We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cheshire

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cheshire
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

882 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 879: English reviews
Start your review of The Cheshire
 Click to rate
Studio City
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

It's a real shame that this hotel does not clean their rooms or make sure that the sheets, towels, and shower curtains do not look worn and used. When we entered the room for the first time it looked like we were walking into someone else's room that hadn't been cleaned in a while. There was a bug on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StudioCityLuv2travel
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Last night we stayed in the Cheshire in Saint Louis. We were not happy with our room. I think the lamps weren't cleaned for more than 3 months...hair that wasn't ours we found back in the bathroom. The park guardian was shouting at us from one side to the other of the parking instead of being polite and coming to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peeters-peeters
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I would have really liked our stay, but there were loud guests playing loud music. The guests were talking loudly cursing from 2:30-5:00 a.m. They woke my husband and I up. We were staying for our anniversary. When my husband told the front desk, they said they would look into it. That was around 4:00 a.m. By 5:00 a.m. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zcbritton
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Long vacation wrapped up with an overnight stay in St. Louis. We chose the Cheshire because the price was right and the placed looked very cool. This place has the potential but is severely lacking in numerous categories. The look of an old British/Swiss hotel is fine but the place smells like a musty basement. Our first room was dirty....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam A
Chris H, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review

Hi there, I first want to thank you for choosing the Cheshire during this visit. It saddens me to hear you experienced so many difficulties during your stay. I hope you will give us another chance to show you how great the Cheshire can be. Thank you once again and have an amazing day! -Chris Howard

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is my favorite hotel! I went initially with a girl friend and enjoyed it so much I took my kids for a long weekend. Never before have I planned a vacation around a hotel but this hotel is different. There are so many things to do. If the weather is bad there are scavenger hunts and puzzles... Last time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vonnette m
Chris H, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review

Good day, I'm glad to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate you choosing the Cheshire. It seems like you really enjoyed the different activities we have to offer. We can't wait to have you stay with us again! -Chris Howard

Sabetha, Kansas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in town for a family wedding and this hotel was close to all the venues as well as other attractions, like the zoo. Every staff member we encountered was very friendly and professional. The morning breakfast was tasty and offered variety. The in-hotel pub was fun with awesome bartenders (a little over-priced but that's expected in a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhondaspellmeier
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I honestly didn't know what to expect when I arrived at this hotel. It was very different from the other places that I was accustomed to staying. However, it has been a great experience. Nathan at the Fox and Hound is absolutely amazing. He truly made it a wonderful experience. He never steered me wrong with food and drink choices....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terrica M
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've had a number of people tell us about this place, about how quaint and fun it is. A big advantage is that it's very close to Forest Park, so the zoo and art museum are within easy striking range. We were looking at taking a short break from the hustle and bustle of mid-Missouri (HA!) and check out STL,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FroggyHawk
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Terrible Terrible Service. After I checked out, the manager rudely called through to make a point of me not paying for my stay. I explained that I confirmed with the accountant to make sure my payment was successful and the transfer was already being process as shown in my bank account. In returned, the manager said it was impossible and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank min2007
Chris H, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review

I want to first thank you for choosing the Cheshire hotel. I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us. Unfortunately, there is a process when room charges decline that we have to follow. That being said, I still want to apologize if we in any way made you feel disrespected. I hope you have a great...

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

This has always been a hidden gem of a St. Louis Hotel. Very clean. Nicely furnished English period rooms and specialty suites. On site olde English pub with great food and drinks. Basso and Boundary are 2 additional on site food and drink establishments. Boundary has an amazing brunch!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
Chris H, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review

Hi Tim, We always appreciate having return guests stay with us. We welcome you back to see us whenever you'd like to come visit. Thank you once again and have a great day! -Chris Howard

878 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (278)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:32
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (131)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (460)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Queen (75)
Viewed
Epic King Poolside Room (78)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Romeo & Juliet Suite (34)
Viewed
Superior King (65)
Viewed
The Hotel (92)
Viewed
Pool (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (140)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (75)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
919 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
387 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cheshire embodies the charm and authenticity of a traditional British inn with all the modern conveniences of today. Guest rooms range from our Deluxe class to our Royal class with turndown services and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cheshire

Address: 6300 Clayton Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63117-2500
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Price Range: €152 - €254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cheshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Lodge St Louis
Cheshire Inn St Louis
Cheshire Saint Louis
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#14 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#26 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#42 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cheshire staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Cheshire staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room away from the road!”
FroggyHawk, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A beautiful, quiet place to relax. Such a friendly staff.”
1950gerry, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Cheshire has a great bar but live music from the bar is pretty loud in first floor rooms 101-105 (and possibly beyond).”
AMagone, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We like to have a different room each time- they are themed, which we appreciate”
O3159NXkarend, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“pool area? ask for ground floor room with access door into pool area.”
berty-c, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5