We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,015 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kansas City Marriott Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,005: English reviews
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 19 September 2015

I'm not sure how they put people near the elevators in this hotel. It's extremely noisy. The elevator call dings loudly. It sounds like a doorbell ringing inside of your room. I could hear people using the restrooms and flushing toilets as if they were in my room. I could hear someone practicing music for hours and I was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KendraDawnRN
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay. I do apologize for the various noise issues that you encountered while being with us. I will be sharing your comments with the appropriate team so that the issues can be addressed. I am glad to hear that you found the bed comfortable and our staff...

Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

Hotel was very nice. Staff was friendly right when I walked in. I appreciated the parking vouchers i received at check in, made getting in And out of the garage very smooth. This hotel was located perfectly to the convention center where all my business was held. Only problems I saw were my light when you enter the room turned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissakbah
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you found our hotel very convenient to the Convention Center. It is a very short walk from either tower that you may stay in. I am glad that our staff assisted you with the parking vouchers and that it made it smooth for you either entering or exiting the garage. I...

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Elevators are really neat and tech forward. Lobby and Bar have a good atmosphere. Had breakfast in the restaurant. It was good, not great and service was less than average. Hotel room was very muggy and humid. Floors were actually damp. Bathroom was average and bed was very comfortable. Decent city views. Good location to convention center.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mms83
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. As you mentioned, we have recently renovated our lobbies, restaurant, bars, meeting and function areas. In the next few months we will be starting renovations on our guest rooms to update them and bring them up to the same level. I do apologize that the food and service in the...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 16 September 2015

I travel a TON for business and this was my first trip to Kansas City. Upon arrival, I was offered a government rate at checkin by the desk clerk because I am a government employee and that is the ONLY way I can stay at the hotel. It need to be understood that had the front desk clerk NOT offered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emily P
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. I understand that you have been contacted directly regarding this situation and I am sorry if it did not meet your expectations. I hope that you will consider our hotel for future trips to Kansas City when the government rate is available, and I would like to invite you to contact...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Just as cars get detailed and look brand new, the same needs to happen for hotels and it's time that someone with a practiced eye and a clipboard went into each and every room and looked at each door, window and carpet to note where maintenance is needed. Then this hotel would get an "excellent" instead of just a "very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cruisestitcher
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We recently completed our public area and meeting room renovation and we will be starting on our guest room renovation in 2016. We are finalizing the plans and many of things you mentioned will be changing in our guest rooms. We are very excited for the changes and the new look our guest rooms will...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 16 September 2015

A convention hotel is a convention hotel... NOT! Wow. Location, location, location. And everything was perfect when it comes to location. 1/2 block to the convention center. 3-4 blocks to every restaurant you could need... AND a crazy-wonderful downtown grocery store! I mean, and AWESOME sleek, modern and full service grocery store! Across the street is a counter-serve diner for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidandAngela
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. I am happy to hear that you loved the location of our hotel as it is so close to many local attractions and the great grocery store. I am pleased that all of our staff you...

Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

The front desk staff are always friendly and helpful. It's usually pretty loud and crowded in the lobby and this time was no exception. The rooms are spacious and appear to be clean. The beds are comfortable but the furniture is out dated and worn out. The workout room offers a variety of equipment and offers a yoga class in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shantay m
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. I do apologize for the condition of the furniture. We will be starting a renovation of all of our guest rooms in the near future and this is one of the...

Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewed 13 September 2015

We have stayed here several times. This review is for the suite we stayed in this weekend. This was not the best suite we have ever stayed in. It is two separate rooms, one set up as a living room and one is the bedroom with adjoining doors. It is not a true suite in that the bedroom can be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Littlegto67
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you like the location of our hotel as it is close to the Power & Light District and the Sprint Center. I am pleased that you found our staff pleasant and assisted you with anything you needed. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience...

Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

The worst Marriott we have ever stayed in. The TV was totally static like it was on an antenna. Maintenance came and worked on it. It was a little better but not much. No fridge. We paid $18 a night to park our own car only to find out the parking garage was full. The staff was nice and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcella S
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that you did not have a great experience at our hotel. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and we failed you on that. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with parking. We have a garage and in the event it gets full we do have an alternate...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 11 September 2015

After a long, tiring trip, got to the hotel and Kyle M. checked us in. His hospitality was exemplary and he showed great care for our well being. He greeted us with a smile, answered all of our questions, and did the utmost in ensuring a comfortable and fun stay. Thank you Kyle M.! A very nice and comfortable hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMWAnonymous
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that Kyle gave you wonderful service and answered all of your questions. We are pleased that you found our hotel comfortable and that you had a fun stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Kansas City.

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (15)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.4 km away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#13 of 110 in Kansas City
992 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#46 of 110 in Kansas City
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Phillips
Hotel Phillips
#43 of 110 in Kansas City
829 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.6 km away
Courtyard Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
BARCENTRAL
BARCENTRAL
Cuisines: American, Bar
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 W 12th St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1638
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range: €180 - €269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kansas City Marriott Downtown staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Lombard, Illinois
6 months ago
Winnipeg, Canada
21 days ago
Colorado Springs, Colorado

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Kansas City Marriott Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Concierge lounch is perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles AnnieMF, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a clean one!”
 of 5 bubbles J7558QXdavidk, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms in the older building face other buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles 259SharonW, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms overlooking Barney Allis Plaza give you a nice night time view.”
 of 5 bubbles Ganders1984, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are sent to the East / Muhlebach Tower, try to get an even numbered room, and ask about the curtains in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles steverR4493UC, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay