We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Phillips

106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • KC Fountains
    0.4 km
  • 4 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed yesterday
Pricey but worth it
My mom and I decided at the last minute to attend the ladies and... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

833 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 826: English reviews
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My mom and I decided at the last minute to attend the ladies and men's finals of the US Figure Skating Championships at the Sprint Center, so I wanted somewhere close by. This is about a seven minute walk, so that worked. The hotel is gorgeously redone, with all the art deco details left in place. We were in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrincessLeppard
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location in Downtown Kansas City (MO) walking distance to Sprint and Convention Centers. Newly renovated but old style, boutique type hotel with lot of charm and character. Room we had was spacious and comfortable. Very nice desk to put you laptop or tablet and work. Bathroom very modern and spacious. Unique bar in the basement with fantastic bartenders mixing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DozentC
Iowa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff was very friendly! Scott (shuttle driver) gave some great suggestions on what to see and do and even made reservations for us for supper! The desk staff was very helpful as well. The building is very neat and historic. This is not your newer high end feel but a historic relaxed feel. The rooms are very nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Capt_America_IA
Liberty
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are Kansas City locals and ended up staying at this hotel due to an impending ice storm. We booked through Expedia. When we attempted to check in, they had no record of our reservation. The desk staff was very accommodating and did everything they could to locate the reservation. (we ended up needing to call Expedia to sort it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine Z
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really pretty hotel. Even though it's going thru some reno's this does not effect the quality of service of the staff!!! They are so kind & the shuttle service is a huge bonus. They have given us coupons, shown us around & shuttled us to & from restaurants which makes it much easier for visitors. Awesome location!! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
RichardChanofsky, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review! It is great to hear from our guests, and we appreciate your recommendation. Hope to see you at the hotel again soon!

College Station, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a medical school interview at KCU early in the morning and decided to stay at hotel Phillips. Although there was a major renovation underway, the stay was fantastic. The historic aura of the hotel amazed me. The rooms are enormous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skuttd
RichardChanofsky, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Come visit us again soon, we'll have all of our restaurants open in the next coming weeks.

Lenexa, Kansas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked Hotel Phillips for our wedding in early November. As other reviewers have noted, the hotel was in the midst of a major renovation -- one that we had expected to be complete before our wedding. For various reasons, not least of which is that this is an 80-year-old building, that deadline was not hit. We worked with hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deron J
RichardChanofsky, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

Deron, Thanks for your review! We really enjoyed working with you, and were so happy things turned out as well as they did. I hope you can come back to the Hotel Phillips for years to come full of the fond memories from your big day.

Nevada, Missouri
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Old world charm with a modern flair. Even has the old mail chutes. The girls at the desk were very helpful/nice/funny. The valet staff were top notch. Our room, although small, was packed with everything. Bed was comfy. Quiet, dark, stocked well. Bathroom was great. Huge soft bath sheets. The location is great. Walking distance to food, Sprint Center and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can echo some of the other recent reviews about the current state of this hotel. The fact that there is absolutely nothing there is disappointing. It's sort of devoid of any energy or vibe. In fact, the mezzanine area would be a lovely place to sit and have a drink, but there is NO bar service and to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
RichardChanofsky, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

I'm sorry we disappointed you. During this transition period in our hotel we are doing our best to comfort our guests and mitigate disturbances due to the renovation, but it seems we did not meet your expectations and for that I am truly sorry. We do now have our coffee bar, Kilo Charlie open, and our restaurant and bar coming...

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We stayed at Hotel Phillips for 3 nights. The hotel itself is visually beautiful. I loved the 1930's decor. But there are absolutely NO amenities available, at least while this hotel is under remodel. No bar, no food available, no gym, no room fridge, no mini bar, no room safe, no pool. It's bare bones. It was almost like staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzie S

371 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 km away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 110 in Kansas City
993 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#46 of 110 in Kansas City
505 reviews
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#22 of 110 in Kansas City
1,019 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
1.8 km away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Phillips, listed on the National Register of Historic Places and Kansas City’s most historic hotel, has begun a $20 million gut renovation. The transformation includes every aspect of the building to bring the hotel back to its original 1930's elegance, while elevating the food and beverage offerings, comfort, amenities, and modern details. Our restaurant is currently closed. A Boutique Hotel that's Both Historic and hip. Can a hotel feel grand and yet intimate at the same time? Hip but never stuffy? That's the allure of Hotel Phillips, a historic gem in the heart of Kansas City's business, entertainment and arts district. Your experience starts with our breathtaking Art Deco lobby that made us Kansas City's most celebrated hotel in 1931. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Phillips

Address: 106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range: €137 - €265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phillips 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Phillips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillips Hotel Kansas City
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#21 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Phillips staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Phillips staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the 15th floor, so no traffic noise. I do recommend the double room to those traveling with friends.”
 of 5 bubbles PrincessLeppard, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“high floor is better”
 of 5 bubbles DozentC, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the corner suites are spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineZ385, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get up beyond 10th floor or you'll be looking at trash on top of other rooftops.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahhJ5944IK, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Just don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahbB9885YG, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5