We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Burchell's White Hill Farmhouse Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minden
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Burchell\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Burchell's White Hill Farmhouse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 21: English reviews
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This was our second time to visit the Kearney, NE area during the March crane migration season. We decided to try Burchell's because it was so highly rated and in the hopes we would meet other passionate crane watchers. The ratings don't do justice to our experience. Bob and Linda have created a wonderful bed and breakfast in the middle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeltaDonH
mindencountyinn, Owner at Burchell's White Hill Farmhouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great pictures and kind words. We enjoy our guests who come to watch the spring crane migration.They travel to Central Nebraska in March...not exactly a well known vacation spot or season. The sandhill cranes put on a great show, the local attractions are interesting and worthwhile, our employees are hardworking and friendly, we strive to exceed...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I was at the Inn with my sister in March 2012. We came to Nebraska for the sandhill crane migration. The Inn offered a wonderful mid-week discount package for sandhill crane watchers and I'm so glad we stayed with them. It's a real farmhouse in the country with all the charm of the old and the comfort of the new....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan K
mindencountyinn, Owner at Burchell's White Hill Farmhouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words. I'll pass them on to our hard working staff. Hope you can come back in the near future.

Twin Falls, Idaho
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

We found the inn when trying to find a place to eat in Minden. It is off the main path with no signs so it was just luck that we thought to Google for a place to eat and the listing came up. We had a wonderful family meal and visit with the owners. Service was excellent and the home...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank frongmom
mindencountyinn, Owner at Burchell's White Hill Farmhouse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed dinner. As we recall, your family had been traveling for almost a month and your son reported dinner at the Farmhouse Inn was the best meal since leaving home. Your positive comments will be shared with our staff. Traveling a short distance from the...

Salina
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Unlike the other reviews, our experience at Burchell's was disappointing. Our room was unbearably hot yet Mrs Burchell asked us not to open the door to the balcony exit because we'd let flies in. Sure enough, we found dead flies on the floor around the beds. They advertise free wireless internet, however they do not keep the router plugged in...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Seahawkfan12
mindencountyinn, Owner at Burchell's White Hill Farmhouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit. We are sorry that you stay was disappointing. Your reservation was for March 7 and 8 and you requested no blind tickets. This was confirmed in an e-mail dated February 28, 2012. You arrived on the March 8 instead of the 7th. After eight e-mails, numerous phone...

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We just returned from a trip to Nebraska to see the crane migration. We spent three nights at the farmhouse and found it to be the perfect choice. Bob and Linda do their utmost to make you feel welcome. The rooms are all very comfortable, most with their own entrances. Linda's breakfasts and Bob's smoked meat dinners were all delicious....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ScoutsMom62
mindencountyinn, Owner at Burchell's White Hill Farmhouse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words. It is always the guests who make our efforts as innkeepers so much fun.

Reviewed 20 September 2011

My husband and I spent one night in the Bobby Joe Room. We were on vacation and traveling to Colorado. Our room was very nice and comfortable. We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was very good. The breakfast at the Farmhouse was good too. Bob and Linda were very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank PrincessLea3
Crete, Nebraska
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed @ Burchell's White Hill Farmhouse Inn on a trip to see Pioneer Village and the Archway @ Kearney...The rooms were very clean and they had anything and everything you would need (in case you forgot to bring it). They have a restaurant in another building and everything was made fresh from scratch. Breakfast @ the BIG house was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank papawrngr
mindencountyinn, Owner at Burchell's White Hill Farmhouse Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit and took the time to write a review. Our family's historical location between Minden and Kearney in Central Nebraska and less than 15 minutes from I-80 usually works well for our guests. Many comment about how much they enjoy the "quiet" of being out in the country and off the highway....

Simpsonville
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Burchell's is just the right mix of old and new. Rooms are comfortable sized with modern individually controlled Heat/AC. Wireless Internet sometimes dropped out but it was nice to have it. Breakfasts were good with lots of fresh fruit and eggs or french toast. There is a restaurant in another building on the property and the food there was also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DGrits
10010
Reviewed 20 March 2011

My wife and I flew to Nebraska specifically to witness the Spring Sandhill Crane migration and spent two cozy nights at Burchell's White Hill Farmhouse Inn. The Inn is very close to the Kearney Rowe Sanctuary blinds - and the surrounding farm land is a great place to see hawks, kestrels, merlins, meadowlarks, etc. The Inn is newly renovated and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Travelin_Fuel
Orange City, IA
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stopped at Burchell's for a night of rest and found the place to be everything we could want in a B&B. The host and hostess are wonderfully friendly as was the farm cat, Boots who was on hand to be petted every time we stepped outside. The room was warm on a COLD winter night (I especially appreciated the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DisplacedColoradan

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
15.1 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 22 in Kearney
259 reviews
14.7 km away
Hampton Inn Kearney
Hampton Inn Kearney
#1 of 22 in Kearney
636 reviews
14.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kearney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
New Victorian Inn & Suites - Kearney
14.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kearney
13.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Kearney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy quiet country charm in an historic farmhouse with ultra-modern conveniences. Select from four comfortable guestrooms with private bathrooms and entrances. We feature farm fresh complete breakfast; beautiful gardens and grounds; prairie walking trails and fishing ponds: and an on-site restaurant...all in the middle of a working farm. Located near Oregon Trail and Spring Crane Migration Viewing Areas. Just 15 minutes off of I-80. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Burchell's White Hill Farmhouse Inn

Address: 1578 30th Road, Minden, NE 68959
Region: United States > Nebraska > Minden
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Burchell's White Hill Farmhouse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the Billy Joe room, upstairs and to the left, Very quiet and secluded”
  • Our room taken from the bed
  • Lovely Queen Bed, room for many Bears & Mouse
  • Our Bathroom
  • Another view of our Room
 of 5 bubbles paulgG2935QE, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the one with two twins. It was very comfortable! The entire place is quiet and all appeared equally comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles dr2u, 20 Mar 2014 | Read review
“We ended up opening the door to our room despite the flies and it cooled down enough to get a good night's sleep. The bed was very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Seahawkfan12, 29 Apr 2012 | Read review
3 of 3