when the weather is warmer! (We won't tattle on ya for going to DQ, Delicious!)

Okoboji, Iowa
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We cross the country routinely...and look forward to (...or more like plan to) stay in this HIE in Ogallala! Warm-friendly staff, clean-quiet rooms, convenient to the interstate and local restaurants... We especially get a kick out of their breakfast staff. What a hoot!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
Sarah S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review

Thank you Mike for your review. We are so glad to hear that you love our hotel so much that you plan to stay with us on your cross country journeys. Our staff loves to get to know our guests and I will let our breakfast staff know how much you enjoy them and also our housekeepers who work very...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

We had traveled all day and I was so wonderful to find this place. It was very clean and comfortable. The beds were not to hard and the bathrooms were extremely clean. The breakfast lady was fabulous also! Thanks for refreshing weary travelers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth B
Sarah S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review

Great review! We are so happy that you chose our hotel for your lodging needs. We are glad that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms, and especially our comfy beds and our ExpressStart breakfast. I will pass along your comments to our staff. It's wonderful that you were able to be refreshed for your next day of traveling. Come...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 2 December 2016

The Holiday Inn Express in Ogallala was a wonderful experience. We had to stay for a work function and the two women that checked us in were warm and welcoming. The rooms were nice and the showers were very warm. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were even marked with soft and firm on the cases. There are mini...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kestri
Barry J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and your review of your stay. It is our goal to give the best service and accommodations that our city offers. We are American owned and we take pride in giving our guests the best value for their stay. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 30 November 2016

There is plenty good to say about this hotel. Right off the highway (more on that in a second) and a great stop along LONG I-80 trips, and it's close enough to fast food and fuel options. But be sure to get a room facing the back! If your room faces the interstate, you will here the trucks using engine/Jake...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EnjoyTravelAlways
Barry J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Unfortunately at any hotel there can be some outside noise that filters through the HVAC unit. We do offer ear plugs if desired and any room will be as quiet as you need to be. Tesla has installed 6 Super Charger recharge stations in the back of our lot and they are now totally functional. Tesla...

Lincoln, NE
Reviewed 30 November 2016

There are only 2-3Star hotels in town but the other one is $50 less per night! The holiday Inn franchise is an unbelievably expensive place to stay at I've found. I hadn't stayed at one for years, but when a friend booked this one we checked in late and found it was $114 before taxes---and every city assumes that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis N
Barry J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review

Thank you for your personal observations. Unfortunately, at other cheaper properties that you mention you haven't stayed at they tend to offer less personal service and hospitality than we are known for. You certainly have the right to try out another motel for a little less, however, we often have guests come back to us stating that it was a...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogallala
0.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 8 in Ogallala
493 reviews
0.3 km away
Stagecoach Inn
Stagecoach Inn
#5 of 8 in Ogallala
296 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in Ogallala
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 km away
Days Inn Paxton
Days Inn Paxton
#1 of 1 in Paxton
107 reviews
0.7 km away
Super 8 Ogallala
Super 8 Ogallala
#1 of 8 in Ogallala
378 reviews
0.1 km away
Days Inn Ogallala
Days Inn Ogallala
#4 of 8 in Ogallala
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Express, Ogallala, NE, located 3 hours from Denver, 4 hours from Lincoln, and 4 1/2 hours from Omaha via Interstate 80,exit 126. We invite you to visit Nebraska's Cowboy Capitol and Recreational Capitol! Known for it's role as the end of the Texas Trail Drives in the late 1800's, Ogallala has been designated as Nebraska's Cowboy Capitol. Boot Hill, the town's first cemetery, is now a historic park and tombstone history of early Ogallala. As home of Nebraska's largest playground, Lake McConaughy, also reigns as Nebraska's Recreation Capital. It's a little bit of "Paradise" right here in Nebraska. A treasure that brings folks from all over to enjoy the serenity of the white sand beaches and the brilliant blue skies of Nebraska. Add Great hunting, fishing, bird watching, watersports, and plenty of crystal clear water - paradise! Hotel amenities include it's free signature complimentary Express Start hot breakfast. It includes biscuits and gravy, omelet or scrambled eggs, bacon or regular and turkey sausage, fruit, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll and a unique, one of a kind pancake machine. Visit Ogallala,and the western themed Holiday Inn Express Hotel. 2014 Certificate of Excellence Award from Trip Advisor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ogallala

Address: 501 Stage Coach Drive, Ogallala, NE 69153
Region: United States > Nebraska > Ogallala
Price Range: €118 - €186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ogallala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ogallala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ogallala Hotel Ogallala
Holiday Inn Ogallala
Ogallala Holiday Inn Express
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Ogallala staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bellevue, Nebraska

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Ogallala staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Think they're all just fine.”
374miket, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get one facing away from the highway.”
EnjoyTravelAlways, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check out the price of other hotels in the area, you'll find this is by far the highest...book@ alternative websites save at least $10/nite.”
dlnun, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose north facing room to avoid highway noise”
DonnaB726, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the north side may have less Interstate noise.”
698maddief, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5