We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pack Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Pack Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 152: English reviews
Start your review of Pack Horse Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal! Very accommodating to vegans all the way through the meal. A good menu and very decent portions. Meat eaters also very happy with their choices! A great start to our break here. A popular place! Thank you for a really nice evening. Staff were really helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachelJenifer
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us - we always try to make sure there are some tasty choices for our Vegan and Vegetarian friends! Enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to find a place for lunch and saw the sign to the village from the A1. The inn is very easy to find and we had a great freshly cooked meal in a lovely 'village' pub. The menu gave many choices and i am sure they would all be cooked and served to the standard that we received....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnhutchinson2016
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review and for such lovely comments. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip... And we're very much looking forward to having you stay with us for longer next time!

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place, but I can't say I was impressed. The food lacked seasoning and the pheasant goujons didn't resemble any pheasant I've eaten before... White, bland, and very chewy. The food looked fantastic on the plates, but tasted very average. For pub grub it's ok but I wouldn't return unfortunately. I was disappointed but hopefully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarch333
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your visit. We're surprised to hear that you did not enjoy the pheasant as it has been such a smash hit this shooting season - shot here on the Ellingham Estate it couldn't be more fresh. If you ever were up this way again we would love another chance to impress; whilst...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Came here for dinner on a Friday evening, the pub was bustling (which gave it a lovely atmosphere) and we were seen to immediately on arrival and given a choice of seats - one in the snug and the other in the restaurant. We liked both, but opted for the snug. The waitresses couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JK_018
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words! Looking forward to having you back :)

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We were up in Alnwick staying with family and decided to book here on recommendation. We weren't disappointed food and service excellent and not overpriced. Would recommend the pheasant and the duck. A very enjoyable evening. Many thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

One of our friends was getting married in the village so we were booked in here. I must admit I had read previous reviews and thought we were in for a shocker. NEVER ASSUME!!!! this place is a classic example of a couple rubbish reviews from years ago potentially doing a lot of harm. 7 of us were booked in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigDez33
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review - we're quite sad as shooting season has come to an end now. Although our locals are regular and friendly so it's not all bad :) We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future!! All of the Pack Horse Team.

newcastle
Reviewed 4 December 2016

we were staying nearby at doxford hall hotel and wanted a pub type less formal meal. I would not have reviewed but we were given a card on departure and asked to submit a review. my starter was very small but I enjoyed my main course - cottage pie. however, my husband was very disappointed with his choice of sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sib1007
Belinda S, Manager at Pack Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review - we're really glad to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere in the pub, we aim to be welcoming for visitors and locals alike. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal, we have a new team of chefs working with us now and although our reviews were generally positive before we...

Seahouses, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Clean tidy well set out, staff friendly, patient [real positive when you can't decide what to have to drink, let alone eat]. Starters good choice, the pate was lovely and the potato skins came with three sauces. Main courses again a good choice, Beer battered haddock, chips and mushy peas, [if you choose this main course wouldn't have a starter]....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mambram
UK
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Visited November 2016. Had a lovely meal, served by very friendly staff who could not have been more helpful and attentive. Had a lovely chat with the landlord about farming in the area as we are also farmers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley59Uk
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Our party of 4 visited the Pack Horse Inn early November. The quality of food, service and hospitality was excellent and far exceeded our dining experiences at other venues in and around Bamburgh/Beadnell/Craster area. Our overall experience was so positive we decided to book for dinner the following evening and were equally impressed. Thank you very much to all of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DerekYO10

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellingham
2.4 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,129 reviews
5.7 km away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
352 reviews
7.0 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
879 reviews
12.7 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
944 reviews
6.4 km away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer bed and breakfast and a one-bed (twin) self catering holiday cottage. Our restaurant offers superb food, wines and ales in this traditional Northumberland village pub. If you enjoy good food at a reasonable price then the Pack Horse Inn is the place to eat. All the food is prepared fresh daily using the best locally sourced ingredients. There is no bought in pre-prepared food served at the Pack Horse, and consequently the menu changes almost on a daily basis to ensure the freshest most interesting seasonal food is always available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pack Horse Inn

Address: Chathill, Ellingham NE67 5HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ellingham
Price Range: €81 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pack Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pack Horse Hotel Alnwick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pack Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Double Rooms were distinctly more attractive”
 of 5 bubbles OnlyOneBobP, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay over”
 of 5 bubbles vikkie255, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 2 and 5 are best”
 of 5 bubbles jktraveller73, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Howatson1family, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
“There isn't one”
 of 5 bubbles wishinwashin, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5