We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Historic Tamarack Lodge

TripAdvisorUS$200*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$211*
US$200*
Great Deal
US$211*
US$211*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 267: English reviews
Start your review of Historic Tamarack Lodge
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed there just the one night in a cabin on the road. Was very clean, 2 big queen beds.There is a bar/restaurant in recp but when we were there I imagine it was still close season but we did get a drink and they did a very good latte in the morning, something which is difficult to find in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjferry060561
Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have to rate this lodge but have not stayed there This advice is about their policies. I recently made a reservation here and the woman I spoke with was very clear that the deposit was non-refundable. 5 days later I found that we could not go because of my son's work (he had approved vacation but another employee had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnieB4767
TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you were unhappy with the service you received from our staff on this occasion. We do make our policy very clear in order to avoid this kind of upset - it is unfortunate that in this instance it was not sufficient. I have looked into your case and we did not, in fact, charge you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Purpose of our trip was to see Glacier National Park. Even though the recent snows kept a good part of the park closed, we were still able to see many beautiful sites. Our stay at the Tamarack Inn was very enjoyable. Heather, our hostess, was very knowledgeable about the area and suggested other areas that we could see in addition...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank terryq197
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We do a snowshoeing trip to Glacier National Park every year. We usually stay at the Belton Chalet, but this year they were not opening their tap room, so we decided to try elsewhere. We selected the Historic Tamarack Lodge, and we were not disappointed! Everyone there was great! Friendly, professional, and accommodating. We stayed in one of the couples...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John R
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We stayed in the Bowman Cabin - a modern and very well designed cabin. Great wi-fi, very clean, accommodating staff, good location. We rented snowshoes and hiked into the beautiful Flathead National Forest right behind our cabin.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Love spending time there as a base camp for glacier national park hikes. Staff very friendly. Nice rooms and cabins for rent. Excellent accomdations. Wonderful feels like home to my husband and myself. Been staying there in July for over 10 years.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maryellenm1
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 25 October 2016

My partner and I just returned from a one week stay in Stimson Cabin and could not be more pleased. EVERYONE we encountered at Tamarck went out of their way to make sure our stay was great. The location to Glacier's West entrance can't be beat -- a 12 minute drive. The location to Kalispell can't be beat -- a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank white-daisies
Pasadena, California
Reviewed 24 October 2016

My sister and I stayed here in mid-October. We really enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean, cozy and quite large (Grizzly Room in the lodge). We enjoyed the friendly bar and spent some nice time in the common lodge room with a fire going and books and games to choose from. Tamarack is only 8 miles to West Entrance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryE995
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 17 October 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed here for almost a week in early September, We rented the Kintla cabin because we like having a full kitchen and we needed two beds since we can't always sleep together since I am such a light sleeper. The Kintla cabin seemed to fit what we needed since it had a bedroom with a queen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank exaslonghorn31
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 October 2016

liked this place a lot. great value. good location. great staff. nice bar b q joint on site. easy access to west glacier. free bear spray. rustic accommodations. good little breakfast place nearby. that's it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yo H

496 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (363)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Family Cabin (62)
Viewed
Griz Cabin (44)
Viewed
Lodge Room (30)
Viewed
Lofted Cabin (56)
Viewed
Motel Unit Cabin (37)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungry Horse
12.0 km away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
303 reviews
12.4 km away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
318 reviews
3.8 km away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
195 reviews
11.0 km away
Smoky Bear Ranch
Smoky Bear Ranch
#2 of 8 in Columbia Falls
36 reviews
1.9 km away
Mini Golden Inns Motel
Mini Golden Inns Motel
#2 of 4 in Hungry Horse
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in a scenic mountain valley in the midst of the Montana Rockies, the Historic Tamarack Lodge & Cabins embodies a classic ambiance with modern amenities for a year-round getaway in the Crown of the Continent. Originally constructed in 1907, the lodge maintains its rustic charm with a log cabin design, placing its long history alongside modern updates that make for a stay in comfort and relaxation. Enjoy the history and ambience of the historic lodge when you stay upstairs in our classic lodge rooms. Historic Motel Units, originally built to house workers on the nearby Hungry Horse Dam project, laid out in fourplexes provide budget accommodation adjacent to the lodge whilst 26 contemporary cabins located throughout the six acre property offer the perfect opportunity for a group or couple friendly retreat in the forest. All guests are free to relax in our Lodge Great Room and enjoy the character of the lodge throughout their stay. Sip on a tasty beverage from our Saloon and coffee bar, or nibble from our selection of onsite dining options while you relax by the fire on a snowy winter day or unwind from a day exploring the great Montana outdoors. With Montana's Flathead National Forest in your backyard and Glacier National Park your next door neighbor, the Historic Tamarack Lodge & Cabins offers the perfect setting for your next family vacation, corporate retreat, special event, or weekend getaway! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Historic Tamarack Lodge

Address: 9549 U.S. Highway 2 East, Hungry Horse, MT 59919
Region: United States > Montana > Hungry Horse
Price Range: €77 - €325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Tamarack Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Historic Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Tamarack Hotel Hungry Horse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Historic Tamarack Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
25 days ago
Tempe, Arizona
Central Point, Oregon
over a year ago
Phoenix, Arizona
over a year ago
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Historic Tamarack Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved the Bowman cabin, with kitchen, bath, and living room below and bedroom on the second floor.”
jenb557, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the loft cabins are set in the far back of the property -- surrounded by woods, quiet, etc.,”
white-daisies, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our front lodge room was quite noisy from lobby and road.Would choose room toward back of lodge next time.”
MaryE995, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“get something away from the road.”
yoh243, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We really liked the lofted cabin that border Forest Service land.”
696tm, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$200* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$211
Orbitz.comUS$211
Hotwire.comUS$211
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates