We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shilo Inn - Helena

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Shilo Inn - Helena
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 90: English reviews
Great Falls, Montana
Reviewed 27 October 2016

From the outside it's a nice looking place with signs proclaiming Affordable Excellence. Affordable? Yes. Excellent? No. Upon entering my room it smelled like someone had smoked in it. The burn marks in the bedspread verified that. The room was horribly outdated with wrinkles in the carpet, but the bed and bathroom was very clean so I stayed. The longer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 988montana2000
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived at 4 (checkin time) much earlier than we expected, to a just about empty parking lot, and wonder if we made a mistake. They had us blocked into a room that was not ready so just gave us one that was. It is dated but clean enough for a pleasant rest, and while convenient to I-15 and travellers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gonesouthagain
Tooele, Utah, United States
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We recently stayed here for 4 nights. We chose this hotel because it was dog friendly and because we've stayed at Shilo's in the past with good experiences. This location was a huge disappointment. First and foremost the hotel still has metal keys to open the room doors and the exterior entrance doors. The carpets in the corridor hallways were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather B
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We were here for one night. On arrival I was disappointed how close it was to the road. On entering our room we were both struck by the smell. It was musty and like someone had been smoking in there. The decor is quite dated but the room was clean. It's quite noisy there, you can hear people in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn - Helena, responded to this review

Dear Shilo Guest, Thank you for writing a comment about your stay. I am glad that you found your room to be clean. Guests find that rooms on the north side of the hotel away from the road are much quieter. Do ask for a room towards the back north side should you have the occasion to stay with us...

Renton
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Not a great location or facility. Noisy from traffic. Heard every door and footstep in the wing, all floors. 3 barking dogs in room next door. At least they waited till 6 AM to howl. "Breakfast" was a joke. Not even a decent table to sit at. Staff made it obvious you were bothering them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank normk895
Belen, New Mexico
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Is the best I can say. Arrived at 230 and was asked to come back in an hour as room wasn't ready. Ok, no problem. (Hey, maybe the help didn't show up?). Chairs are stained and the bedspread has a hole in it. I find an empty Coke cpbottle in the closet area. But no toiletries. At all. I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thequeenmum
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 28 July 2016

This hotel is very close to the Interstate. A little dated, but clean and comfortable. Close to eating places and grocery stores. Check in/check out was easy. Counter staff we dealt with were very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bryanm01
Columbia Falls, Montana
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We spent one night. We had a room lower level which is a day light basement type. They have a microwave, fridge, hair dryer, ironing board. The odd thing was a phone in the bathroom and towel rack in the shower. Carpet had stains in the room. The front desk staff wasn't overly friendly though. But if all you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank koralynsh
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn - Helena, responded to this review

Dear Shilo Guest, Thank you for posting a comment about your stay. I am glad you found our price decent and had a good night sleep. Sincerely, Kathy Carey Manager

Gardnerville, Nevada
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

But everything else is lacking. The rooms are clean but the staff is lackluster at best. The cleaners left a vacuum in front of our door. Our trash cans were all over the room. TV is broken has lines through it and remote doesn't work. The WiFi is terrible. 3 networks to connect to and all 3 are bad, won't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muleyfever
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

I wouldn't say this place is poor quality, but it is definitely low budget and bare bones. Lots of traffic noise due to easy access off the freeway. We needed an affordable place at 1 in the morning for our road weary family and this place was very inexpensive. The night clerk was helpful. It is an old property. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborah m

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helena hotels
0.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
0.5 km away
Jorgenson's Inn & Suites
0.3 km away
Howard Johnson Helena
Howard Johnson Helena
#16 of 21 in Helena
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Quality Inn Helena
Quality Inn Helena
#17 of 21 in Helena
42 reviews
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Shilo Inn - Helena

Address: 2020 Prospect Ave, Helena, MT 59601-3254
Region: United States > Montana > Helena
Price Range: €63 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shilo Inn - Helena 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shilo Inn - Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn - Helena Hotel Helena
Helena Shilo Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shilo Inn - Helena staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shilo Inn - Helena staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Drive by to one of the other hotels across the street. Pay more....it'll be worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles 988montana2000, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a downstairs floor, there is not elevator”
 of 5 bubbles C1229XRheatherb, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you stay here ask for a ground floor room. Better yet, get a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles thequeenmum, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not really sure which side we were on, but we were on the third floor. Happy with what we got.”
 of 5 bubbles bryanm01, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Woodframe building - I chose second floor to avoid any noise above.”
 of 5 bubbles HighExpectationsYVR, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay