We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Greyhound Hotel

Booking.comUS$46*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Greyhound Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Greyhound Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 414: English reviews
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

My partner found this hotel on the internet & we fancied staying some where different.On arrival we where greeted by the reception staff who seemed very pleasant & helpful. Our room was on the 2nd floor & on arrival it seemed a nice room with everything that we where going to need.We where told that we had free access to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 634martin
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed at The Greyhound on business for one night and it was pretty basic but clean and the staff were friendly. The room was quite spacious but the decor a little tired. The food in the bar was nice with a wide range on the menu. Would stay again as it was good for the cost.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jolene B
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Jolene, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Greyhound Hotel. Guest feedback is always welcome and I'm pleased to see that your stay was a pleasant one and that you appreciated our competitive rate. Our staff are always friendly and work hard to ensure that our guests are made...

Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Friendly, kind, down to earth & professional staff. We booked a last minute wedding and it was just perfect, and all the staff helped make sure it was as special as it possibly could be. Maria the wedding coordinator is especially lovely - thanku X

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hattie M
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your Wedding day and I will feedback you comments to the rest of the team. Maria our Wedding & Events Co coordinator is always busy but makes time for all our Bride & Grooms, she especially mentioned how much she enjoyed your wedding this weekend so...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Stayed here with some friends on an overnight stay. Check in was very easy and the room was lovely. Very clean, plenty of towels, comfy bed. The only minus was the bed head - it was heavily scratched so this spoilt the overall clean look of the room. The bathroom was spotless and I loved the shower - hot and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Runsteady
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am pleased that all our staff was friendly and looked after you. I will feedback your comments about the headboard to our maintenance team and your comments about how clean the bathroom was will also be fed back...

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

The receptionist as always was welcoming and happy. A good start. Service in the restaurant was a little slow as there was no one to welcome you in. Once seen service picked up and drink was served. Offered the specials menu so good to have an addition to the normal menu. The servings are ample so unless so a start...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Robin for your review. I am so pleased you chose to stay with us again and it is good to read that your stay was a pleasant one. As you know we appreciate all feedback good or bad and we are always looking at ways to improve things to the benefit of our guests. Your comments about the...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, breakfast was okay and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and completely functional but the ceiling looked like it had seen better days. It was stained and had a rather ropey looking light fitting that could do with some attention.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian K
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Adrian, Thank you for your feedback. We are currently in the process of refurbishing some of our rooms. I would really appreciate you giving me a call on 01942 671256 so I can find out more about your visit. Thank you. Best wishes Linda

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Visited Saturday as we were meeting friends at Rendezvous 1 down the road. Staff on reception were friendly enough. We arrived early so we could take advantage of the spa facilities. Very disappointing. The ladies changing room was like a pool in itself, completely flooded and dirty. Hair balls in all the grids, that were overflowing. The pool, sauna and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alouicious
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always disappointing when guests leave here feeling disappointed. Your review will be discussed at our next Managers meeting. Customer feedback good or bad is much appreciated and any changes that can be made which improves our guests experience will be done. I would also appreciate it...

Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, staff very friendly, food excellent, rooms very comfy & clean. There was a problem with our door entry, sorted very quickly, room changed into another room both rooms lovely. Slept beautifully. Would highly recommended this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lippymarrianne
Linda T, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Linda Tonge

West Lothian
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Welcome by reception was efficient and friendly, however when I go to a hotel I don't expect to have to clean before putting clothes away. Drawers inside wardrobe were very dusty, and fortunately noticed before putting items in them. The double room we were in was very well used, worn and in dire need of a makeover. The wardrobe doors,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WestLothianLilly
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry that your visit was a mixed experience. I will discuss your review at our next Managers meeting. Customer feedback good or bad is much appreciated and any changes that can be made which improves our guests experience will be done. I would appreciate it if you...

Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

Came a good 6 months ago and was happy with the place but returned the other night and Ordered some food and it arrived a lot later than expected, food wasn't really to a good standard, looked frozen!... The staff was pretty nice! The actual rooms are really nice and so is the pool went for a look round once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisha961
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Alisha Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would appreciate it if you could contact me personally so I can learn more about your experience and have the opportunity to discuss it with you, I can be contacted on 01942 671256 and my direct e-mail is greyhound.sales@hfyh.co.uk, I look forward to speaking to you...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leigh
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village
7.9 km away
Novotel Manchester West
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
#3 of 21 in Warrington
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.9 km away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 2 in Newton-Le-Willows
716 reviews
11.4 km away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The Greyhound Hotel

Address: Warrington Road, Leigh WN7 3XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Leigh
Price Range: €41 - €70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Greyhound Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Greyhound Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyhound Hotel Lancashire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Greyhound Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Sheffield, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Greyhound Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had family rooms 408 /410 due disabilitys but does have lift”
Misskps, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel.”
  • Stains on bed
  • Blood stains
  • Gab between ceiling and wall
530272, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the hotel over look fields, so quiet !”
chattypops, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“always read reviews”
1tonyhewitt, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 314 and 210”
REBELWALES, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$46* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$46
PricelineUS$46
Hotwire.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates