We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crosswinds Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Crosswinds Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 211: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Very clean and close to the park. Friendly & helpful staff. Breakfast area is small does get a little congested during the morning. Was not expecting much from this hotel, but if I do return to Yellowstone, I would stay here.

Helpful?
Thank Geoabra
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We have just broken ground on our new breakfast area, it will be expanded and 3 times the size of our current area. We are super excited that we've begun this project and we look forward to providing our valued guests a much improved breakfast experience. I hope... More 

Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Friendly helpful staff. Clean spacious rooms. Pool room was a little old but not a problem. Breakfast was great and well stocked. What more can you say. Would definitely stay at this place again in a heartbeat. Price is a little high but that seems to be the normal these days. $130.

Helpful?
Thank Homebody1966
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We have just finished installing a brand new floor in our pool building and have also ordered all new pool furniture that will be delivered in 6 to 8 weeks. We have also broken ground our new breakfast area, it will be expanded and 3 times the size... More 

Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
251 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Anna at the front desk made mine and my husband's stay so special for our anniversary week. She was extremely accommodating and even left us a personalized note and gift welcoming and congratulating us. It was such a sweet touch. Aside from that we were really happy with our room. It was very clean. There were homey touches with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank deegeegirl
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that your anniversary trip was special. I wish the weather was a bit warmer for you while you were here but hopefully you can come back again and stay with us! Please let me know if you ever want to visit again and I... More 

kc
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Everything in West Yellowstone was expensive, due to tourist trap. Traveling and decided to visit Yellowstone, we thought we could call and get a room at last minute, as it was after schools were back in session and the middle of the week. Third hotel I called and was able to get a room. Room was nice, loved the bear... More 

Helpful?
Thank dendonmo
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We agree, our breakfast area is too small. We are breaking ground this month on a new, expanded breakfast area. We are very excited to be able to provide a better breakfast experience for our valued guests. I hope that you will stay with us again and let us... More 

Sexau, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Most importantly, the room and the sleep quality were excellent. Big bed, very comfortable, lots of pillows, a great heater for the cold weather, and a bath. But the breakfast situation was terrible: about 10 tables for a pretty large hotel with dozens of rooms. So inevitably, it's an unpleasant scramble of people jostling over tables, with long queues. Bear... More 

Helpful?
Thank TS87
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We agree, our breakfast area is too small. We are breaking ground this month on a new, expanded breakfast area. We are very excited to be able to provide a better breakfast experience for our valued guests. The new area will have several very large bar counter tops with... More 

1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Great friendly and helpful employees, As an amputee they kindly gave me a first floor room close to the lobby where breakfast is served and also provided me with a shower stool. Best of all, they called me before I arrived to let me know these amenities would be provided - very comforting...Great complimentary hot breakfast, Newly remodeled bathrooms. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol m
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review

Hi Carol, Thank you so much for staying with us and for the great review! We loved having you stay with us and hope that you will come back again. Please remember that I always give a special return guest discount so feel free to contact me at crosswindsinn@aol.com or call the property and ask for myself or John if... More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

My wife & I stopped 2 nights at the Crosswinds Hotel to visit Yellowstone National park. The positives were that the carpark was large so parking the hire car was not a problem & checking in was swift. We asked for a quiet room & we got one at the rear of the hotel away from the main road. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim I
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I hope you will come again. We are very competitively priced for the area, I'd like to suggest for people who are on a tighter budget to please come visit during off peak season times. You will find rates much lower in the months of April, May and October and usually the weather is... More 

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Excellent check in, room was spacious with everything as advertised. Noisy fridge. Cookies from reception free and delicious. Good breakfast but sitting area far too small. If you want a seat be v early or late. Location good for centro and restaurants. Only 3 star due to price. Remember, taxes add approximately 20 dollars a day to your bill. P.S.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LosGatosConAgua
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. As you know West Yellowstone borders Yellowstone National Park, our property is just 3 blocks from the main entrance to it. While we understand that compared to other cities/towns that do not offer such amazing location, the price can seem high. We are priced very competitively for this... More 

Wasola, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I spent one night at the Crosswinds in September. The check in process was fast and friendly. The parking is a bit cramped but adequate. My room was very nicely appointed and comfortable. I loved the decor, which was Montana rustic. I had some issues: The door to the room was sprung and hard to close. The ceiling creaked whenever... More 

Helpful?
Thank therock1963
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for the minor issues you experienced. I am unsure which day in September you stayed but on September 9th we upgraded our entire system. If you stayed after that date and still experienced poor WiFi I would really appreciate if you would contact me at... More 

Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

This is a safe, clean and well located motel. This is not the Ritz, it's a place to stay while visiting Yellowstone. The rooms are large, clean with plenty of towels and a clean bathroom. A city park is right next door and the motel is within walking distance to restaurants, etc. Very close to Yellowstone park entrance. Pool and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dragontravel2012
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will choose us again if you are ever in the area. Please keep in mind I always offer a managers special discount to our return guests so please feel free to contact us at crosswindsinn@aol.com or call us to make sure you get that... More 

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 38 in West Yellowstone
638 reviews
0.8 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 38 in West Yellowstone
665 reviews
0.6 km away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 38 in West Yellowstone
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#28 of 38 in West Yellowstone
514 reviews
0.9 km away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 38 in West Yellowstone
512 reviews
0.6 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 38 in West Yellowstone
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Address: 201 Firehole, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range: €145 - €309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crosswinds Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crosswinds Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Crosswinds Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I always prefer top floor to not hear guests above me.”
 of 5 bubbles deegeegirl, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a ground-floor room if you have mobility issues, as there are no lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles TS87, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“This hotel has two stories with all rooms opening to the outside.”
 of 5 bubbles carolmF6888CA, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you do elect to stay here...don't get a room on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelhM6360JN, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ask for the back rooms”
 of 5 bubbles yourmama3, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay