We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village

HIExpress.comUS$68*
View Deal
#1 of 2 Hotels in Leigh
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$68*
Great Deal
US$69*
US$69*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village
See the most recent reviews
Showing 284: English reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay, room was immaculately clean,everything you need tea coffee iron ect. Great shower with good pressure, bed very comfortable & black out curtains. Receptionist was very helpful & polite & knowledgeable about local area. Only thing that let it down was the cooked breakfast, quite bland & tasteless but the continental selection was OK. Overall would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry K
Andrew C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review

Barry K Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, it is greatly appreciated. I am glad to read overall that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our express start breakfast which is the same in all Holiday Inn Express Hotels and consists of 3 hot items and focuses on a continental breakfast. The options are...

Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

We have this express a chance as the pictures looked good and safe to say we was not disappointed! Staff were friendly, place was clean, lovely decor and great choice for breakfast! Would defiantly return! Bedrooms were spacious, bath was a lovely treat!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jemma J
Andrew C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review

Jemma J Thank you for your review, it really is very rewarding to read. Holiday Inn Express hotels usually are showers only in the bathroom, but because we have changed from another brand of hotel, we have a period of time where we are allowed to have them. I am so glad you enjoyed. I hope we can welcome you...

Reviewed 11 May 2016

Stayed here for one night recently and it was a lovely hotel, very modern, very clean, breakfast was great and the rooms are spacious and clean and modern. All in all what you would expect from a budget hotel and costs are reasonable. The only negative thing is that I am deaf so you would expect that all televisions have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrGee1234
Andrew C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review

MrGee1234 Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. As explained, we are in the process of upgrading the televisions. I am very happy to say the sample arrived at the start of this week, and meets the demands of what in-room entertainment we would like our guests to enjoy. They will be installed shortly which is fabulous news...

benfleet essex
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Booked via booking.com and paid £146 for two nights in a family room which was a Kingsize bed and a pullout. The room was spotless and new. Beds comfy and good shower. Staff excellent - helpful, polite and hardworking. Breakfast good quality and casual relaxed dining room showing Sky news. No real downsides.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zodie
Andrew C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review

Hi Zodie and many thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here, and I really hope we can welcome you back, the next time you are in our area. With kind regards Andrew

Atherstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

I wanted a hotel that wasn't more than 40 minutes from Aintree, Liverpool for the Grand National Horse racing meeting and chose this one. I arrived quite late on Friday evening the staff went out of the way to make me welcome. I expected continental breakfast but no it was full English breakfast. Excellent. The rooms are new well decorated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHRIS B
Andrew C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review

Chris B Thank you for your review, Its really heavy rain out side, and I am reading all my social media reviews, and replying to thank everyone for their time. With me it is always sincerely appreciated. Whilst we always try to do our best for all guests, sometimes we dont make it. In your case I am glad we...

North Wales
Reviewed 27 April 2016

A little confusion on entering the car park as the first entrance is a coded barrier that you can't get through unless you know the code,so with a tricky reversal into oncoming traffic we went to second entrance which is a public entrance to the college but has access to the hotel. Speedy check in with friendly staff. Room nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jiggin
Andrew C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review

Jiggin Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here in Leigh. Since you stayed the barriers have been switched around to make things a little more easier. This was something we have had planned for some time. The car parks are owned and managed by the Sports Village which we are within, and...

North west
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Second stay at this quiet hotel. It is great value, clean and easy to find. Unfortunately we did encounter some small issues which I have outlined below: - 1) Room card didn't work, had to get it re-swiped at reception. (helpful maid let us in). 2) Phone line unplugged in room - no idea why! 3) No diet coke or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zorin21
Andrew C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review

Zorin21 Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read you are a returning guest. Our room cards are programmed at check in for the individual guest. Being magnetic items such as static in clothing and proximity to mobile phones can sometimes clear the memory. It is frustrating for both the guests and team members. I can assure...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Very reasonably priced, nice room, comfy bed and good choices at breakfast. Smart foyer. Lovely friendly staff. Quick check in. Good stay. Would recommend and stay again. Would have been nice to have biscuits on the tea tray

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cate p
Andrew C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review

Cate p Thank you for your review. Unfortunately biscuits in hotel rooms have become something of a historical gesture. As a brand and not just a hotel, biscuits in rooms has not happened for many years. I really value your comments, I am pleased you found us to be reasonably priced and enjoyed your room. I am bias, but I...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in a poor location and as such not busy. The outcome of this is low staffing levels, I had to wait 5 mins at an empty check in desk for the the duty manager to book me in to them be told there was an issue with my booking? The food on the menu is terrible so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richhague
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review

Dear richhague, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory check-in experience you had and for not living up...

Newbury UK
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Booked into a family room for the night as we were going to a birthday party down the road. Often stay the odd night in HI express hotels. This is new and one of the best. Clean , large rooms and an excellent complimentary breakfast . Comfortable bed . Does everything you need and does it well. Would definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fizic

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leigh
2.3 km away
The Greyhound Hotel
The Greyhound Hotel
#2 of 2 in Leigh
417 reviews
4.2 km away
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
#3 of 21 in Warrington
241 reviews
6.9 km away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 2 in Newton-Le-Willows
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Haydock
704 reviews
7.5 km away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#4 of 21 in Warrington
1,212 reviews
9.5 km away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stylish Leigh hotel in Sports Village near Manchester and Liverpool. The Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village lies adjacent to state-of-the-art Leigh Sports Village, which offers public recreational facilities and an 10,000-seat sports stadium. Just a short drive from the cities of Manchester, Warrington and Liverpool, and close to Manchester Airport, the hotel is perfect for leisure and business travellers or visiting athletes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village

Address: Sale Way, Leigh WN7 4JY, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Leigh)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Leigh
Price Range: €59 - €138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, IHG, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Leigh Hotel Leigh
Leigh Park Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with higher nos are further from the road so quieter”
, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It is fairly quiet so the rooms are all about the same.”
Ambiflex, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“3rd Floor gives you a good view,ask for the stadium view”
johno100, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are quiet”
clivea51, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take time to enjoy the breakfast before setting out for a long journey”
  • Toilet
  • Lockable safe under the desk area
  • Wash Basin and soap dispenser
  • Tea and Coffee making facilities
  • View from my room onto the hotel car park
  • Integral shower and bath
  • Clothes hanging area
  • Relax in the chair provided in the room
O4659YOandrewm, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
HIExpress.com
US$68* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$69
Hotels.comUS$69
PricelineUS$69
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates